- Borrow & Request
- Collections
- Help
- Meet & Study Here
- Tech & Print
- About
Each collection and record group listed below is briefly described, and links to collection guides that further describe the contents of each collection are provided. All materials and collections within the DisArchives are housed within the OSU Special Collections and Archives Research Center (SCARC) in the Valley Library, located on OSU's Corvallis campus. Please see the SCARC website for more information.
Content Note: SCARC describes the contents of its collections using the language and terminology of the collections themselves. This is also true for the collections included in the DisArchives. Since culturally acceptable terminology shifts over time, some of the terms that appear in these materials are currently outdated or offensive. For instance, "disabled" has now largely replaced the once widely-accepted term "handicapped." Nevertheless, these materials are part of disability histories in that they can provide valuable insight into the social construction of disability, the perception and treatment of disabled people, and the presence of disabled communities and cultures. Please be aware that some of the contents in the DisArchives may be disturbing or activating; for example, the archives contains materials discussing eugenics and using sanist/ableist language such as the "R" word.
Disability in the Modern World, online collection by Alexander Street (OSU login required): At completion, Disability in the Modern World will include 150,000 pages of primary sources, supporting materials, and archives, along with 125 hours of video. The content is essential for teaching and research—not only in the growing disciplines of disability history and disability studies, but also in history, media, the arts, political science, education, and other areas where the contributions of the disability community are typically overlooked.
 |
 |
| Disabled Student Organization's wheelchair basketball, The Beaver, 1991, pg 60. | Handicapped Students Unlimited Members, The Beaver, 1979, pg 267. |
Disability Access Services Records, 1973-2016 (RG 273) (Predominant Dates: 1984-1992)
The Disability Access Services Records focus on programs and services provided by the former Services for Students with Disabilities office at Oregon State University, as well as the student organizations, Handicapped Students Unlimited and the Disabled Students Organization. The Disability Access Services Office began as Handicapped Services, located in the Counseling Center, during the late 1970s. In the early 1980s, Handicapped Services became the office of Services for Students with Disabilities (SSD). The office would later be renamed as the Disability Access Services office.
About the Collection Contents: The Disability Access Services Records primarily contain annual reports and memoranda discussing accessibility on the Oregon State University campus and funding for services and programs. The collection also contains scrapbooks documenting the student organizations, Handicapped Students Unlimited and the Disabled Students Organizations, through newspaper clippings, advertisements, and photographs. Series One contains annual reports, statistics, and memoranda discussing funding and grant proposals for the Services for Students with Disabilities office. The second series focuses on policies affecting students with disabilities on campus, including discrimination, classroom accessibility, and services for students with learning disabilities. Series Three contains memoranda, student handbooks, and staff guides discussing building accessibility and services provided by the Services for Students with Disabilities office. Series Four focuses on student organizations and programs, including the Program for Learning Disabilities, Services for Students with Disabilities, and the Disabled Students Organization. The series primarily contains memoranda, articles, and two scrapbooks documenting student organization activities. A series of posters promoting the Disability Accessibility Services office are also included.
Link to Collection Guide (note: see the collection inventory PDF)
President's Office Records, 1903-2002 (RG 13)
The President's Office Records reflect the administration of the university and include documentation of policy formulation, publication of statistical information, and review of legal issues.
About the Collection Contents: The collection includes microfilmed documents of two OSU Presidents who retained records pertaining to committees related to disabled people.
Affirmative Action Office Records, 1971-2010 (RG 172) (Predominant Dates: 1985-2000)
The Affirmative Action Office Records document the development and implementation of affirmative action and equal employment opportunity programs at Oregon State University, especially with regard to women, ethnic minorities, individuals with disabilities, and veterans. The records include subject files, affirmative action plans, policies and procedures, reports, and publications. The Office of Affirmative Action and Equal Opportunity was established at Oregon State University in 1972.
About the Collection Contents: Materials relating to disabled people can be found in boxes 2 and 9.
Series 1 Subject Files Sub-Series 1: Disability, 1988-1998
Series 3 Policies and Procedures
Link to Collection Guide (note: see the collection inventory PDF)
Academic Affairs Records, 1942-2012 (RG 22)
The Academic Affairs Records consist mainly of materials documenting curriculum coordination and development, as well as awards, reviews of academic programs, materials from the Curriculum Council, and announcements.
