LibGuides: WR 222: Everything's an Argument (English Composition): Historical Newspapers

Historical News from Newspapers & Magazines

Photo courtesy of Pingu1963.

African American Historical Serials Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
This collection was developed with the American Theological Library Association (ATLA) as part of an effort to preserve serials related to African American religious life and culture. It documents the history of African American life and religious organizations from materials published between 1829 and 1922. More than 170 unique titles, approximately 60,000 pages of searchable primary source content, and reports and annuals from African American religious organizations and social service agencies and African American periodicals are included.
America's Historical Newspapers (Newsbank) This link opens in a new window
Also known as Early American Newspapers, Series I, 1690-1876. This historical collection contains hundreds of historic newspapers listed in Clarence Brigham's authoritative bibliography and in additional subsequent bibliographies.
American Indian Newspapers (Adam Matthew) This link opens in a new window
American Indian Newspapers presents the publications of a range of communities, with an extensive list of periodicals produced in the United States and Canada, including Alaska, Arizona, British Columbia, California, Hawaii, Nevada and Oklahoma, from 1828 to 2016.

This digital collection provides exciting research opportunities into a range of subjects from an Indigenous perspective, including the self-determination era and American Indian Movement (AIM), education, environmentalism, land rights and cultural representation.
American Periodicals Series (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
This unique and valuable collection contains digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals that originated between 1741, when Andrew Bradford's American Magazine and Benjamin Franklin's General Magazine were launched, and 1900. Deriving from the acclaimed American Periodicals Series microform collection, APS Online features over 1,100 periodicals spanning nearly 200 years-from colonial times to the advent of American involvement in World War II. Titles range from America's first scientific journal, Medical Repository, to popular magazines like Vanity Fair and Ladies' Home Journal.
Coverage: 1740 - 1900
American prison newspapers, 1800-2020: voices from the inside. This link opens in a new window
American Prison Newspapers brings together hundreds of periodicals from across the country into one collection that will represent penal institutions of all kinds, with special attention paid to women's-only institutions.On March 24, 1800, Forlorn Hope became the first newspaper published within a prison by an incarcerated person. In the intervening 200 years, over 450 prison newspapers have been published from U.S. prisons. Some, like the Angolite and the San Quentin News, are still being published today.
Atlanta Daily World (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. 1931-2010.
Atlantic Monthly Archive [1857-2014] (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
The Atlantic Magazine Archive, 1857-2014, covers events and political issues through literary and cultural commentary. It includes more than 1,800 issues providing a broad view of 19th, 20th and early 21st-Century American thought.
Baltimore Afro-American (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. 1893-1988.
Chicago Defender (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
A leading African American newspaper, with more than two-thirds of its readership outside Chicago. News articles, photos, advertisements, obituaries, cartoons, etc. Full page and article images with searchable full text.
Chinese Newspaper Collection (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. 1832-1953.
Chronicling America This link opens in a new window
Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1836-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.
Cleveland Call & Post (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. (1934 - 1991) .
Communist Historical Newspaper Collection‎ (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. 1919-2013.
Detroit Free Press (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) 1831-1999 This link opens in a new window
This historic newspaper was first in many ways: First U.S. newspaper to print a regular Sunday edition, first U.S. newspaper to publish court testimony, and the first American newspaper published in Europe when it began a London edition in 1881. A fundamental resource for labor relations, union history, and the automotive industry.
Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive‎ (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
An archival research resource containing the essential primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to the 21st century, 1880-2000. The core US and UK trade magazines covering film, music, broadcasting and theater are included, together with film fan magazines and music press titles. EIMA1: Music, Radio and The Stage, and EIMA2: Cinema, Film and Television (Part 1).
Ethnic NewsWatch (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
OSU Libraries subscribes to the back file of Ethnic NewsWatch™ (ENW). ENW features newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. With titles dating from 1990, ENW presents a comprehensive, full-text collection of more than 300 publications offering both national and regional coverage. While the content may mirror mainstream media coverage, the viewpoints are decidedly unique. Ethnic NewsWatch delivers hundreds of ethnocentric publications. The voices of the Asian-American, Jewish, African-American, Native-American, Arab-American, Eastern-European, and multi-ethnic communities can be heard.
The GQ Archive (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
The backfile of GQ magazine, from its launch in 1931 (as Apparel Arts) to the present. One of the longest-running, most influential men's magazines, GQ expanded its initial focus on fashion to cover general men’s-interest subjects. The digital archive makes available a wealth of editorial content and photography, providing essential insights into the 20th/21st-century history of fashion, popular culture, masculinity, and society.
Harper's Bazaar Archive‎ (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
A searchable archive of the US (1867 to present) and UK (1930-2015) editions of Harper's Bazaar. The issues are reproduced as high-resolution color page images and supported by fully searchable text and article-level indexing. This resource chronicles over 150 years of American, British, and international fashion, culture, and society, supporting researchers by offering unique insights into the events, attitudes, and interests of the modern era.
Health & Fitness Magazine Archive (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
The backfiles of consumer magazines devoted to health and fitness topics. With publications aimed at a male readership (e.g. Flex, Men’s Health) and women’s titles (e.g. Women’s Health, Women’s Health Activist), this collection supports research in topics such as the history of sex roles, body image, fitness/exercise, public health, food/nutrition, and medicine. The backfile of Prevention (from 1950) offers over six decades of content reflecting contemporary developments in these areas.
