Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

OSU Disability Archives: ADA30 Symposium Recordings FAQs

The OSU DisArchives are a community-created archival project seeking to preserve and share the stories of disabled people with connections to the OSU and Corvallis communities.

ADA30 Symposium: Session Recordings Submission Information and FAQs

The OSU Disability Archives is incredibly excited to partner with the OSU ADA30 Symposium Committee in an effort to preserve in perpetuity and share with the public the amazing ADA30 Symposium content. We are providing ADA30 Symposium presenters the opportunity to have their sessions recorded and archived within the OSU Disability Archives.

Submitting Your Recording to the OSU Disability Archives

I want to have my session recorded and donate it to the OSU Disability Archives! What do I need to do?

Step 1: Contact us!

  • The ADA30 Symposium Committee needs to know which sessions to record; please be sure to contact Gabrielle Miller at millegab@oregonstate.edu to let them know you would like your session recorded.
  • Please note, even if you are undecided if you want to donate your recorded session to the OSU Disability Archives, please still contact Gabrielle to inform them you would like your session recorded.
  • Deadline: Friday, April 23, 2021

Step 2: Review the Consent/Donation Form

  • We will ask that all speakers associated with a session recording sign an agreement form. If not all speakers agree, we will need to discuss editing options for the recording.
  • This agreement allows the OSU Disability Archives to make the content donated available online and to make it accessible for community members as well as researchers to use. It also allows us to transfer the electronic content as needed based on future technological advancements.
  • The agreement also enables the OSU Disability Archives to make the content accessible without the need to re-contact the speaker for permission to use the recording content. Note: you are not transferring the copyright of your ideas shared in the recording, just the recording itself so others can potentially use and cite it. 
    • You are donating the specific recording of your session given as part of the OSU ADA30 Symposium. This means that you are welcome to re-use the information shared, i.e. you are welcome to reuse your same presentation in the future.

Step 3: Sign the Consent/Donation Form

  • A PDF version of the form is linked below
  • The OSU Disability Archives will send you a DocuSign form to sign virtually

ADA30 Symposium Donation to OSU DisArchives Form

FAQs for Presenters

What is the OSU Disability Archives?

The OSU Disability Archives (DisArchives) was established in 2020 with the mission to preserve and share the stories, histories, and experiences of disabled people with connections to the OSU and Corvallis communities. It is a part of the Oregon State University Special Collections and Archives Research Center.

Why does the OSU Disability Archives want to archive the ADA30 Symposium sessions?

Archiving and making accessible the sessions of the OSU ADA30 Symposium will be a wonderful addition to the historical record to showcase the topics relevant to our current context and time period for future community members and researchers.

Who is responsible for recording the sessions?

ADA30 Symposium Committee organizers will be the ones managing the Zoom sessions; they will be responsible for recording the session and sending the file to the OSU Disability Archives.

As a presenter, your responsibility is to inform the ADA30 Symposium Committee that you would like to have your session recorded. Please contact Gabrielle Miller at millegab@oregonstate.edu by Friday April 23, 2021.

What is the benefit to me as a presenter to have my session recorded and archived?

The OSU Disability Archives will make your session recording available to the public so those unable to attend your session or those who wish to revisit it, will have access. The benefit of donating your recorded session to an archival repository is that we will be dedicated to preserving it in perpetuity, in addition to providing access to it.

Does my session have to be recorded and donated to the OSU Disability Archives?

No, your session does not have to be recorded and donated to the OSU Disability Archives. Having your session recorded is optional.

What if I opt-in to being recorded but other panelists or co-presenters don’t want to be recorded?

Ideally, all session panelists or co-presenters will agree to have the session recorded and donated to the OSU Disability Archives. While we could edit out one presenter in particular, the session content may or may not make sense without them. We recommend you connect with us to discuss your options.

Can I have my session recorded but make my decision to donate it to the OSU Disability Archives afterwards?

Yes. We recommend you record your session even if you are undecided on whether or not you want to donate it to the OSU Disability Archives. You can always decide to not donate the recording to the OSU Disability Archives (this is a much better situation to be in than wishing you had recorded the session but did not do so!).

You could have been 100% ready to donate your session to the OSU Disability Archives, but then afterwards, you decide not to donate it, and that’s okay.

However, please note that recording your session is contingent upon you opting in to donate your session to the OSU Disability Archives. If you choose to not donate your session recording, the recording will be deleted.

Can parts of the session recording be edited out of the final recording?

Yes, however, we will not make any edits to the recording unless we are asked to do so. You will need to connect with the OSU Disability Archives with requested edits; we will work with you to obtain the needed timestamps in order to make the edits.

What platform(s) will be used to make the session recordings accessible?

We will upload your recording to OSU’s MediaSpace and may make the recording available via the OSU Disability Archives website.

What about placing my recording on my personal website or elsewhere in addition to donating it to the OSU Disability Archives?

No. Only ADA30 Symposium organizers and the OSU Disability Archives will have access to the file with the recorded session. Once your session is posted via the OSU Disability Archives, you can link to the recording via the OSU Disability Archives.

What accessibility features will the recordings include?

The accessibility feature that will be included at all sessions is live-captioning. ASL interpretation will be provided upon request for all sessions and will be automatically provided in addition to live-captioning for the keynotes. If a session includes ASL interpretation, that will be included as part of the recording. The recordings will be accompanied by a transcript.

What additional information about my session do you need from me?

Unless you choose to share more information with us about your session or yourself, we will use the session information you submitted to the ADA30 Symposium Committee to describe yourself and your session.

Is it possible that I would want to submit my session recording to the OSU Disability Archives, but it is not accepted?

While we do not foresee this being the case, we do reserve the right to not accept materials into the OSU Disability Archives.

What do I need to do if I do not want my session recorded and added OSU Disability Archives?

Nothing. Having your session recorded and donated to the OSU Disability Archives is optional.

Will attendees know that the session will be recorded?

Yes, this is one of the reasons we need you as a presenter to inform the ADA30 Symposium Committee that you would like your session to be recorded. Sessions that will be recorded will be flagged as part of the program information and a statement will be made at the start of the session to inform session attendees that it will be recorded.

FAQs for Attendees

Do I need to opt in to be recorded as part of a session I attend?

Presenters are required to contact the ADA30 Symposium Committee to inform them they would like to have their session recorded. Sessions that will be recorded will be flagged as part of the program information and a statement will be made at the start of the session that it will be recorded.

What if I attended a session that is being recorded but I prefer not to have my question or other session engagement activities included in the recording?

Please contact us at the OSU Disability Archives and we will work with you and the presenter(s) regarding your request.