Globus

If your data is stored locally (e.g. in your laptop, desktop, a local disc, an external hard disk, or a university shared drive) ScholarsArchive@OSU curators will ask you to upload the data to Globus yourself. 

1. Make sure you have created a Globus account
2. Make sure that you have installed Globus Connect Personal, and that it is running. If it is, the Globus icon will be visible on the Menu Bar on top of your screen (Mac) or on the Task Bar at the bottom of your screen (Windows). 
3. Talk to a ScholarsArchive@OSU curator about your dataset (ResearchDataServices@oregonstate.edu).
   • The curator will create a folder into the SA@OSU Globus Collection in Globus, and will give you a URL so that you can navigate to the collection. The collection will be named surnameSAIDENTIFIER. For example, example2p49t677t.
   • At this point the collection will not be public, yet, but the curator will set up the folder so that you have permissions to upload content.
   • The curator will also ask you about the size of your dataset, and will set up the folder with an appropriate quota so that you do not have problems uploading your full dataset.
4. Follow the Globus URL shared by the curator. Globus will prompt you to log in if you haven't done so yet. Select FILE MANAGER on the left-side menu (Arrow 1). In the Collections field at the top (Arrow 2), you will see the collection that you will transfer to (example2p49t677t). On the right side menu, select Transfer of Sync to... (Arrow 3). 
   

5. A second collection viewer will spawn on the right. Click in the new Collection field to search for another collection (Arrow 1). If you created a collection to your local storage when you installed Globus Connect Personal, you will find them under Your Collections (Arrow 2). In this example the user's computer is LlebotlcMacLibrary (Arrow 3). If your data is in a different Globus collection you can search for it on the Collection search box (Arrow 4).

    

   

    

   

6. You will be brought back to the dual-menu File Manager window, where you can select the files you wish to transfer. Select the files and folders in the navigation pane with your local files (Arrow 1) and click ◀ Start to move from the collection on the right (local folder) to the left (repository collection) (Arrow 2) or Start ► to move from left to right.

    

   

7. The transfer will be scheduled and can be monitored in the Activity viewer listed on the left-side menu. You will receive an email when the transfer has been completed. 

If your data is stored remotely (in Box, Google Drive, OneDrive, or other cloud locations) and the location is not shareable via Globus, you will need to ask a curator (researchdataservices@oregonstate.edu) to upload the data to ScholarsArchive@OSU for you. 

• OSU's Box: not shareable via Globus at this time
• OSU's Google Drive: not shareable via Globus at this time
• OSU's OneDrive: not shareable via Globus at this time

If your dataset is on the small size (on the order of 15GB, but it varies depending on your specific circumstances) you may be able to transfer it with Globus by mounting these remote storage locations on your computer. Ask your data curator (researchdataservices@oregonstate.edu) if you would like instructions on how to do that.