Historic Oregon Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Search and access complete content for historic Oregon newspapers that have been digitized as part of the Oregon Digital Newspaper Program (ODNP). This full-text searchable database contains almost 1,300,000 pages from Oregon newspapers dated 1846 - current, and new titles are added regularly.
Imperial Russian Newspapers (Center for Research Libraries) This link opens in a new window
The Imperial Russian Newspapers collection comprises out-of-copyright newspapers spanning the eighteenth, nineteenth and early twentieth centuries, up to the 1917 Bolshevik Revolution. With no less than 500,000 pages, the collection’s core titles are from Moscow and St. Petersburg, complemented by regional newspapers across the vast Russian Empire.
Independent and Revolutionary Mexican Newspapers (Center for Research Libraries) This link opens in a new window
The Independent and Revolutionary Mexican Newspapers collection traces the evolution of Mexico during the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. Comprising over 1,000 titles from Mexico’s pre-independence, independence and revolutionary periods (1807-1929), the newspapers in this collection provide rare documentation of the dramatic events of this era and include coverage of Mexican partisan politics, yellow press, political and social satire, as well as local, regional, national and international news.
Independent Voices This link opens in a new window
Independent Voices is a digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.
Late Qing and Republican-Era Chinese Newspapers (Center for Research Libraries) This link opens in a new window
The first half of the twentieth century began with the demise of China's last imperial dynasty, the Great Qing, and ended with the foundation of the People's Republic of China in October 1949. Following the 1912 establishment of China's first post-imperial government, the Republic of China, the country experienced both industrial and social revolution, a civil war during which communist and nationalist forces battled to shape the country's future, and looming external threats during both world wars. The Late Qing and Republican-Era Chinese Newspapers collection provides invaluable perspective on this critical period. The press of more than twenty cities is represented, spanning the Chinese mainland and the entire half century. The collection provides researchers a richly comprehensive perspective on Chinese life, culture, and politics throughout the collapse of the Qing Dynasty, the years of provisional government and civil war, and the birth of the People's Republic
Leftist Newspapers (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Leftist Newspapers and periodicals is a collection of English-language publications spanning beyond the 20th century (1845-2015) covering Communist, Socialist and Marxist thought, theory and practice. Issues covered include workers’ rights, organized labor, labor strikes, Nazi atrocities, McCarthyism’s rise after WWII, Civil Rights, and modern-day class struggles which give rise to renewed interest in alternative social organizations. This collection includes 145 titles with over 150,000 digitized pages.
LGBT Magazine Archive (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Searchable archive of major periodicals devoted to LGBT+ interests, dating from the 1950s through to recent years
Trace the history and evolution of myriad aspects of LGBT history and culture, including legal contexts, health, lifestyle, politics, social attitudes, activism, gay rights, and arts/literature
Life Magazine Archive [1936-2000] (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Life Magazine Archive presents an extensive collection of the famed photojournalism magazine, spanning its very first issue in November 1936 through December 2000 in a comprehensive cover-to-cover format
Los Angeles Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from 1881 - 1997.
Middle Eastern and North African Newspapers (Center for Research Libraries) This link opens in a new window
From the Ottoman Empire to the Arab Spring, the countries of the Middle East and North Africa have witnessed their fair share of history. The Middle Eastern & North African Newspapers collection includes publications from across this dynamic region, providing unique insights into the history of individual countries, as well as broad viewpoints on key historic events from the late nineteenth century through the present. Key topics include the decline of colonialism, the collapse of the Ottoman Empire, the Suez Crisis, the Cold War, the rise of the petroleum industry, twentieth-century pan-Arab movements, both World Wars, the establishment of the state of Israel, the Iran-Iraq War, and the recent Arab Spring.
News, Policy & Politics Magazine Archive (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
An archival collection comprising the backfiles of 15 major magazines (1918-2015), spanning areas including current events, international relations, and public policy. These titles offer multiple perspectives on the contemporary contexts of the major events, trends, and interests in these fields throughout the twentieth century. The collection will provide valuable primary source content for researchers in fields ranging from history and political science, through to law and economics.
Titles Provided:
- Americas
- Church & State
- Common Cause Magazine
- Dollars & Sense
- Europe
- Fellowship
- In These Times
- NATO Review
- New Internationalist
- Newsweek
- State Legislatures
- UN Chronicle
- The Unesco Courier
- Whole Earth
News, Policy & Politics Magazine Archive (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
An archival collection comprising the backfiles of 15 major magazines (1918-2015), spanning areas including current events, international relations, and public policy. These titles offer multiple perspectives on the contemporary contexts of the major events, trends, and interests in these fields throughout the twentieth century. The collection will provide valuable primary source content for researchers in fields ranging from history and political science, through to law and economics.
Titles Provided:
- Americas
- Church & State
- Common Cause Magazine
- Dollars & Sense
- Europe
- Fellowship
- In These Times
- NATO Review
- New Internationalist
- Newsweek
- State Legislatures
- UN Chronicle
- The Unesco Courier
- Whole Earth
New York Amsterdam News (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. 1922 - 1993.
New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
Offers full page and article images with searchable full text of the New York Times back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue from 1858 to four years ago.
Oregonian (Newsbank Historical and Current Collection) This link opens in a new window
Research Portland history through the Oregonian Collection with coverage from 1861 through current. Study trends, issues, events, advertisements, companies and more through historical and current full newspaper pages, full-text articles and content only published online.
Oregon Index This link opens in a new window
The Oregon Index is a selective index to Oregon newspapers, and to Oregon items in selected other publications. The database does not contain full-text information.

