LibGuides: *Counseling: Find Books

Finding Books: An Overview

1Search
1Search lists all the books held in the OSU Libraries. Use the At OSU Libraries scope to search just the OSU Library Catalog. Use the OSU Libraries + Summit scope to also search Summit. Summit lists books at other regional libraries that can be retrieved for you and delivered within 3-5 business days, free of charge. If the OSU Libraries do not own an item, use Summit.

WorldCat
WorldCat lists books that are available at other libraries in the United States, and sometimes in other countries. If you find a book you want, and it is not listed in the OSU Libraries catalog or the Summit catalog, you can request the book by clicking on the Request from Interlibrary Loan button in the Summit/WorldCat catalog. This service usually takes 2-3 weeks.

Other Options: Google Book Search searches within indexes and texts of books. How much of the book you see depends on the copyright status, and on how much of their copyrighted work that authors and publishers who participate in the program will allow. For many items, you can click on "Find this book in a library" to see if OSU owns a copy. This is not a complete catalog, so please check OSU and Summit catalogs, too.

Selected Ebooks

Selected online reference sources in counseling. Online books can be "checked out" for 1 or 7 days. Some ebooks allow for portions to be printed or downloaded to your computer. You may need to download Adobe Digital Editions to read downloaded ebooks.

Ebooks are listed in the library catalog (1Search). Search by keyword or title. Then refine your search to electronic resources.

The ACA Encyclopedia of Counseling by American Counseling Association
- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9781119025436
Publication Date: 2015-04-15
This premiere counseling reference book is ideal for students, educators, supervisors, researchers, and practitioners seeking to quickly update or refresh their knowledge of the most important topics in counseling. More than 400 entries span the 2009 CACREP core areas used in counselor preparation, continuing education, and accreditation of counseling degree programs, making this a perfect text for introductory counseling classes or for use as a study guide when preparing for the National Counselor Exam. This encyclopedia makes counseling come alive through its user-friendly writing style; instructive examples that connect readers to practice, teaching, supervision, and research; and its helpful cross-referencing of entries, boldfaced important terminology, and suggested resources for further study. *Requests for digital versions from ACA can be found on www.wiley.com. *To purchase print copies, please visit the ACA website *Reproduction requests for material from books published by ACA should be directed to permissions@counseling.org
Handbook of Motivational Counseling by W. Miles Cox (Editor); Eric Klinger (Editor)
- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9781119996187
Publication Date: 2011-03-25
Revised and updated to reflect the most recent developments in the field, the second edition of the Handbook of Motivational Counseling presents comprehensive coverage of the development and identification of motivational problems and the most effective treatment techniques.
Handbook of Multicultural Counseling Competencies by Jennifer A. Erickson Cornish (Editor); Barry A. Schreier (Editor); Lavita I. Nadkarni (Editor); Lynett Henderson Metzger (Editor); Emil R. Rodolfa (Editor)
- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9780470609170
Publication Date: 2010-06-25
Handbook of Multicultural Counseling Competencies draws together an expert group of contributors who provide a wide range of viewpoints and personal experiences to explore the identification and development of specific competencies necessary to work effectively with an increasingly diverse population.
Handbook of Research Methods in Psychology
- This link opens in a new window
Publication Date: 2012
The three-volume APA Handbook of Research Methods in Psychology includes descriptions of many techniques that psychologists and others have developed to help them pursue a shared understanding of why humans think, feel, and behave the way they do. Researchers use the Handbook for guidance choosing a method, researchers make decisions about what data or measurement techniques will best capture the thoughts, feelings, and behaviors that interest them; what research design best fits the question that they want to answer; and what strategies for data analysis best match the characteristics of their design and measurements. The earliest chapters in the handbook address the broadest questions related to research designs. Later handbook chapters describe the types of data that psychologists most often collect and how to determine whether the measurement techniques are the best ones for the research purpose
Handbook of School Counseling by Hardin L. K. Coleman (Editor); Christine Yeh (Editor)
- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9780203874806
Publication Date: 2011-04-06
The mission of this forty-eight chapter Handbook is to provide a comprehensive reference source that integrates counseling theory, research and practice into one volume.

Libraries

*Counseling

Finding Books: An Overview

Selected Ebooks

Contact Info

In the Valley Library

Digital Projects

Branches