Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

FES/MNR 522: Research Methods in Social Science (Olsen)

This guide provides advice on how to successfully complete the library assignment for FES 522 as well as locating articles in the social science literature related to natural resources.

Finding Journals (not articles)

For this assignment, you need to find JOURNALS. The databases can help you do this.   Hint - databases often call journals "sources."

  • Go to a database (see options on the right).
  • Enter a keyword search.
  • Often, on the left side of the page will be options to refine your search. Choose the option with "sources."
  • The sources are a list of journal names on your topic.

Finding the full text of an article

 Look for the 360 link to full text button to open the full article.

Options for getting to the PDF will open in a new window. Sometimes the link will take you to the journal, not the individual article. Use the citation information for the article to get to the right year, volume and issue of the journal.

If the library doesn't have it, request the article for free from Interlibrary Loan: https://library.oregonstate.edu/ill

How to Read a Journal Article

Or watch the following video from the University of Minnesota on how to skim an article for the main points and take effective notes:

 

Use Subject Databases

Use more than one database to make sure you're finding the most perspectives on your research question. Databases are often organized by subject (for example, Sport Science or Psychology). Specialized subject databases can help you search more precisely in your field. Find subject databases in your field by clicking the Databases A-Z link below the 1Search entry field on the OSU Libraries homepage. On the databases page, sort your results by subjects to see a suggested list of databases in your field.

Top Four Databases for Finding Journals (and Research Articles)

More Databases for More Targeted Subject Areas

Here are some more databases to use to find research in the social sciences as it relates to specific topics related to the environment and natural resources.