Coverage:
Coos Bay World, Jan 1996 - May 1996
Corvallis Gazette Times, 1995 - Nov 15, 1999
Daily Astorian 1998-1990
Eugene Register-Guard, Jan1988 -
Klamath Falls Herald & News, Jan - May 1996
LaGrande Observer, 1995 -
Lake Oswego Review, 1996 -
Portland Oregonian, Jan 1985-Dec 1992
Salem Statesman Journal, Jan 1987 - Sept 2002
Tigard Times, 1996 -
West Linn Tidings, Aug 13, 1998 -
Willamette Week, 1974 -
Wilsonville Spokesman, 1995 - (incomplete coverage)
Oregon Intellectual Freedom News Database This link opens in a new window
Search citations to news articles about intellectual freedom issues in Oregon. The database includes 460 plus citations to newspaper articles from 1946 – 2010. Updated regularly.
Periodicals Archive Online‎ (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Periodicals Archive Online is a major archive that makes the backfiles of scholarly periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences available electronically, providing access to the searchable full text of hundreds of titles. The database spans more than two centuries of content, 37 key subject areas, and multiple languages.
Rolling Stone Archive This link opens in a new window
The backfile of Rolling Stone, from its launch in 1967 to the present. One of the most influential consumer magazines of the 20th-21st centuries, it initially sought to reflect the cultural, social, and political outlook of a generation of students and young adults. It has been a leading vehicle for rock and popular music journalism, as well as covering wider entertainment topics such as film and popular culture.
St. Louis Post Dispatch (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
Searchable full text and full image articles from the St. Louis Post-Dispatch newspaper from 1874-2003.
Time Magazine Archive [1923-2000] (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
The Time Magazine Archive presents an extensive collection of the prominent weekly news magazine dating back to its first issue in March 1923 through December 2000, presented in a comprehensive cover-to-cover format.
Vogue Archive (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
The Vogue Archive contains the entire run of Vogue magazine (US edition) from 1892 to the present day, reproduced in high-resolution color page images. More than 400,000 pages are included, constituting a treasure trove of the work from the greatest designers, photographers, stylists, and illustrators of the twentieth and twenty-first centuries. Vogue is a unique record of American and international popular culture that extends beyond fashion. The Vogue Archive is an essential primary source for the study of fashion, gender, and modern social history – past, present, and future.
Wall Street Journal (ProQuest Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
Full-text of the Wall Street Journal from 1984.
Women's Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
An archival research resource comprising the backfiles of leading women's interest consumer magazines. Issues are scanned in high-resolution color and feature detailed article-level indexing. Coverage ranges from the late-19th century through to 2005 and these key primary sources permit the examination of the events, trends, and attitudes of this period.

