LibGuides: *Sociology*: Statistics

Statistics Websites and Databases

Labor Statistics Database from International Labour Office - http://laborsta.ilo.org
FedStats - links to over 100 federal agencies with statistics https://nces.ed.gov/FCSM/index.asp
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Statistical Sites on the World Wide Web http://www.bls.gov/bls/other.htm
Bureau of Justice Statistics http://www.ojp.usdoj.gov/bjs
ChildStats.gov: America's Children http://childstats.gov/americaschildren/ The issues and indicators include demographics; childcare; family, health, and educational experiences; children's behavior; and the child's social environment. From Childstats.gov.
ChildTrends DataBank - http://www.childtrendsdatabank.org/ Latest national trends and research on over 70 key indicators of child and youth well-being, with new indicators added each month. You can sign up for e-mail updates.
GSS: General Social Survey. http://www.norc.org/GSS+Website/ From the National Opinion Research Center (NORC), funded by the National Science Foundation. A standard "core" of demographic, behavioral, and attitudinal questions. Many questions have remained unchanged since 1972 to facilitate time-trend studies. A unique and valuable resource, GSS has tracked the opinions of Americans over the last four decades. (Some facility with data files is recommended, although pre-generated tables are available.)

Statistical Abstract of the United States (ProQuest)
Published annually by the Federal Government since 1878, The Statistical Abstract of the United States is the best-known statistical reference publication in the world. When the Census Bureau announced in 2011 that due to budget constraints they would cease to produce this resource, ProQuest took on responsibility for updating and releasing it. Both an answer book and a guide to statistical sources , Statistical Abstract is a comprehensive collection of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.

Statistical Abstract This link opens in a new window
A collection of statistics on social and economic conditions in the United States. Selected international data are also included. The Abstract is also a guide to sources of other data from the Census Bureau, other Federal agencies, and private organizations.
Coverage Dates: - 2006

E-STAT
Canadian census data. Using approximately 2,700 tables from CANSIM*, you can track trends in virtually every aspect of the lives of Canadians. CANSIM contains more than 36 million time series. Select Search CANSIM from the sidebar.
Coverage Dates: 1665 - present

ICPSR (Inter-University Consortium for Political & Social Research This link opens in a new window
ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences. It hosts 16 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.
Coverage Dates: - present

Social Trends and Indicators USA
This 4-volume e-book set provides in-depth statistics on social issues paired with expert analyses. Statistical data is gathered from respected sources including the Bureau of Labor Statistics, Bureau of the Census, Bureau of Economic Analysis, and the Social Security Administration; data is also gathered from The Wall Street Journal, The New York Times and the stock exchanges.
Coverage Dates: 2003 - present

Data.gov This link opens in a new window
Public access to high value, machine readable datasets generated by the executive branch of the federal government. Contains nearly 450,000 datasets (2012). Data.gov reaches across 172 federal agencies in the United States. Date range is 2009-date
Coverage Dates: unknown - unknown
Historical Statistics of the United States (Cambridge) This link opens in a new window
This is the fourth edition of Historical Statistics of the United States.
Coverage Dates: 1610 - 2000