Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Guide to the Special Collections and Archives Research Center

About the Special Collections and Archives Research Center

The Oregon State University Libraries Special Collections and Archives Research Center (SCARC) maintains and makes available the University's unique collections of manuscripts, archives, photographs, and books. Subject strengths include:

We acknowledge that materials in SCARC collections and the language that describes them may be harmful. We are actively working to address our descriptive practices; for more information please see our SCARC Anti-Racist Actions Statement.

The Special Collections and Archives Research Center public service point is located in the Reading Room on the 5th Floor of the Valley Library at Oregon State University. If you plan to visit us, please check our calendar.

See our Guide to the Special Collections and Archives Research Center for more on how to visit SCARC, find our collections, and research tips.

Collection Portals

SCARC Website
Access to events calendar, featured resources, collection guides, blog posts about SCARC activities and collections, and more.

Collection Guides
Use this site to search our collection guides (also called finding aids) for content relevant to your research.

1Search
The Library's catalog. Rare books, collection guides, and digital resources are findable through 1Search. Limit your scope to "Special Collections and Archives" to retrieve SCARC content.

Oregon Digital
Digitized content from SCARC's collections lives in Oregon Digital. The collections are comprised of unique digitized and born-digital materials including photographs, publications, manuscripts, ephemera, and more. Under the facet "Institution" on the left side, limit your search to Oregon State University.

Media Space
Digitized audio and film materials, including sports games, oral histories, and vintage films. 

ScholarsArchive@OSU
OSU's institutional repository. Members of OSU's community use this digital repository for research, scholarship, and historical records. OSU Libraries is responsible for collecting, maintaining, preserving, and providing access to the items in ScholarsArchive@OSU.

Archives West
Archives West provides access to descriptions of primary sources in the western United States, including correspondence, diaries or photographs. Digital reproductions of the materials are available in some cases.

Contact Us

Your archivists are here to help!

Staff of the library’s Special Collections and Archives Research Center are available for virtual reference consultations. Please email us at scarc@oregonstate.edu if you have questions or would like to set up an appointment.