EthnicNewsWatch: A History

Ethnic NewsWatch: A History ™ (ENW) features the back file of 40 publications from ethnic and minority presses. Check out ENW to hear the voices of the Asian-American, Jewish, African-American, Native-American, Arab-American, Eastern-European, and multi-ethnic communities. Dates of coverage vary by title and span 1959 - 1993.

EthnicNewsWatch

More Online Historical Newspapers

ICON: Newspaper Digitization Project
Provides a freely accessible database of information for over 25,000 U.S. and international newspapers.

U.S. Historical Newspapers
This guide from Bowling Green State University provides links by state.

Chronicling America Historic American Newspapers, 1789-1963
Search U.S. newspaper pages from 1789-1963 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. View newspapers alphabetically.

Historical Oregon Newspapers Online
This site provides access to early Oregon newspapers. The digital newspaper content has been placed online for free public access and keyword searching. The Oregon Digital Newspaper Program (ODNP) at the University of Oregon completed the preparation and digitization of the newspapers.

By going to a newspaper's website, check if free online archives are available. For example:

Staufener Wochenblatt (1875-1968) Browsable by date.
Sudetendeutsche Zeitung (1951-1955)
Die Zeit (1946-present) Text only, browsable.

Finding Aids: New Ways to Find Old News

The bibliographic indexes below allow you to identify newspaper articles from specific time periods in papers we own and in papers we do not own. If OSU does not collect a copy of the newspaper you are looking for, and you are an OSU student, faculty, or staff member, you may request a copy of a newspaper article through Inter-Library Loan if a full and accurate citation is provided to the ILL office. Submit an ILL request.

Antislavery Newspapers and Periodicals (E449 .A621)
Volume two provides an annotated index of letters in the Liberator, Anti-Slavery Record, Human Rights, and the Observer, 1835-1865.

The University of Oregon Libraries maintains a large collection of newspapers published in Oregon, the United States, and around the world, both current and historical. For more information about this collection, please refer to the University of Oregon Libraries guide, Finding Newspapers. Access this material by going in person to the University of Oregon's Knight Library or through interlibrary loan with a specific citation.

Eugene Newspaper Index: 1855-1870 (AN .U5 E8)

Library Association of Portland Newspaper Index (AI3 .P78) Indexes issued in 1980 cover state and local news, ca. 1905-1979, from the Oregon Journal, the Oregonian (with selected indexing from the Portland Telegram (1919-1931), and the Portland Reporter (1960-1964), and retrospective indexing to 1851 from miscellaneous sources. Indexes issued in 1985- cover the Oregonian, Oregon Journal, Willamette Week, and Business Journal.

Newspaper Indexes: A Location and Subject Guide for Researchers: (AI3 .M5)

Oregon Newspapers on Microfilm: (Z6952 .O7 O71)

Oregon Spectator (Indexes) 1846-1854 (AI21 .O7)

Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature (AI3 .R4)
Sometimes refers to NY Times articles.

On Microfilm: International News

International:

Der Hoch-Deutsche	AN .U5 H581	1739 - 1762
Japan (Nippon) Times	AN .J3 J29	1943 - 1945
Manchester Guardian Weekly	AN .G7 M3	1952 - 1996
Pravda	AN .R8 P7	1961 - 2009

