Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HST 317: Why War: A Historical Perspective

Research guide to primary and secondary sources

Historical News from Newspapers & Magazines

American Periodicals Series a database of magazines and newspapers from 1740-1900. Titles include from America's first scientific journal, Medical Repository, to popular magazines like Vanity Fair and Ladies' Home Journal.

America's Historical Newspapers a database of newspapers from 1690-1876. Also known as Early American Newspapers, Series I, 1690-1876. This historical collection contains hundreds of historic newspapers listed in Clarence Brigham's authoritative bibliography and in additional subsequent bibliographies.

Los Angeles Times Archives, 1881-1988 Presenting a west coast perspective, find historical ads, film reviews, obituaries, interviews, general news and more!

New York Times Archives, 1858-2008 Find ads, birth notices, obituaries, interviews, general news and more!

Photo courtesy of Pingu1963.

EthnicNewsWatch: A History

Ethnic NewsWatch: A History ™ (ENW)  features the back file of 40 publications from ethnic and minority presses. Check out ENW to hear the voices of the Asian-American, Jewish, African-American, Native-American, Arab-American, Eastern-European, and multi-ethnic communities. Dates of coverage vary by title and span 1959 - 1993.