Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

OSU Disability Archives: ADA30 Symposium - Oral History Workshops

The OSU DisArchives are a community-created archival project seeking to preserve and share the stories of disabled people with connections to the OSU and Corvallis communities.

OSU ADA30 Celebratory Symposium, May 2021

During May 2021, Oregon State University is hosting the ADA30 Celebratory Symposium in honor of the 30th Anniversary of the Americans with Disabilities Act! You can find out more information about the Symposium at the ADA30@OSU blog and register for sessions here.

In collaboration with the OSU ADA30 Anniversary Committee, the OSU Disability Archives plans to record and archive Symposium presentations to preserve in perpetuity. The DisArchives will provide captioned videos and transcripts for all presentations whose presenters opt in to recording. For more information about check out the ADA30 Symposium Recordings FAQs page.

The Disability Archives will be facilitating an oral history workshop during the Symposium! See more info below.

OSU DisArchives Oral History Workshops

During the Symposium, the OSU Disability Archives will host a two-part workshop, "OSU Disability Archives: A Two-Part Oral History Workshop for Beginners," to facilitated by SCARC interim director Natalia Fernández and Archival Assistant Lzz Johnk. Below are descriptions of Part 1 and Part 2 of the workshop:

In this two-part workshop (90 minutes for each session), participants will learn about theory and practice around disability in the archives. Part 1 will focus on the theory, history, and purpose of archives generally and the mission of the OSU Disability Archives specifically. We will also offer a brief introduction to the archival methods of Story Circles and oral history interviews. We will be recording Part 1 of the workshop to make it available here on the DisArchives LibGuide for those who are unable to attend. Part 2 will expand on this introduction and give participants the opportunity to practice ADA30-related storytelling through Story Circles during breakout sessions. There will be time for collective debrief at the end of this session for participants to share out what you have learned.

The purpose of this two-part workshop is to empower participants with storytelling and community archival methods with the hope that you will take these skills and knowledge back to your communities. For participants with connections to Corvallis and OSU, we hope this will spark interest in conducting oral histories and Story Circles with disabled community members in collaboration with the OSU Disability Archives. Although no prior knowledge is required, it is our hope that participants who are unable to attend Part 1 will review the recording before attending Part 2 so you will have some familiarity with archives and archival methods.

Session Details and Workshop Materials

Workshop One: Introduction to Oral History (May 17, 2021 at 10:30am-noon Pacific Time)

Please note: the captions have a delay of several seconds and do not currently match the audio; for immediate access reasons, we wanted to make this recording available, but we will be sure to fix the captions in the near future.

Workshop Two: Oral History Practice (May 24, 2021 at 10:30am-noon Pacific Time)

You can download the PDF and PowerPoint (.PPT) files of our materials for both workshops using the links below.