- Borrow & Request
- Collections
- Help
- Meet & Study Here
- Tech & Print
- About
Please visit this website to see all the equipment available for check out at the OSU Valley Library
Maker Kits available at the OSU Valley Library
Art Hack Practice : Critical Intersections of Art, Innovation and the Maker Movement by
Bridging art and innovation, this book invites readers into the processes of artists, curators, cultural producers and historians who are working within new contexts that run parallel to or against the phenomenon of 'maker culture'. The book is a fascinating and compelling resource for those interested in critical and interdisciplinary modes of practice that combine arts, technology and making. It presents international case studies that interrogate perceived distinctions between sites of artistic and economic production by brokering new ways of working between them. It also discusses the synergies and dissonances between art and maker culture, analyses the social and collaborative impact of maker spaces and reflects upon the ethos of the hackathon within the fabric of a media lab's working practices. Art Hack Practice: Critical Intersections of Art, Innovation and the Maker Movement is essential reading for courses in art, design, new media, computer science, media studies and mass communications as well as those working to bring new forms of programming to museums, cultural venues, commercial venture and interdisciplinary academic research centres.
The Big Book of Maker Camp Projects by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Partysellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, oraccess to any online entitlements included with the product. Fun DIY projects that will inspire young makers to explore, create, and share! This entertaining guide contains dozens of start-to-finish projects that enable you to host an engaging makercamp―the kids won't even know they're learning! Written by an experienced teacher and dedicated hobbyist, The Big Book of Maker Camp Projects clearly explains the awesome activities that will make your camp epic. Wearables, electronics, arts and crafts, cosplay, and other favorite topics are fully covered. With expert advice on howto create your own unique program, you will discover how to host the coolest camp on the block and inspire young hobbyists to hone their skills and gain confidence. Whether working with an established makerspace or taking your makercamp on to a local library, community center, school, museum, or private home, this book has you covered! Projects include: * Camp t-shirts using tie dye, spray paint, bleach,dirt, and Spin Art * Color-changing jewelry that teaches the basics of wearable technology * Light up and glow stick sunglasses that go further with wearables! * Cosplay outfits, masks, capes, swords, and more * Games that teach upcycling and hacking, including Lego-based labyrinths * Photos and videos that show campers green screen techniques * PVC pipe marshmallow shooting games and resin action figures * Faux campfires that glow using LEDs and CPX boards * Fireflies and moths that light up using origami and LEDs * Light-up, flying insects that reinforce electronics and origami skills
Innovation and Experiential Learning in Academic Libraries by
As technology advances and the skills required for the future workforce continue to change rapidly, academic libraries have begun to expand the definition of information literacy and the type of library services they provide to better prepare students for the constantly-developing world they will face upon graduation. More than teaching the newest technologies, information literacy is expanding to help students develop enduring skills such as critical thinking, creativity, problem solving, communication, teamwork, and more. Innovation and Experiential Learning in Academic Libraries: Meeting the Needs of 21st Century Students addresses the multitude of ways that academic librarians are collaborating with faculty and helping students develop these enduring skills by developing and integrating active and experiential learning approaches into teaching activities. This book is divided into three sections. The first section explores the role that library leaders play in supporting and advocating for innovation in information literacy and library services. The second section features case studies from librarians who are implementing novel and multidisciplinary approaches to information literacy and innovative services, such as maker scholarship, digital humanities, undergraduate research experiences, and new active learning strategies. These case studies also highlight how the COVID-19 pandemic has transformed teaching and learning in academic libraries. The final section looks to the future, providing guidance to information professionals on the issues and technologies that will drive transformations of information literacy in the coming years, such as artificial intelligence and new information literacy applications. As such, library administrators, academic librarians, information literacy practitioners, and technologists will benefit from this book.
