LibGuides: *Primary Sources: Queer and LGBTQ+ Primary Sources

Primary source content

LGBTQ+ Source (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
LGBTQ+ Source contains abstracts and full text for hundreds of the important and historically significant LGBT journals, magazines and regional newspapers including The Advocate, Gay Parent Magazine, Girlfriends, GLQ: A Journal of Lesbian & Gay Studies, James White Review, ISNA News, Ladder, Lesbian Tide, New York Blade, ONE, Tangents, and many more. You can also find many full-text monographs and books. Additionally, all relevant bibliographic data from NISC's Sexual Diversity Studies is included and this database provides an LGBT thesaurus containing thousands of terms.
LGBT Magazine Archive (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Searchable archive of major periodicals devoted to LGBT+ interests, dating from the 1950s through to recent years
Trace the history and evolution of myriad aspects of LGBT history and culture, including legal contexts, health, lifestyle, politics, social attitudes, activism, gay rights, and arts/literature
LGBT Thought and Culture (Alexander Street) This link opens in a new window
LGBT Thought and Culture is an online resource hosting books, periodicals, and archival materials documenting LGBT political, social and cultural movements throughout the twentieth century and into the present day.
Queer Pasts (Alexander Street) This link opens in a new window
Queer Pasts is a collection of primary source exhibits for students and scholars of queer history and culture. The database uses “queer” in its broadest and most inclusive sense, to embrace topics that are gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender and to include work on sexual and gender formations that are queer but not necessarily LGBT.
Gender: Identity and Social Change (Adam Matthew) This link opens in a new window
Essential primary sources documenting the changing representations and lived experiences of gender roles and relations, and the struggle for women’s rights, from the nineteenth century to the present day
Gender Studies (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Provides balanced coverage of this significant aspect of culture and society. The database offers access to scholarly journals and magazines covering topics including gender studies, family and marital issues, and more.
Sex and Sexuality Module I & II (Adam Matthew) This link opens in a new window
This extensive collection provides entry points into the vast and varied history of human sexuality. Sourced from archives in the US, UK and Australia, the collection makes available papers from ground-breaking sexologists; official records of pressure groups and community organizations; diaries, correspondence and photographs charting the relationships and lived experiences of individuals; as well as erotic fiction, ephemeral materials, objects, videos, public service announcements, legal and government documents, and more. Sex & Sexuality is an essential interdisciplinary resource for the study of human sexuality

Libraries

*Primary Sources

Primary source content

Contact Info

In the Valley Library

Digital Projects

Branches