What Are Archives and How Do They Differ from Libraries? 

There is a great deal of overlap between what is held in archives and found in libraries. An archives may have library as part of its name, or an archives may be a department within a library. Archival and historical materials can be found in state governments, private corporations, museums, or historical societies. Also remember that historical materials can also be found on-site in a physical format, on the shelves of a local library, or online as a digital record. While finding archival collections can be tricky, here are ideas to get you started.  

The Society of American Archivists published "Using Archives: A Guide to Effective Research" to help you understand how to use archives, but also how to donate to them. 

• Talk with an archivist! We know a lot. 
• Archives and special collections provide online access to their collections. If you find something online or referenced in a collection that is interesting to you, see where the item is held, do an internet search for the repository, and write them an email (or call, if you like). 
• Use bibliographies. If you find a book, article, or dissertation that fits your topic, see which collections they have used or sources they have cited.
• Same goes for Wikipedia: it isn't perfect but it can give you context and get you started with sources. I like to use Wikipedia when I am trying to learn more about my topic, when major events happened, and who might have been involved. Wikipedia relies heavily on secondary sources, but you may find find "Related Links" that will lead you to repositories with historical materials or a "Bibliography" with well-known or popular books. 
• ArchiveGrid is a worldwide database that includes guides to archival collections, or "finding aids," and other digitized materials. ​Archives West, and the Online Archive of California are similar databases of collection guides, but with a tighter geographic focus. 
• Do a search on the Library of Congress, National Archives, or Digital Public Library of America. 
• A less controlled "search database" is by using your favorite internet browser. Online the "archives" is a word that is attached to anything that isn't brand new, so I advise combining your topical search term with words like "library" or "papers" or "manuscript" or "collection" or "historic." 

The Special Collections and Archives Research Center, located on the 5th floor of The Valley Library, is home to the university’s unique collections of manuscripts, archives, photographs, and books.

We collect in six main areas: the History of OSU, the History of Science, Natural Resources, Multiculturalism in Oregon, Hops and Brewing History and Rare Books. We also administer the university's Records Management Program and are home to a robust Oral History Program.

For more on what we do, please see our Mission Statement and for help getting started with your research, please see our Reference page.

Finding published primary sources and compilations of source documents in the library's catalog, 1Search, is easy! Try your keyword and add one or more of these terms:

• primary sources
• diaries
• correspondence
• interviews
• personal narratives
• pamphlets

ArchiveGrid
ArchiveGrid includes over four million records describing archival materials, bringing together information about historical documents, personal papers, family histories, and more. With over 1,000 different archival institutions represented, ArchiveGrid helps researchers looking for primary source materials held in archives, libraries, museums and historical societies.

Archives West
Archives West provides access to descriptions of primary sources in the Northwestern United States, including correspondence, diaries, or photographs. Digital reproductions of primary sources are available in some cases.

Online Archive of California
The OAC provides free public access to detailed descriptions of primary resource collections maintained by more than 200 contributing institutions including libraries, special collections, archives, historical societies, and museums throughout California and collections. Maintained by the 10 University of California (UC) campuses.