Invent to Learn by
A new and expanded edition of one of the decade's most influential education books. "The bible of the maker movement in schools" includes new coverage of the BBC micro: bit, Scratch, littleBits, Hummingbird robotics, equity issues, and lessons from schools around the world. In this practical guide, Sylvia Martinez and Gary Stager provide K-12 educators with the how, why, and cool stuff that supports making in the classroom, library, makerspace, or anywhere learners learn. Join the maker movement and transform education! There's a technological and creative revolution underway. Amazing new tools, materials and skills turn us all into makers. Using technology to make, repair or customize the things we need brings engineering, design and computer science to the masses. Fortunately for educators, this maker movement overlaps with the natural inclinations of children and the power of learning by doing. The active learner is at the center of the learning process, amplifying the best traditions of progressive education. This book helps educators bring the exciting opportunities of the maker movement to every classroom. Children are natural tinkerers Their seminal learning experiences come through direct experience with materials. Digital fabrication, such as 3D printing and physical computing, including Arduino, Makey Makey and Raspberry Pi, expands a child's toy and toolboxes with new ways to make things and new things to make. For the first time ever, childhood inventions may be printed, programmed or imbued with interactivity. Recycled materials can be brought back to life. While school traditionally separates art and science, theory and practice, such divisions are artificial. The real world just doesn't work that way! Architects are artists. Craftsmen deal in aesthetics, tradition and mathematical precision. Video game developers rely on computer science. Engineering and industrial design are inseparable. The finest scientists are often accomplished musicians. The maker community brings children, hobbyists and professionals together in a glorious celebration of personal expression with a modern flare. When 3D printing, laser cutting, microcomputer control, robotics and computer programming become integral to the art studio, auto shop or physics lab, every student needs access to tools, knowledge and problem solving skills. The maker movement not only blurs the artificial boundaries between subject areas, it erases distinctions between art and science while most importantly obliterating the crippling practice of tracking students in academic pursuits or vocational training. There are now multiple pathways to learning what we have always taught and things to do that were unimaginable just a few years ago. Making for every classroom budget Even if you don't have access to expensive (but increasingly affordable) hardware, every classroom can become a makerspace where kids and teachers learn together through direct experience with an assortment of high and low-tech materials. The potential range, breadth, power, complexity and beauty of projects has never been greater thanks to the amazing new tools, materials, ingenuity and playfulness you will encounter in this book.
Maker-Centered Learning by
The Agency by Design guide to implementing maker-centered teaching and learning Maker-Centered Learning provides both a theoretical framework and practical resources for the educators, curriculum developers, librarians, administrators, and parents navigating this burgeoning field. Written by the expert team from the Agency by Design initiative at Harvard's Project Zero, this book Identifies a set of educational practices and ideas that define maker-centered learning, and introduces the focal concepts of maker empowerment and sensitivity to design. Shares cutting edge research that provides evidence of the benefits of maker-centered learning for students and education as a whole. Presents a clear Project Zero-based framework for maker-centered teaching and learning Includes valuable educator resources that can be applied in a variety of design and maker-centered learning environments Describes unique thinking routines that foster the primary maker capacities of looking closely, exploring complexity, and finding opportunity. A surge of voices from government, industry, and education have argued that, in order to equip the next generation for life and work in the decades ahead, it is vital to support maker-centered learning in various educational environments. Maker-Centered Learning provides insight into what that means, and offers tools and knowledge that can be applied anywhere that learning takes place.
The Maker Movement Manifesto: Rules for Innovation in the New World of Crafters, Hackers, and Tinkerers by
YOU can create the next breakthrough innovation A revolution is under way. But it's not about tearing down the old guard. It's about building, it's about creating, it's about breathing life into groundbreaking new ideas. It's called the Maker Movement, and it's changing the world. Mark Hatch has been at the forefront of the Maker Movement since it began. A cofounder of TechShop--the first, largest, and most popular makerspace--Hatch has seen it all. Average people pay a small fee for access to advanced tools--everything from laser cutters and milling machines to 3D printers and AutoCAD software. All they have to bring is their creativity and some positive energy.Prototypes of new products that would have cost $100,000 in the past have been made in his shop for $1,000. The Maker Movement is where all the next great inventions and innovations are happening--and you can play a part in it. The Maker Movement Manifesto takes you deep into the movement. Hatch describes the remarkable technologies and tools now accessible to you and shares stories of how ordinary people have devised extraordinary products, giving rise to successful new business ventures. He explains how economic upheavals are paving the way for individuals to create, innovate, make a fortune--and even drive positive societal change--with nothing more than their own creativity and some hard work. It's all occurring right now, all around the world--and possibly in your own neighborhood. The creative spirit lives inside every human being. We are all makers. Whether you're a banker, lawyer, teacher, tradesman, or politician, you can play an important role in the Maker society. So fire up your imagination, read The Maker Movement Manifesto--and start creating! Praise for The Maker Movement Manifesto "It's the same revolutionary innovation model, but now applied to one of the biggest industries in the world--manufacturing." --Chris Anderson, CEO, 3D Robotics, and former Editor-in-Chief, Wired "He (Henry Ford) probably would have started in TechShop." --Bill Ford, Executive Chairman, Ford Motor Company, and great-grandson of Henry Ford "We are heading into a new age of manufacturing . . . Hatch has a front-row seat and has written the must-follow guide to democratize this new age. This is the book I wish every American would use. It contains the keys to the future of work and joy for everyone." --Robert Scoble, Startup Liaison Officer, Rackspace "TechShop is the garage that Thomas Edison wished he had, and thanks to Mark Hatch, it's open it to the public. This book is a lifeline to a country with a skills gap that threatens to swallow us all. For aspiring inventors and entrepreneurs, The Maker Movement Manifesto is a 'celebration in the making'--even if the only thing you make is a mess." --Mike Rowe, Dirty Jobs "Mark's book is pitch-perfect on why the Maker Movement is so important for our collective future." --Beth Comstock, CMO and SVP, GE
Makers, Crafters, Educators by
Makers, Crafters, Educators brings the do-it-yourself (DIY) ethos of maker and crafter movements into educational environments, and examines the politics of cultural change that undergird them. Addressing making and crafting in relation to community and schooling practices, culture, and place, this edited collection positions making as an agent of change in education. In the volume¿s five sections¿Play and Hacking, Access and Equity, Interdependence and Interdisciplinarity, Cultural and Environmental Sustainability, and Labor and Leisure¿authors from around the world present a collage of issues and practices connecting object making, participatory culture, and socio-cultural transformation. Offering gateways into cultural practices from six continents, this volume explores the participatory culture of maker and crafter spaces in education and reveals how community sites hold the promise of such socio-cultural transformation.
