LibGuides: HST 317: Why War: A Historical Perspective: Finding Secondary Sources

Find Scholarly Journal Articles

In general, start your searching with just one or two keywords. Add more as needed.
Be sure to try your topic in more than one database.
Read citations and abstracts to get ideas of different keywords to represent your topic.
If the full text of the article, is not available, click to check if OSU subscribes to the journal or to place an interlibrary loan request (ILL).

America: History and Life with Full Text (EBSCOhost)
The definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Full text and abstracts to over 1400 peer reviewed journals. Use filters to filter in full text, filter out book reviews, and use the advanced search to set your historical time period.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text (EBSCOhost)
Historical Abstracts with Full Text is an exceptional resource that covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more - essential for libraries supporting upper-division and graduate research. This authoritative database provides indexing of more than 2,500 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1863, 380 full-text journals, and 140 full-text ebooks. For Canadian and United States history, use the America: History and Life database.
JSTOR
An archival collection of journal articles that includes titles in the humanities, social sciences and sciences. In most cases the archives end 2 to 5 years before the current issue of the journal. OSU Libraries subscribes to all JSTOR Archive Collections, JSTOR Primary Sources Collections, and JSTOR Global Plants.
Project Muse
An interdisciplinary collection of high quality, peer reviewed journals.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost)
A full text database for scholarly publications and peer-reviewed journals. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study.

War and Terrorism

War and Terrorism (Gale OneFile)
This definitive, full-text collection for analysts, risk management professionals, and students of military science, history, and social science provides valuable insight into conflicts and their causes, impact, and perception on a global scale

Current News

America's News (Newsbank)
This database includes over 4,000 local, regional and national news sources, including the Oregonian. Newspaper coverage spans from the 1980s to current day.
America's News Magazines (Newsbank)
This database provides full-text articles from leading magazines and covers an analysis of current events in news, business, entertainment, lifestyle, science and technology, and sports. Magazine coverage spans from the 1980s to current day.
Newspaper Source (EBSCOhost)
Newspaper Source provides selected full text for more than 40 U.S. (including the Washington Post) and international newspapers back to 1984. This collection offers full text for more than 330 regional (U.S.) newspapers. This database is updated daily on EBSCOhost.
New York Times
To Register or Renew Your Free Access Head to our New York Times LibGuide
Provides access to domestic and international news, educational videos, podcasts, blogs, interactive multimedia, and much more. Unlimited access provided for content newer than 1980 and older than 1923. (Access to content within the date range 1923-1980 is limited to 5 articles per day.)
Oregonian (Newsbank Historical and Current Collection)
Research Portland history through the Oregonian Collection with coverage from 1861 through current. Study trends, issues, events, advertisements, companies and more through historical and current full newspaper pages, full-text articles and content only published online.
Oregon Index Online
The Oregon Index is a selective index to Oregon newspapers, and to Oregon items in selected other publications. The database does not contain full-text information.
Oregon News Sources (Newsbank)
Access to selected local Oregon newspapers, college newspapers and blogs.
Wall Street Journal (ProQuest Newspapers)
Full-text of the Wall Street Journal from 1984.

The Washington Post: OSU has text only digital access to the Washington Post through several of our databases. If you would like full access, the Washington Post has an academic rate of $1/every four weeks. More information on how to access the academic rate can be found here.

Some non-database news sources that you can access include:

Los Angeles Times
The online version of the Los Angeles Times. Some content might be paywalled for subscribers.
OregonLive
The online version of The Oregonian. Some content may only be accessible to subscribers.

HST 317: Why War: A Historical Perspective

Find Scholarly Journal Articles

War and Terrorism

Current News

Resources

Help

Explore Collections

Browse Materials