(Note: Nov 19, 2025, BulkRax isn’t loading correctly, so screenshots are from Oregon Digital as BulkRax is working correctly on this site.)
Bulkrax is a Samvera software that acts as the bulk importer and exporter for Samvera. Samvera is an open source software used to build and manage digital repositories for institutions like universities.
Navigate to ir.library.oregonstate.edu. Log in to your account. Click on Exporters [1] on the left side of the screen. Here, you’ll see a list of previously made exports.
On this page, you will see a list of other Exports previously made. Locate the Export you need and download it. If it isn’t listed, proceed to step three and create a new Export to download.
To create a new Export, click the New [1] button on the Export page.
Fill out the form as follows:
Click the “New” button on the Exports page to open the export creation form.
Fill out the form as follows:
Name (required) — Enter a name for the export.
Type of Export (required) — Choose either:
Metadata only
Metadata and files
Export From (required) — Enter the collection you want to export.
Limit — Leave this blank or enter 0 to export all records.
Include generated metadata? — Check this box if you want generated metadata included.
Include thumbnails? — Check this box if you want thumbnail files included.
Filter by date? — Check this box if you want to filter items by date.
Visibility — Choose one of: Any, Public, OSU, UO, Private.
Status — Choose one of: Pending review, Deposited, Changes required, Tombstone.
Export format (required) — Select CSV or BagIt.
When the form is completed, click Create and Export
For all Globus downloads, first activate your Globus account and install Globus Connect Personal.
Use these methods when the ScholarsArchive@OSU dataset you would like to download includes a link to a Globus collection.
This option is necessary if you want to download entire collections or folders easily to your machine, or if the files you want are a larger size.
Navigate to the Globus collection of interest (e.g. the ScholarsArchive@OSU dataset).
Select FILE MANAGER on the left-side menu [1]. In the Collections field at the top, choose a collection you’d like to transfer to/from (e.g. the ScholarsArchive@OSU dataset you want to download) [2]. On the right-side menu, select Transfer or Sync to….[3].
A second collection viewer will spawn on the right. Click in the new Collection field to search for another collection.
Enter or click on the name of your second collection (e.g. your personal collection) on the right side. Here, you can choose a specific folder or location you’d like the downloaded data to live in on your machine. If you receive an error message “unable to connect to Globus Connect Personal” after selecting your personal collection, open the Globus Connect application on your computer and then try selecting the location again.
You can select the files you wish to transfer from the dual-menu File Manager window. Select the files and folders in the navigation pane and click Start ► to move from the collection on the left to right, or ◀ Start to move from right to left.
The transfer will be scheduled and can be monitored in the Activity viewer listed on the left-side menu. You will receive an email when the transfer has been completed.
This option works if you want to download specific files within a collection. Use this option only if you need a few files/folders that are a smaller size.
Select FILE MANAGER on the left-side menu [1]. In the Collections field at the top, choose a collection you’d like to download files from (e.g. ScholarsArchive@OSU dataset) [2]. Check the individual files you want to download. Click the Download icon [3]. You may be prompted to choose a specific location on your machine where you would like the downloaded files to live. Once chosen, your download will begin right away.
Note: the download button will be greyed out and not selectable unless specific files or folders are chosen using this option. If you want to download the entire collection, see option 1, or select all items within the collection.
