- Borrow & Request
- Collections
- Help
- Meet & Study Here
- Tech & Print
- About
Loan period - 7 days
Contents
Arduino Cookbook by
Want to create devices that interact with the physical world? This cookbook is perfect for anyone who wants to experiment with the popular Arduino microcontroller and programming environment. You'll find more than 200 tips and techniques for building a variety of objects and prototypes such as IoT solutions, environmental monitors, location and position-aware systems, and products that can respond to touch, sound, heat, and light. Updated for the Arduino 1.8 release, the recipes in this third edition include practical examples and guidance to help you begin, expand, and enhance your projects right away--whether you're an engineer, designer, artist, student, or hobbyist. Get up to speed on the Arduino board and essential software concepts quickly Learn basic techniques for reading digital and analog signals Use Arduino with a variety of popular input devices and sensors Drive visual displays, generate sound, and control several types of motors Connect Arduino to wired and wireless networks Learn techniques for handling time delays and time measurement Apply advanced coding and memory-handling techniques
This link opens in a new window
Arduino for Musicians by
Arduino, Teensy, and related microcontrollers provide a virtually limitless range of creative opportunities for musicians and hobbyists who are interested in exploring "do it yourself" technologies. Given the relative ease of use and low cost of the Arduino platform, electronic musicians cannow envision new ways of synthesizing sounds and interacting with music-making software. In Arduino for Musicians, author and veteran music instructor Brent Edstrom opens the door to exciting and expressive instruments and control systems that respond to light, touch, pressure, breath, and otherforms of real-time control. He provides a comprehensive guide to the underlying technologies enabling electronic musicians and technologists to tap into the vast creative potential of the platform.Arduino for Musicians presents relevant concepts, including basic circuitry and programming, in a building-block format that is accessible to musicians and other individuals who enjoy using music technology. In addition to comprehensive coverage of music-related concepts including direct digitalsynthesis, audio input and output, and the Music Instrument Digital Interface (MIDI), the book concludes with four projects that build on the concepts presented throughout the book. The projects, which will be of interest to many electronic musicians, include a MIDI breath controller with pitch andmodulation joystick, "retro" step sequencer, custom digital/analog synthesizer, and an expressive MIDI hand drum.Throughout Arduino for Musicians, Edstrom emphasizes the convenience and accessibility of the equipment as well as the extensive variety of instruments it can inspire. While circuit design and programming are in themselves formidable topics, Edstrom introduces their core concepts in a practical andstraightforward manner that any reader with a background or interest in electronic music can utilize. Musicians and hobbyists at many levels, from those interested in creating new electronic music devices, to those with experience in synthesis or processing software, will welcome Arduino forMusicians.
This link opens in a new window
Arduino Workshop by
The Arduino is a cheap, flexible, open source microcontroller platform designed to make it easy for hobbyists to use electronics in homemade projects. With an almost unlimited range of input and output add-ons, sensors, indicators, displays, motors, and more, the Arduino offers you countless ways to create devices that interact with the world around you. In Arduino Workshop, you'll learn how these add-ons work and how to integrate them into your own projects. You'll start off with an overview of the Arduino system but quickly move on to coverage of various electronic components and concepts. Hands-on projects throughout the book reinforce what you've learned and show you how to apply that knowledge. As your understanding grows, the projects increase in complexity and sophistication. Among the book's 65 projects are useful devices like: A digital thermometer that charts temperature changes on an LCD A GPS logger that records data from your travels, which can be displayed on Google M
This link opens in a new window
Exploring Arduino by
Learn to easily build gadgets, gizmos, robots, and more using Arduino Written by Arduino expert Jeremy Blum, this unique book uses the popular Arduino microcontroller platform as an instrument to teach you about topics in electrical engineering, programming, and human-computer interaction. Whether you're a budding hobbyist or an engineer, you'll benefit from the perfectly paced lessons that walk you through useful, artistic, and educational exercises that gradually get more advanced. In addition to specific projects, the book shares best practices in programming and design that you can apply to your own projects. Code snippets and schematics will serve as a useful reference for future projects even after you've mastered all the topics in the book. Includes a number of projects that utilize different capabilities of the Arduino, while interfacing with external hardware Features chapters that build upon each other, tying in concepts from previous chapters to illustrate new ones Includes aspects that are accompanied by video tutorials and other multimedia contentnbsp; Covers electrical engineering and programming concepts, interfacing with the world through analog and digital sensors, communicating with a computer and other devices, and internet connectivity Explains how to combine smaller topics into more complex projects Shares downloadable materials and source code for everything covered in the book Projects compatible with many official Arduino boards including Arduino Uno; Arduino Leonardo; Arduino Mega 2560; Arduino Due; Arduino Nano; Arduino Mega ADK; LilyPad Arduino and may work with Arduino-compatible boards such as Freeduino and new third party certified boards such as the Intel Galileo Exploringnbsp;Arduinonbsp;takes you on an adventure and provides you with exclusive access to materials not found anywhere else!
