As a dynamic media force, GLAAD tackles tough issues to shape the narrative and provoke dialogue that leads to cultural change. GLAAD protects all that has been accomplished and creates a world where everyone can live the life they love.
LGBTQ+ Source database contains abstracts and full text for hundreds of the important and historically significant LGBT journals, magazines and regional newspapers including The Advocate, Gay Parent Magazine, Girlfriends, GLQ: A Journal of Lesbian & Gay Studies, James White Review, ISNA News, Ladder, Lesbian Tide, New York Blade, ONE, Tangents, and many more. You can also find many full-text monographs and books. Additionally, all relevant bibliographic data from NISC's Sexual Diversity Studies is included and this database provides an LGBT thesaurus containing thousands of terms.
An online news magazine, reporting on issues relevant to the lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer community. While they do have a pro-LGBTQ point of view, they don’t shy away from keeping a critical eye on the movement itself.
A daily online newspaper operating from offices in the Pacific Northwest, and reaching communities spanning continents around the world. The Seattle Lesbian has changed the landscape of lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender (LGBT) life by providing thought-provoking content with substantial relevancy on various angles of discussion and advocacy.
"LGBT Solidarity Rally" by Mathias Wasik via Flickr
OregonLive.com and The Oregonian are separate companies that partner in the marketplace. Together, they provide an essential 24/7 news, information and social interaction network – collecting many sources to inform, engage and entertain
This digital archive of The Oregonian covers January 1, 2019 and will grow going forward (there is a 90 day embargo from publication date). Archival issues prior to 2019 are available on Microfilm in the Valley Library and through the Newsbank Oregonian Archive.
Alternative Press Index (API) indexes journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from over 300 international alternative, radical, and left periodicals. API covers theories and practices of socialism and revolution along with the topics of Ecology, Democracy and Anarchism, Feminism and Organized Labor, Indigenous Peoples and Gays/Lesbians from 1969 to 1990.
Newspaper Source provides selected full text for more than 40 U.S. and international newspapers. This collection offers full text for more than 330 regional (U.S.) newspapers. This database is updated daily on EBSCOhost.
Oregon State University Libraries and Press’ New York Times online subscription provides access to domestic and international news, educational videos, podcasts, blogs, interactive multimedia, and much more. Unlimited access provided for content newer than 1980 and older than 1923. (Access to content within the date range 1923-1980 is limited to 5 articles per day.)