Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

*Queer Studies

This guide introduces queer studies information resources to OSU students, faculty, and staff. Originally created by Bridgette Garcia.

Find Peer Reviewed Journal Articles

How Can I Tell if a Journal is Peer Reviewed?

A journal that is peer reviewed is one that has gone through an editorial process where its articles have been evaluated for scholarly, authoritative, current information.

There are several ways to determine if a particular journal is peer reviewed:

1. If you’re searching for articles in certain interfaces (EBSCO, ProQuest, etc.), you can limit your search to peer-reviewed sources simply by selecting a tab or checking a box on the search screen.

2. If you’re looking at the journal itself, look at the editorial statement or instructions to authors (usually in the first few pages of the journal or at the end) for references to the peer-review process.

3. Most scholarly journals have a website and will clearly state if it is peer reviewed. Go directly to the journal's webpage (do a Google search to find it or try a search via JournalSeek) and search through its homepage, manuscript submission page or 'about' page. Information about peer review will likely be found within one of these sections.

Additional Tips

  • Check out these suggestions for determining if your journal article is scholarly.
  • Contact your librarian if you need assistance in finding an article or starting your research via Ask a Librarian

Using Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a great place to scan across a lot of sources at once, but if it doesn't know that you have rights to access online articles from another library institution, such as OSU Libraries, it may ask you to pay for the article you want.

Avoid this by setting your Google Scholar Preferences to show you the free available resources that the library provides for the OSU community.

 

 

 

Databases

OSU subscribes to many databases that can be used to find articles on a number of subjects. A few of these databases containing articles related to queer studies are listed below, but be sure to be logged in to your library account in order to ensure you get full access to these databases. If the full-text of the article does not appear in the database, click the Find it at OSU  button to determine if OSU has the full text to the article. If we don't, request the article from InterLibrary Loan (Don't worry, it's a free service!).

Search Tips for Finding Books

Topics in Queer Studies appear throughout the collection. Besides searching via keyword, you can search for books in the catalog by using the subject headings assigned to them.

Listed below are some subject headings associated with queer studies in order to get you started:

  • Gays & Lesbians
  • LGBT
  • Queer
  • Queer Theory
  • Queer Theology
  • Sexual Minority Community
  • Transgender

Additional Tips

  • Click the call number to view books shelved near that number
  • Click the subjects to see more books on that subject (sometimes labeled L.C. for Library of Congress Subject Headings)
  • Check out these suggestions for determining if your book is scholarly.
  • Contact your librarian for assistance in finding specific books or starting your research via Ask a Librarian