On Microfilm: National Newspapers

American Weekly Mercury	AP2 .A2 A838	Dec 22, 1719 - May 22, 1746
Boston Post Boy	AN .U5 B642	Nov 12, 1744 - Nov 16, 1775
Chicago Defender	AN .U5 C4	Apr 2, 1921 - 1980
Daily Journal of Commerce	HF5001 .D27	1953 - Apr 16, 1974
Daily Republican	AN .U5 B39	Jan 2 - Feb 19, 1915
Daily Worker	AN .U5 W6	1923 - July 14, 1968
Daily World	AN .U5 D3	Jul 1968 - Jun 1974
Gales Independent Gazeteer	AN .U5 G3	Aug 1784 - 1792
Hemingford Ledger (Lincoln, NE)	AN .U5 H461	Oct 7, 1915 - Mar 3, 1938
Independent Gazetteer	AN .U5 G3	Apr 1782 - May 1799
Maryland Gazette	AN .U5 M371	1745 - 1789
National Observer (Wash., D.C.)	AN .U5 N35	Feb 1962 - Jul 11, 1977
Newbern (NC) Gazette	AN .U5 N741	1798 - 1804 (scattered issues)
North Carolina Gazette	AN .U5 N871	Nov 1751 - Oct 1759 (lacks many issues) Jun 1768 - Nov 1778 (lacks many issues)
North Carolina Mercury	AN .U5 N741	1799 - 1801 (scattered issues)
Pennsylvania Evening Herald & General Advertiser	AN .U5 P4	1785 - Feb 14, 1788
Pennsylvania Evening Post	AN .U5 P42	1775 - 1779
Pennsylvania Ledger or Philadelphia Market Day Advertiser	AN .U5 P44	1775 - 1778
Pennsylvania Mercury & Philadelphia Price current	AN .U5 P45	Aug 1784 - Mar 1792
Philadelphische Zeitung	AN .U5 P481	1755 - 1757
Pittsburgh Courier	AN .U5 P5	1911 - 1912; 1923 - 1950
Triweekly Republican	AN .U5 B38	1909 - 1910
Vietnam Courier	DS557 .A1 V45	Jun 10, 1964 - Apr 24, 1972
Virginia Gazette	AN .U5 V5	Sep 10, 1736 - Dec 9, 1780
Virginia Journal & Alexandria Advertiser	AN .U5 V52	Feb 5, 1784 - Nov 24,1795
(Woodburn) Opportunity News	HD1527 .O7 O6	v.1; 1965 - v.4; 1968
The Worker	AN .U5 W6	1919 -Jul 14, 1968

On Microfilm: Oregon Newspapers

Oregon:

Benton Bulletin	AN.U5 B37	1976 - 1998
Benton County Courier	AN .U5 B4	Mar 18, 1915 - May 26, 1924
Benton County Herald	AN .U5 B42	Aug 4, 1932 - May 18, 1978
Benton County Republican	AN .U5 B4	Oct 11, 1906 - Mar. 11, 1915
Benton Democrat	AN .U5 B414	May 4, 1871 - Mar 21, 1874
Benton Independent	AN .U5 B45	Apr 18, 1924 - Mar 24, 1932
Corvallis Gazette (weekly)	AN .U5 C6	Feb 7, 1899 - Jun 25, 1909
Corvallis Times	AN .U5 C59	Aug 2, 1893 - Jun 25, 1909
Newport Mercury	AN .U5 N761	1758 - 1775
Occidental Messenger (Corvallis)	AN .U5 W4	Sep 26, 1857 - Jun 5, 1858
Oregon Free Press	AN .U5 O59	Apr 8 - Dec 16, 1848
Oregon Journal	AN .U5 O6	Mar 11, 1902 - Sep 4, 1982
Oregon Labor Press	HD6500 .O726	1940 - 1986
Oregon Spectator	F880 .O711	v.1; 1846 - v.8; 1855
Oregon Union	AN .U5 O65	Jul 1897 - Feb 10, 1899
Portland Reporter	AN .U5 P8	Feb 11, 1960 - Oct 1964
Willamette Bridge (Portland)	AN .U5 W48	Jun 7, 1968 - Jun 24, 1971
Willamette Valley Observer	AN .U5 W5	Jan 1975 - Jul 21, 1982
Willamette Week	AN .U5 W52	1974 - March 2009

Microform Help

Yikes -- what is this stuff?

Never worked with microforms before? Fear not, we can help...

To learn how to use the e-Image ScanPro 2000 machines, check out this YouTube video from our colleagues at Newton Free Library.
- The ScanPro 2000 program uses graphic buttons to navigate. Learn more in this video.

For the Minolta machines, check out the "How to do it?" series:

For in-person assistance, see the the staff at the information desk located on the main floor of the library.

Libraries

WR 222: Everything's an Argument (English Composition)

Historical News from Newspapers & Magazines

EthnicNewsWatch: A History

More Online Historical Newspapers

Finding Aids: New Ways to Find Old News

On Microfilm: International News

On Microfilm: National Newspapers

On Microfilm: Oregon Newspapers

Oregon:

Microform Help

Contact Info

In the Valley Library

Digital Projects

Branches