Covering a variety of disciplines -- biology, medicine, economics, law psychology, sociology and history -- the Encyclopedia of Aging also explores related issues such as religion, spirituality, and ethics. Also includes a topical outline, primary source documents, addresses, Web sites and an index.
Coverage Dates: - 2002

The Encyclopedia of Child Behavior and Development breaks new ground as a continuously updated and timely reference work for students, educators, researchers and professionals. This three volume work is divided into major conceptual areas of child development: Learning, Behavior, and Emotions; offers extensive internal cross referencing and includes references and suggested works in most entries.
Coverage Dates: - present

Provides a comprehensive survey of lesbian and gay history and culture in the United States. Includes articles ranging from short biographical entries to longer essays surveying topics such as the Stonewall riots, federal law and policy, same sex institutions, and AIDS.
Coverage Dates: - 2004

This reference set lists and describes more than 1,500 global cultures. Based on research of social scientists, it is the source for historical, social, political, economic, linguistic, religious, and other information on virtually every existing culture.

Women and Social Movements in the United States (Scholar’s Edition) brings together books, images, documents, scholarly essays, commentaries, and bibliographies documenting the multiplicity of women's activism in American public life. Thousands of pages of materials provide in-depth access to the published histories and records of women's organizations throughout the United States. Also included are documented projects on a broad range of topics, with footnotes to introductory material, annotations of primary documents, a bibliography, and a list of related Web links.The Scholar’s Edition includes Notable American Women and a 90,000 page archive from the Commissions on the Status of Women.
Coverage Dates: -

This social science dictionary has 1000 entries covering the disciplines of sociology, criminology, political science and women's study with a commitment to Canadian examples and events and names.

Like sociology itself, Sociology Basics is broad in scope. Its 90 articles examine topics from fourteen fields, which are summarized in the Category List at the back of volume 2. Under the heading of "Culture," for example, readers will find articles on "Cultural Norms and Sanctions," "Culture and Language," "Culture: Material and Expressive Culture," "Subcultures and Countercultures," and "Values and Value Systems." Twenty-three articles fall under the heading of "Major Social Institutions." They include topics on capitalism, class, democracy and politics, economics, education, family, and religion. [An OSU e-book.]

[journal; mixed print and electronic access]
The Annual Review of Sociology, in publication since 1975, covers the significant developments in the field of Sociology. Topics covered in the journal include major theoretical and methodological developments as well as current research in the major subfields. Review chapters typically cover social processes, institutions and culture, organizations, political and economic sociology, stratification, demography, urban sociology, social policy, historical sociology, and major developments in sociology in other regions of the world.