Skip to Main Content

OSU Queer Archives: COLLECTIONS & RECORDS

Archival collections and materials that document LGBTQ+ histories at Oregon State University, Corvallis, and Benton County

Manuscript Collections

After 8 Records, 1984-2002 - The After 8 Records document the political activism and community outreach work of the After 8 organization, a group which operated in Benton County from 1989 to 2002, but was primarily active during the 1990s.    

Corvallis Lesbian Avengers, 1990-2000 - The Corvallis Lesbian Avengers Collection documents the activities of the Corvallis chapter of the Lesbian Avengers throughout the 1990s. The Corvallis Lesbian Avengers were a local chapter of the national Lesbian Avengers organization. Originally formed in 1992 in New York City, the Lesbian Avengers were a direct-action group focused on issues vital to lesbian survival and visibility.

Thomas Kraemer Papers – Oregon State University alumnus Thomas Kraemer helped to found the Gay Peoples Alliance, the first officially recognized gay student group at OSU, in 1976. The Kraemer Papers reflect Kraemer's decades-long research on LGBTQ+ issues. The collection includes Kraemer's blog, blog reference materials, and research files; his collection of comics, magazines, and films; and some biographical materials. His research on History of OSU Gay Student Groups 1976–2006, is documented through his blog and a digital copy of Corvallis, Oregon State University gay activism 1964-2002 is available online.

Queer History Research Collection - The QHRC is an artificial collection containing items of interest about LGBTQ+ communities within Oregon State University and to a lesser extent, the city of Corvallis, and the state of Oregon.

The Lavender Network Newsmagazine, 1986-1992 - The Lavender Network Newsmagazine collection contains copies of the newsmagazine The Lavender Network, a monthly publication focused on the LGBTQ+ communities of Oregon, published by Ronald B. Zahn.

Ellen and Carolyn Dishman Papers, 1998-2014 - The Ellen and Carolyn Dishman Papers are the collected materials and photography by the Dishmans documenting their involvement at Oregon State University in the late 1990s to early 2000s. As OSU students, they were involved in prominent LGBTQ+ groups on campus and served as primary advocates for the establishment of the Queer Resource Center (QRC) in 2001; the QRC is now called the Pride Center.

Corvallis Queer Film Festival Collection, 2009-2019 - The Corvallis Queer Film Festival (CQFF) Collection documents promotional materials of the community-based, internationally-sourced, and queer-directed film showcase that ran from 2013 to 2019. It also includes promotional materials from related queer film festivals in Portland, Oregon.

Queer Theatre Collection, 1974-2015 - The Queer Theatre Collection is an artificial collection containing theatre materials or educational materials that have queer subjects or characters. The materials were donated to the Oregon State University (OSU) Pride Center by OSU Theatre Professor Charlotte Headrick.

LGBTQ+ History in OSU's The Barometer, 1990-2010

Oregon State University's student newspaper The Daily Barometer ​reported on a variety of topics, including stories and issues pertaining to the LGBTQ+ community. As of 2023, the newspaper is fully available online! 

Project Notes:

  • In the spring of 2018, OSQA's student worker reviewed the 1990s Barometer articles and selected the ones most relevant for the creation of the LGBTQ+ History in OSU's The Barometer collection; in 2019, another OSQA student worker reviewed the 2000s. Below are links to PDFs of the articles, organized by year, with a table of contents for each set of articles. 
  • These PDFs were created from microfilm scans, prior to the higher-quality digitization of The Daily Barometer. If you would like to obtain a more high-quality scan of the article you find via these resources, be sure to search for the article via the fully digitized version of the newspaper.
  • The sets of articles selected to represent the coverage of the LGBTQ+ community below are not comprehensive; another reason to be sure to review the fully digitized version of the newspaper.  

LGBTQ+ History, 1990

LGBTQ+ History, 1991

LGBTQ+ History, 1992

LGBTQ​+ History, 1993

LGBTQ+ History, 1994

LGBTQ+ History, 1995

LGBTQ+ History, 1996

LGBTQ+ History, 1997

LGBTQ+ History, 1998

LGBTQ+ History, 1999

LGBTQ+ History, 2000

LGBTQ+ History, 2001

LGBTQ+ History, 2002

LGBTQ+ History, 2003

LGBTQ+ History, 2004

LGBTQ+ History, 2005

LGBTQ+ History, 2006

LGBTQ+ History, 2007

LGBTQ+ History, 2008

LGBTQ+ History, 2009

LGBTQ+ History, 2010

University Records

Below are various Oregon State University Collections that include information on LGBTQ+ community history:

Pride Center (RG 236) (currently closed for processing) - The Pride Center serves as Oregon State University's resource center for lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender (LGBT) members of the OSU community and their allies. In addition to its roles in outreach and education, the center provides a safe space for anyone in the community to "explore aspects of sexual orientation and gender identity in an open and non-judgmental atmosphere." The Queer Resource Center was founded in 2001 and was initially housed in Benton Annex with the OSU Women's Center. In 2004, the Queer Resource Center (QRC) moved to a permanent location on the south edge of campus at 1553 SW "A" Avenue. In that same year, the QRC was re-named the OSU Pride Center. The Pride Center works closely with the OSU Rainbow Continuum, SOL (LGBTQQIA People of Color Support Group), and the ASOSU Queer Affairs Task Force.

The Pride Center Records document the establishment of the Queer Resource Center (later known as the Pride Center) at Oregon State University and the programs and activities of this resource center for lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender (LGBT) members of the OSU community and their allies. The collection includes administrative records, publications, posters, photographs and a DVD of the 2007 Lavender Graduation ceremony. All of Pride Center scrapbooks are available online.

OSU Rainbow Continuum Records, 1993-2021 - The Oregon State University (OSU) Rainbow Continuum Records document the administrative and outreach activities of this student group, which has been active at OSU since 1976. The purpose of the Rainbow Continuum is to provide a social and educational space for lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and other gender or sexuality diverse (LGBTQ+) members of the OSU community and their allies. Most notably, the Rainbow Continuum hosts OSU's annual Queer Pride Week celebration in May.

Queer Studies Program (RG 278) - The Queer Studies Program Records documents the establishment and contributions of Oregon State’s queer studies program, which began in the summer of 2013 and continues to offer classes today.

Prism, Winter 1980 "Gays at OSU" (available via Oregon Digital)

Student Club and Organization Records (RG 276) ~ The Student Club and Organization Records document the approval and recognition of more than 900 student clubs and organizations at Oregon State University. Materials relevant to OSU LGBTQ+ history include:

Box-Folder 5.14

  • Lesbian/Bi Women's Social Group, 1992-1996
  • Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual Student Alliance, 1996-1997
  • LGBT People of Color Support Program, 2004
  • Lesbian Student Group, 1990-1993

Box-Folders 7:8 and 7:9

  • Rainbow Coalition, 1986-1987
  • Rainbow Continuum, 1992-2003 and 2006

The above records include annual review forms, constitutions and by-laws, lists of officers and members, mission statements, correspondence, as well as event planning and registration forms, along with some event pamphlets, calendars, and news clippings.

Associated Students of OSU (ASOSU), 1917–2006 (RG 11) ~ The Associated Student of OSU Records document student government at Oregon State University and include records of the ASOSU Executive Branch, the ASOSU Senate, and the Graduate Student Senate. Materials relevant to OSU LGBTQ+ history include:

  • Box 11, Folder: (Task Forces) Lesbian-Gay-Bisexual-Transgender, 1994-1997 [materials in this folder predominately relate to the LGBT Advocate Task Force, but also include national-level content; the types of materials include reports, correspondence, news clippings, magazine articles, event planning materials, meeting minutes, and press releases. Some notable content includes the meeting notes of a 1994 campus discussion regarding GLB people of color as well as some Queer Pride Week and Queer History Month event materials.]
  • Box 14, Folder: (Subject Files) Lesbian-Gay-Bisexual-Transgender Community, 1996 [materials in this folder are predominantly not related to OSU and instead include correspondence, event materials, a timeline, newsletters, pamphlets, and handwritten notes pertaining to regional, national, and international LGBTQ+ related organizations.]

The Beaver Yearbooks ~ Print Copies are available in the archives. All of the yearbooks have been scanned and are available online:

 

Diversity Development Office Records, 1998-2005 (RG 228)

Established to supervise the four OSU Cultural Centers and the Pride Center, the Diversity Development Office promoted access to cultural, social, academic, and career resources through information sharing and event planning. This collection consists of correspondence, meeting minutes and agendas, publications, and training manuals.

RG 228 includes a framed copy of the OSU Pride Center statement of vision and charter commitment

Student Affairs (RG 102) ~ The Student Affairs Records consist of policy and procedure directives, newsletters, correspondence, annual reports, lists of student activities, announcements, Alpha Lambda Delta records, records pertaining to the establishment of the University Child Care Center, and records pertaining to the Student Involvement Office.

Gay and Lesbian Association (GALA), 1991–1999

NOTE: RG 102 is currently closed