About the Collection Contents: This collection is not fully processed (the archival term for "organized") but a preliminary PDF inventory lists three folders of relevance to the DisArchives. Please note the Accession numbers and that there may not be Box-Folder numbers.
Link to the Collection Guide (note: see the collection inventory PDF)
Finance and Administration Records, 1963-2011 (RG 131)
The Finance and Administration Records were collected by the Office of the Vice President for Finance and Administration and contain budgetary materials, correspondence, meeting minutes, newspaper clippings and reports. The records also document the work of a number of committees associated with the Office of Finance and Administration.
About the Collection Contents: This collection contains committee and buildings information related to disabled people.
Facilities Services Records, 1888-2010 (RG 193) (Predominant Dates: 1930-1990)
The Facilities Services Records document the physical campus of Oregon State University in Corvallis as well as OSU facilities throughout the state of Oregon, beginning with construction of the first building on the current campus in 1888. The records consist predominantly of architectural drawings and files for the design, construction, and modification of structures.
About the Collection Contents: This collection contains information about accessibility-related renovations to buildings on OSU's Corvallis campus. There is also a booklet, "Creating the Future: A Plan for Beginning the 90's, 1990," that includes an institutional discussion of including disabled people in university-related goals and progress markers (e.g. hiring of staff and faculty).
Series I. Architectural Drawings and Plans:
Series II. Building Project Files:
For OSU buildings and facilities upgrades related to ADA compliance and community needs, be sure to also review local newspaper articles that may have featured stories, for example: Oberst, Gail. "OSU Installs Elevator in Waldo Hall." Albany Democrat-Herald 28 Feb. 1991
Link to the Collection Guide (note: see the PDFs)
Research Accounting Office Records, 1935-2010 (RG 26) (Predominant Dates: 1970-2001)
The Research Accounting Records document the administration of funds from non-university sources for research projects at Oregon State University. The Research Accounting Office was established at Oregon State University in 1982.
About the Collection Contents: These records include several folders pertaining to people with disabilities.
Oregon State University Memorabilia Collection, ca. 1860-present (MSS MC) (Predominant Dates: 1900-2008)
The Memorabilia Collection is an artificial collection containing items of interest about Oregon State University and to a lesser extent, the city of Corvallis, and the state of Oregon.
About the Collection Contents: This collection contains one folder documenting students with disabilities at OSU as well as the electronic copy of the book DD Timeline: A History of Developmental Disability-Related Policy.
The Daily Barometer is Oregon State University's student-published campus newspaper. The content is written and edited by Oregon State students and includes news articles, editorials, and advertisements. This publication documents the full range of campus programs and activities including academic and research initiatives, student activities, athletics, campus buildings and facilities, as well as local and regional news and events.
ScholarsArchive@OSU is Oregon State University’s digital repository for research, scholarship, and historical records. OSU Libraries is responsible for collecting, maintaining, preserving, and providing access to the items in ScholarsArchive@OSU.
Explore ScholarsArchive@OSU via keyword or subject searching; for example, "College students with disabilities"
Student Club and Organization Records, 1931-2008 (RG 276) (Predominant Dates: 1970-2007)
The Student Club and Organization Records document the approval and recognition of more than 900 student clubs and organizations at Oregon State University. The records include annual review forms, constitutions and by-laws, lists of officers and members, and event registration forms. The Office of Student Involvement provides support services to student organizations and oversees the process for annual recognition of clubs and organizations.
About the Collection Contents: This collection contains two folders pertaining to the Disabled Student Organization and Handicapped Students Unlimited.
Link to Collection Guide (note: see the collection inventory PDF)
Associated Students of Oregon State University (ASOSU) Records, 1917-2014 (RG11) (Predominant Dates: 1966-2000)
The Associated Students of OSU Records document the administration of student government and its interaction with other campus organizations, offices, and bodies primarily for the 1960s through the 1990s.
About the Collection Contents: This collection contains committee and taskforce records, along with subject files information, and a report.
