Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

*Music

Guide for finding and researching music at Oregon State University Library

Lyrics and Translations

Free Sheet Music Online

General Music Directories

  • AMG All Music Guide   Strongly recommended for its breadth of coverage and excellent cross-references by the review journal CHOICE, this site covers over 307,000 recordings, 1.5 million song titles, 45,000 biographies and 107,000 reviews of music from classical to rap. Artists, musical styles and genres, discographies and numerous links to every kind of music are included.
  • Bach Bibliography  (Queen's University, Belfast)  Created and maintained by a world-renowned Bach scholar and university professor, this website contains more than 52,000 references to Bach and his music, including books, journal articles, scholarly reviews, theses/dissertations, conference papers, and published facsimiles.

Show Music Directory

Internet Broadway database    The IBDB (Internet Broadway Database) archive provides records of productions from the beginnings of New York theatre to the present;  a comprehensive database of shows produced on Broadway, including all "title page" information about each production.

Classical Music Directories

  • Classical Music Navigator   Organized for the user to find familiar composers and classical types of music. There are five subjects to choose from: Composers, Basic Library of Notable Works, Geographical Roster, Index of Forms and Styles of Music, and Glossary. An excellent site for students.
  • Classical net   Covers all aspects of classical music through a network of commercial and noncommercial links. Included under general classical are genres and singers, composers, performers, period links, geographical guides to instrumental music, and FAQs. Navigation is easy and direct.

Research Directory

Music Copyright

  • Copyright for Music Librarians  (Music Library Association)   A resource for anyone interested in issues of copyright as they apply to the fields of music and music librarianship.
  • PD Info: Public domain music   Provides users with information on how to identify published music in the public domain, and how to confirm a particular work's public domain status. Extremely useful for performers and music arrangers, and anyone else who seeks royalty-free music.
  • ASCAP (American Society of Composers, Authors and Performers)  This is a membership trade association of over 145,000 U.S. composers, songwriters and publishers of every kind of music. It licenses and distributes royalties for the non-dramatic public performances of their copyrighted works. The Society makes giving and obtaining permission to perform music simple for both creators and users of music.