This is the "Getting Started" page of the "*Business*" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

*Business*  

Last Updated: Jun 11, 2015 URL: http://guides.library.oregonstate.edu/subject-guide/281-Business Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Using Library Resources for Business Research

OSU Libraries has a wealth of information for the Business researcher. Let this guide help you find what you need!

Business Reference Tools

  • Small Business Resource Center  
      
      Icon
    Easy to search and highly intuitive, this is a comprehensive database offering content that covers all major areas of starting and operating a business, including accounting, finance, human resources, management, marketing, tax and more. Based on a combination of periodical and reference content, Small Business Resource Center is a good source of basic information for the prospective and current entrepreneurial community, as well as for students in business programs. From conducting industry research to financial planning...to marketing a product and franchising a business...
  • Countries and their Culture  Icon
    A team of anthropologists and social scientists have taken a close look at more than 200 countries to document the myriad ways in which culture -- every bit as much as geographic borders -- defines and separates the nations of the world. Using a standard entry format for easy comparison, each country's shared values, behaviors and cultural variations are surveyed -- from foods and rituals to pastimes and arts. This 4-vol. set is lavishly illustrated with more than 1,000 photographs and more than 200 maps.
    Coverage Dates: - 2001
  • Gale Virtual Reference Library  Icon
    Business titles include:
    Encyclopedia of Business and Finance, 2nd ed., 2v, 2006 (9780028660813)
    Encyclopedia of Global Brands, 2nd ed., 2v, 2013 (9781558628540)
    Encyclopedia of Global Industries, 3rd ed., 2006 (9781414421346)
    Encyclopedia of Major Marketing Campaigns, 2007 (9781414406077)
    Encyclopedia of Management, 5th ed., 2006 (9781414404783)
    Encyclopedia of Small Business, 3rd ed., 2v, 2007 (9781414410401)
    Everyday Finance: Economics, Personal Money Management, and Entrepreneurship, 2v, 2008 (9781414429298)
  • World FactBook - CIA  Icon
    Amazingly useful for global business researchers! The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities. The Reference tab includes: maps of the major world regions, as well as Flags of the World, a Physical Map of the World, a Political Map of the World, a World Oceans map, and a Standard Time Zones of the World map.

What is the new library system?

1Search combines the OSU Libraries 'library catalog," Summit and many of our online databases into one search engine. 1Search is a good starting point for your research. The 1Search interface looks a little different now but it functions very much the same way.

1Search helps you locate:

  • Books owned by OSU Libraries (including Guin, Cascades, Vet Med)
  • Books owned by other libraries in the Pacific-Northwest
  • Full-text online  journals, magazines and newspapers
  • Journals the OSU Libraries owns in print
  • Media (videos, DVDs, CD, recordings, etc)
  • Course reserves materials
  • Materials in our Special Collections and Archives

You can "scope"  your search to find

  • Books, media and articles- This includes the OSU Libraries materials, Summit and articles.
  • At OSU Libraries - Materials owned by OSU Libraries. This is similar to our library catalog.
  • OSU Libraries + Summit - This scope combines the OSU Libraries materials and those of the 27 libraries in the Summit system. Once Summit is integrated into our new 1Search in early 2015, materials at the Summit libraries can be requested and sent to the OSU Libraries for pick up.
  • OSU Cascades - Search items in the OSU-Cascades collection in Bend. Please note this does not include the COCC collections. You can request materials from Bend using the Request option.
  • Special Collections & Archives - Unique collections of manuscripts, archives, photographs, books and more
  • Articles - Search the collections from many of the electronic resources and databases to which OSU subscribes

The new 1Search is one part of a complete search

1Search does not include all the content from specialized databases to which OSU subscribes. For discipline-specific searching, use the OSU Libraries' Research Databases or check the Research Guides.

      
     

    Do I still have access to Business Source Premier?

    Yes, The databases are all still there for you to search. The new 1Search is one part of a complete search.

    1Search does not include all the content from specialized databases to which OSU subscribes. For discipline-specific searching, use the OSU Libraries' Research Databases, also linked from the Library Home page under Find it, or check the Research Guides.

      Primary Contact for the College of Business

      Profile Image
      Valery King
      Contact Info
      The Valley Library
      541-737-7318
      Send Email

      Other Useful Subject Guides

       

      Where can I get more help?

      Contact the OSU Libraries Information Desk

       

      For More Information on the New Library System

      Please see the New Library System LibGuide for more information about the new integrated library service.

      Description

      Loading  Loading...

      Tip