Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

*Music

Guide for finding and researching music at Oregon State University Library

Finding Books and Scores

Find Books in 1Search by author, title, subject or keyword. The Library of Congress Subject Headings books (located at the Reference Desk) can aid you in choosing useful subject terms.

Scores are also searchable in 1Search. Try using the composer as author. Scores are also listed under their form, such as Harpsichord music or Symphonies - Scores.

Music books and scores are located on the 5th floor.

Choosing the OSU Libraries + Summit scope option in 1Search will also find books and scores at our partner Summit libraries, and you can put in a request for these to be sent to you here at OSU.

Recordings

Most CDs, DVDs and VHS tapes circulate. They are shelved in the Media browsing area on the 5th floor (see the map). Find your selection using the call number of the item you want.

Finding recordings in the library1Search allows you to refine your search by format. From your initial search results page, click on the Refine Search button, then choose Material type from the list. For example, pick SOUND RECORD for CDs, or VIDEOS/FILMS for DVDs and VHS tapes.

Other resources for recordings:

Corvallis-Benton County Public Library   Anyone who lives, works, or goes to school in the Corvallis-Benton County Library District may get a free library card. They have CD recordings (choose Music from the menu on the webpage to search) that you can check out.

There are several legal music resources online--some free, some for a small subscription. You may wish to check out sites such as Spotify, Pandora, Last.fm, or Jamendo

YouTube is also a useful free resource.

Streaming Video

OSU Libraries provides access to two streaming video services: Kanopy and Academic Video Online (AVON)

​Kanopy is a streaming video resource with a collection of more than 26,000 films from leading producers on almost every subject imaginable, including award-winning documentaries, training films and theatrical releases. Find THE ARTS > MUSIC in the subject listing to access more than 500 films on music: movies, documentaries, filmed stage performances and concerts, and more.

Access at http://oregonstate.kanopystreaming.com/ 

STUDENTS: INCLUDE KANOPY IN YOUR MULTIMEDIA PRESENTATIONS. While you can't embed a Kanopy video into PowerPoint, you can include a link to the video or clip.

FACULTY: INCORPORATE FILMS AND FILM CLIPS INTO YOUR COURSES. OSU Libraries' subscription to Kanopy movies includes broad educational access, such as creating playlists for your classes, creating a set of clips to embed in Canvas or linked in your syllabus, and show movies or clips from movies in the classroom.

 

Academic Video OnlineThe Academic Video Online (AVON) collection from Alexander Street Press and ProQuest provides access to 63,000 streaming videos on a wide array of subjects. Users can also find and view documentaries, news programs, short clips and feature films from popular producers such as the BBC, A&E, PBS, “60 Minutes” and many more. 

All AVON videos are closed captioned, and many have transcripts that come in multiple languages.

(click on image to access a guide for Music)

OSU Songs

The Historic Sheet Music Collection (http://oregondigital.org/digcol/sheetmusic/) is one of the digital collections from UO Libraries. Here you can find images of the sheet music for two songs written about and for "Oregon Agricultural College," which later became our beloved Oregon State University. They are included as part of the Oregon Music Collection, which you may browse at http://tinyurl.com/3srm3o6. These songs are still played on the OSU campus today (with lyrics adjusted for the new name of the college).

(These songs are in the public domain, so you may print them off for performance purposes if you choose.)

"Carry Me Back" alma mater song