This link opens in a new window
Invent to Learn by
A new and expanded edition of one of the decade's most influential education books. "The bible of the maker movement in schools" includes new coverage of the BBC micro: bit, Scratch, littleBits, Hummingbird robotics, equity issues, and lessons from schools around the world. In this practical guide, Sylvia Martinez and Gary Stager provide K-12 educators with the how, why, and cool stuff that supports making in the classroom, library, makerspace, or anywhere learners learn. Join the maker movement and transform education! There's a technological and creative revolution underway. Amazing new tools, materials and skills turn us all into makers. Using technology to make, repair or customize the things we need brings engineering, design and computer science to the masses. Fortunately for educators, this maker movement overlaps with the natural inclinations of children and the power of learning by doing. The active learner is at the center of the learning process, amplifying the best traditions of progressive education. This book helps educators bring the exciting opportunities of the maker movement to every classroom. Children are natural tinkerers Their seminal learning experiences come through direct experience with materials. Digital fabrication, such as 3D printing and physical computing, including Arduino, Makey Makey and Raspberry Pi, expands a child's toy and toolboxes with new ways to make things and new things to make. For the first time ever, childhood inventions may be printed, programmed or imbued with interactivity. Recycled materials can be brought back to life. While school traditionally separates art and science, theory and practice, such divisions are artificial. The real world just doesn't work that way! Architects are artists. Craftsmen deal in aesthetics, tradition and mathematical precision. Video game developers rely on computer science. Engineering and industrial design are inseparable. The finest scientists are often accomplished musicians. The maker community brings children, hobbyists and professionals together in a glorious celebration of personal expression with a modern flare. When 3D printing, laser cutting, microcomputer control, robotics and computer programming become integral to the art studio, auto shop or physics lab, every student needs access to tools, knowledge and problem solving skills. The maker movement not only blurs the artificial boundaries between subject areas, it erases distinctions between art and science while most importantly obliterating the crippling practice of tracking students in academic pursuits or vocational training. There are now multiple pathways to learning what we have always taught and things to do that were unimaginable just a few years ago. Making for every classroom budget Even if you don't have access to expensive (but increasingly affordable) hardware, every classroom can become a makerspace where kids and teachers learn together through direct experience with an assortment of high and low-tech materials. The potential range, breadth, power, complexity and beauty of projects has never been greater thanks to the amazing new tools, materials, ingenuity and playfulness you will encounter in this book.
This link opens in a new windowArduino is an open-source electronics platform based on easy-to-use hardware and software. Arduino boards are able to read inputs - light on a sensor, a finger on a button, or a Twitter message - and turn it into an output - activating a motor, turning on an LED, publishing something online. You can tell your board what to do by sending a set of instructions to the microcontroller on the board. -Source
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial 4.0 International License. | Details of our policy
121 The Valley Library
Corvallis OR 97331–4501
Phone: 541-737-3331
