The Valley Library's catalog - accessed using 1Search - includes a wide variety of print books, open access, and online resources to make make goat-related research a snap!

Whether in print or online, resources include everything from conference proceedings and government documents, to dissertations, theses, and maps. Goat and goat-adjacent subject areas are just as varied, ranging from animal husbandry, veterinary science and medicine, and animal behavior, to history, poetry, and folklore.

Have questions about how the Valley Library can support your goat (or non-goat) research? Chat with the Valley's librarians using the chat form on the Library's home page!

Sadly, there is no database of all things goat (yet), but the Valley Library does subscribe to a number of Agricultural Sciences, Animal Sciences, Crop and Soil Science, Food Science and Technology, Rangeland Sciences, and Veterinary Medicine databases that may include information about goats. Many of these databases are even open access, meaning that no OSU affiliation or login credentials are required! Highlights include:

• AGRICOLA (EBSCOhost): Contains bibliographic records from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library. Coverage for AGRICOLA dates back to 1970 and includes more than 2.5 million citations. Requires ONID login.
• Agricultural & Environmental Science Database (ProQuest): offers full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. Requires ONID login.
• CAB Abstracts: CAB Direct is CABI’s online database platform, providing a single point of access to all of your CABI database subscriptions. Requires ONID login.

The Special Collections and Archives Research Center's (SCARC) holdings include a wide variety of goat-related content, from personal papers to photographs, including:

• the William L. Finley Papers,
• the Robert W. Henderson Photographic Slides Collection,
• and the Agricultural Experiment Station Bulletin Illustrations.

Manuscript items and photographs from The Finley papers have been digitized and are available in Oregon Digital; all of the films held in the collection are also available online. Images of goats are found throughout the Henderson collection, which has been digitized and is available online in Oregon Digital. Images from Agricultural Experiment Station Bulletin collection have been digitized and are available in Oregon Digital, and more Station Bulletins can be found online in ScholarsArchives@OSU.

For more information about making an appointment to work with SCARC collections in person, including the ones highlighted above, see their Guide to the Special Collections and Archives Research Center! Don't see what you're looking for? SCARC's archivists and librarians are always happy to help! Reach out to SCARC by email at scarc@oregonstate.edu.

 Looking for instant gratification? SCARC hosts content digitized from its archival collections online on Oregon Digital, and a search for "goat" returns well over 1,500 hits! In addition to over 50 images, and over 1,500 documents, is this 15-minute video of William L. Finley, nephew of OSU's first president, donning a goat costume in order to more closely approach wild mountain goats for filming: Getting Our Goat.

But wait, there's more! A search for "goat" in ScholarsArchive@OSU returns over 1,600 hits; an Honors College thesis on the history of the National Pygmy Goat Association is just one example of the rich scholarly content found in ScholarsArchive. Videos about livestock eating and grazing habits, the Southern Oregon Research and Extension Center's Shepherds' Group, and William L. Finley's expedition to capture video of mountain goats can be found online in MediaSpace.