Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

WR 222: Everything's an Argument (English Composition)

On This Page

You will find:

  • Useful image collections to search.
  • Resources about visual rhetoric.
  • Information about copyright and licensing options.

About Creative Commons

Creative Commons is a nonprofit organization that provides a way for artists, writers, and other creators to add a license specifying how and when others may use their work.

One way to think about it is "permission in advance" -- you still need permission to use these images, but by putting a license on it, the creator has given you that permission in advance (sometimes with some restrictions).


Get your own license here.

Media Libraries: Public Domain and Licensed for Use

A black and white photo of a possum hanging on to the back of an old-fashioned film movie camera

There are two main ways to find content that is free for you to use:

  1. Find a collection or database of licensed or public domain content and search or browse that collection.
  2. Find a search engine or research tool that will let you search many types of sources, and limit your search to items that are in the public domain or licensed for your use.

The links in this section are to collections and databases of free media content.

Image credit: Flickr User Australian War Memorial Collection

Media Search: Public Domain and Licensed for Use

There are two main ways to find content that is free for you to use:

  1. Find a collection or database of licensed or public domain content and search or browse that collection.
  2. Find a search engine or research tool that will let you search many types of sources, and limit your search to items that are in the public domain or licensed for your use.

The links in this section are to search engines and tools that allow you to limit your searches to free media content.

Visual Rhetoric