General/Megasites

• Social Sciences Virtual Library http://www.vl-site.org/sciences/index.html
• Intute: Social Sciences http://www.intute.ac.uk/socialsciences/
  A high level search site for social sciences information.
• SocioSite http://www.sociosite.net
  Megasite of links from the University of Amsterdam.
• SocioWeb http://www.socioweb.com/~markbl/socioweb/
  An independently compiled page with a categorized collection of sociology related sites such as "Giants of Sociology", sociology associations and university depts., surveys and statistics. Has a search function.
• Yahoo: Sociology http://www.yahoo.com/Social_Science/Sociology/
  A commercial, but useful, collection of web sites.
• SocioLog page http://www.sociolog.com
  Good collection of links created by a graduate student at Princeton.
• Social Psychology Network http://www.socialpsychology.org/
  A collection of links to articles on Communication, Theorists, Attitudes and Behavior, etc.

Data Sites

• American Ethnic Geography http://www.valpo.edu/geomet/geo/courses/geo200/HomePage.html
  Includes a map gallery of population data for numerous ethnic groups in the United States

• Center for Spatially Integrated Social Science: CSISS  http://www.csiss.org
  According to Choice Reviews, this site is "absolutely indispensable for anyone who uses GIS as a part of social science research."

• Childstats http://childstats.gov/americaschildren/  Key national indicators of well-being including education, health and economic security.

• United Nations population information network (POPIN) http://www.un.org/popin/
  This site "stives to make international, regional and national population information easily available".

• Pew Social & Demographic Trends  http://www.pewsocialtrends.org/  The Pew Research Center’s Social & Demographic Trends project studies behaviors and attitudes of Americans in key realms of their lives, including family, community, health, finance, work and leisure. The project explores these topics by combining original public opinion survey research with social, economic and demographic data analysis.
   

Policy Studies

• Social Policy http://www2.rgu.ac.uk/publicpolicy/introduction/index.htm
  Provides an annotated set of links to Social Policy web sites.
• Institute for Policy Research http://www.northwestern.edu/ipr/
  This site created for Northwestern University's Institute for Policy Research is intuitively designed, broad and rich in its coverage (according to Choice Reviews)

Social Movements

• Free Speech Movement http://bancroft.berkeley.edu/FSM/
  Archival collection of primary materials on one of the major student movements of the 60's.
• Women & Social Movements in the U.S., 1600 - 2000 http://womhist.alexanderstreet.com/
  Over 1700 primary source documents.

Surveys

• Odum Institute: Public Opinion Poll Database https://odum.unc.edu/archive/ Repository for the Louis Harris polls from 1958 to present. Includes Roper Center's International Survey Library Assoc., data from the Inter-University Consortium for Political Science Research and from the National Network of State Polls. Availability of data for download varies.
• Roper Center http://www.ropercenter.uconn.edu
  Provides access to more than 10,000 survey files. Data drawn from 100 countries over 60 years.

Timeline

• Sociology Timeline  http://web.missouri.edu/~brente/timeline.htm
  This timeline is a brief excerpt from the Hyper-Soc™ program intended to give potential students a sense of what sociology is about.

Oregon Explorer provides a web-based natural resources digital library  by integrating data from state and federal agencies, local governments, university scientists, and citizens. A collaboration between Oregon State University Libraries and the Institute for Natural Resources, Oregon Explorer helps inform decisions and actions affecting Oregon's natural environment.

Some of the modules can also be very useful for researchers in the social sciences. You can easily access community data in the Rural Communities Explorer. It contains the Oregon Communities Reporter, a unique resource for community practitioners linking the 723 places and 36 counties in Oregon to data gathered at the place, census tract, and county levels by various agencies and institutions. Using the Oregon Communities Reporter you can get a sense of the makeup of the communities in Oregon with statistics compiled by faculty from Oregon State University's Rural Studies Program.