Subgroup 1. ASOSU Executive Branch Records
Subgroup 4. Oregon Student Lobby Records
Link to the Collection Guide (note: see the collection inventory PDF)
Student Affairs Photographic Collection, 1927-1999 (RG 182)
The Student Affairs Photographic Collection consists of images of Student Affairs employees, Alpha Lambda Delta activities, Handicapped Students Unlimited of OSU presentations and other assorted student events. The collection also includes images of prominent OAC/OSC athletes from the first half of the twentieth century.
About the Collection Contents: The Non-Itemized Photographs in Series 2, Non-Itemized Photographs, 1970-1998 [682 photographs including 168 slides] were accessioned from the offices of Student Affairs, Student Involvement and Services for Students with Disabilities.
TRiO Student Support Services Records, 1976-2015 (RG 277)
The TRiO Student Support Services Records include grant proposals, reports, committee records, and other materials that document the establishment and ongoing development of TRiO and related programs. TRiO Student Support Services was established with the intent to provide students with academic growth and development opportunities, assist students with basic college requirements, and serve to motivate students toward the successful completion of their post-secondary education.
About the Collection Contents: These records include one folder pertaining to people with disabilities.
Link to the Collection Guide (note: see the collection inventory PDF)
Counseling and Psychological Services Records, 1965-2007 (RG 157) (Predominant Dates: 1965-1990)
The Counseling and Psychological Services Records consist of reports, announcements, and research publications documenting the activities of the office and Oregon State University students. The Counseling and Testing Bureau was established at Oregon State in 1946 to provide services to World War II veterans; services were expanded to all Oregon State students in 1948.
About the Collection Contents: The collection includes volumes of the Descriptive Research Bulletin, 1969-1988, one of which includes an article related to disabled people.
Curriculum Coordination Records, 1924-1981 (RG 29) (Predominant Dates: 1932-1974)
The Curriculum Coordination Records document the development of academic programs, degrees, and courses at Oregon State University and include committee records, course and degree proposals, correspondence and reports.
About the Collection Contents: This collection contains one reel (of microfilm) relevant to the history of people with disabilities.
The Raul Peña Collection, 1968-2005 (MSS Peña)
The Raul Peña Collection consists of Peña’s personal scrapbook and a compilation of video-recorded news stories depicting the struggles of migrant farm workers in Oregon during the late 1980s and early 1990s. Peña served in the U.S. Army and Oregon Army National Guard in the 1970s and 1980s, and advocated for migrant worker rights through his work for the Bureau of Labor and Industries in the late 1980s and 1990s.
About the Collection Contents: The collection includes a news story, reported by an unknown Spanish-language news station, about a migrant worker who lived in Mt. Angel who was labeled mentally ill by the state of Oregon and was forced to live in a mental hospital for over two years.
Link to Collection Guide (note: see the collection inventory PDF)
FV 120 Extension and Experiment Station Communications Moving Images, 1937-2007
The Extension and Experiment Station Communication Moving Images include motion picture films, videotapes and DVDs of final productions and raw footage documenting the variety of Oregon State University Extension and Experiment Station outreach and research activities in agriculture, forestry, home economics, fisheries, and 4-H. Several items from this collection have been migrated to digital format and are available online.
About the Collection Contents: These records include five videotapes pertinent to the history of people with disabilities.
Link to Collection Guide (note: see the collection inventory PDF)
KOAC Records, 1923-2000 (RG 15)
The KOAC Records document the establishment and functioning of the KOAC public radio and television stations at Oregon Agricultural College (Oregon State University). The records include administrative records, radio scripts and programs, and sound recordings. KOAC radio broadcasts began in 1923; KOAC-TV broadcasts began in 1957.
About the Collection Contents: These records contain 2 reels (of microfilm) relevant to the history of people with disabilities, including several episodes of the radio program "Family Life Series."
Link to Collection Guide (note: PDF)
4-H Photograph Collection, 1913-2005 (P 146)
The 4-H Photograph Collection documents Oregon 4-H programs, projects, and participants in agriculture, home economics, natural science, and recreational activities. The 4-H youth program is administered through the Oregon State University Extension Service and was established in the early 1910s. Images from this collection have been digitized and are available in Oregon Digital.
About the Collection Contents: This collection contains 33 slides related to the history of people with disabilities.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial 4.0 International License. | Details of our policy
121 The Valley Library
Corvallis OR 97331–4501
Phone: 541-737-3331
