Skip to Main Content

Veterinary Medicine

This research guide covers resources about veterinary medicine.

Tools and Web Resources

VIN - Veterinary Information Network
VIN is the world's first and largest online veterinary community, where new articles are added weekly by the experts at VIN to make sure that our readers have the most current veterinary information available.
Merck Veterinary Manual The Merck Veterinary Manual has served veterinarians and other animal health professionals as a concise and reliable animal health reference for over 50 years.
Consultant
A diagnostic support system that suggests possible causes for clinical signs and symptoms and provides synopsis of the cause, including a general description, species affected, signs/symptoms associated with it and a list of recent literature references.
WikiVet Veterinary knowledge base. Includes sections on normal values, anatomy, physiology, pathology, microbiology, epidemiology and more. Have to register for an account but it's free.
Lab Procedures (University of Alberta) Instructional multimedia provided by the University of Alberta documents pipetting techniques, gradient mixers, spectrometers, gel electrophoresis, and gel filtration chromatography.
Martindale's The "Virtual" Veterinary Center
USDA APHIS Animal Health
United States Animal Health Association Disease Information
Animal Welfare Information Center The focus of the Center's information products, services, and activities is to help the regulated community with employee training and to promote the humane care and use of animals by providing information on alternatives (improved methods of animal experimentation which could reduce or replace animal use or minimize pain and distress to animals).
LafeberVet for Exotic Animal Veterinarians
USDA APHIS Wildlife Disease Information
CDC National Center for Emerging and Zoonotic Infectious Diseases

Anatomy

VisGar - Visual Guides to Animal Reproduction
Minnesota Veterinary Anatomy Includes carnivore, developmental, neuroanatomy, planar (MRI & CT), and ungulate
WSU Histology & Gross Anatomy Review

Clinical Trials

AVMA Animal Health Studies Database
This database connects you with veterinary clinical trials reported by researchers. Find studies related to a wide range of animal healthcare issues, including diabetes, arthritis, and cancers such as lymphoma, osteosarcoma, or hemangiosarcoma. Individual studies may be suitable for dogs, cats, horses, or other animals.
AKC Canine Health
Extensive list of organizations and schools with possible clinical trials. Covers more than canines.
Veterinary Cancer Society
Extensive list of organizations and schools with possible clinical trials. Covers more than oncology.

Organizations and Agencies