Scrappy Circuits by
The best dollar you'll ever spend on your child's STEAM education! Scrappy Circuits is an imaginative "do-it-yourself" way to learn about electrical circuits for less than $1 per person. Raid your junk drawer for simple office supplies, add a little cardboard, pay a visit to a local dollar store, and you are on your way to countless fun projects for learning about electronics. No soldering or expensive equipment required. Hands-on Safe Inexpensive Fun for girls and boys Perfect for ages 8-14 Teachers can build take-home sets for an entire class for around $20. Play and learn with simple, fun projects Easy to read instructions and tons of step-by-step photos guide scrappy adventurers through the process of building over 40 unique "bricks" - DIY building blocks that can be combined into all sorts of fun and scrappy projects. Make things that light up, alarms that buzz, games that keep score, and learn about electronics, all while having fun along the way! Scrappy Circuits features resources, step-by-step illustrated building instructions, project ideas, challenges, troubleshooting steps, jokes, and advice for teachers. Take it to the next level! Projects start out simple and grow in complexity, allowing kids of all ages to start with easier projects and progress as quickly as they wish. Build all these and more Core Bricks - The five building blocks of Scrappy Circuits will have you powered up in no time. Action Bricks - It's all about action when you build things that light up, buzz, and move. Switches - Control the world with switches that turn circuits on and off in fun and interesting ways. Control Bricks - Buzzers can be loud or soft, lights bright and dim, but only if you know how to control electricity and bend it to your will! Alternative Power Sources - Learn about how batteries work by building your own. Scrappy Projects - Make alarms, games, musical instruments, secret spy devices and more.
STEM-Rich Maker Learning by
In recent years, maker-centered learning has emerged in schools and other spaces as a promising new phase of STEM education reform. With a sharp focus on equity, the authors investigate community-based STEM making programs to determine whether, and how, they can address the educational needs of youth of color. They explore what it means for youth to engage in making with the explicit goal of addressing injustices in their lives. The text features longitudinal ethnographic data and compelling examples that show how youth of color from low-income backgrounds innovate and make usable artifacts to improve their lives and their communities. This book is essential reading for anyone interested in the theory and practice of making, STEM learning with adolescents, and equity in both formal and informal educational settings. Book Features: Expands the current making landscape to include urban communities whose resources have not customarily accommodated such an innovative approach. Follows youth in two different community-based making spaces to unpack how this type of learning environment supports STEM experiences, and to what end. Explores the opportunities and tensions inherent in a community-based making space, such as community centers and youth organizations.
Tinkering by
After-school and out-of-school programs--as well as home schooling--have been growing steadily for nearly a decade, but instructors are still searching for high-interest content that ties into science standards without the rigidity of current classroom canon. The author draws on more than 20 years of experience doing hands-on science to facilitate tinkering: learning science while fooling around with real things. In this book, you'll learn: Tinkering techniques in key science areas How to let kids learn science with hands-on tinkering Engaging techniques for science learning at home, in school, or at a makerspace or library Step-by-step instructions for activities that don't end with a single project, but that provide many paths for "tinkering forward".
Zero to Maker by
Are you possessed by the urge to invent, design, and make something that others enjoy, but don't know how to plug into the Maker movement? In this book, you'll follow author David Lang's headfirst dive into the Maker world and how he grew to be a successful entrepreneur. You'll discover how to navigate this new community, and find the best resources for learning the tools and skills you need to be a dynamic maker in your own right. Lang reveals how he became a pro maker after losing his job, and how the experience helped him start OpenROV--a DIY community and product line focused on open source undersea exploration. It all happened once he became an active member of the Maker culture. Ready to take the plunge into the next Industrial Revolution? This guide provides a clear and inspiring roadmap. Take an eye-opening journey from unskilled observer to engaged maker-entrepreneur Enter the Maker community to connect with experts and pick up new skills Use a template for building a maker-based entrepreneurial lifestyle Learn from the organizer of the first-ever Maker Startup Weekend Be prepared for exciting careers of the future
. 
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial 4.0 International License. | Details of our policy
121 The Valley Library
Corvallis OR 97331–4501
Phone: 541-737-3331
