LibGuides: WGSS 482/582 Global Perspectives on Women's Health: Finding Scholarly Journal Articles

Find Scholarly Journal Articles

Locating articles:

If the full-text of the article does not appear in the database, click the 360 Link to Full Text button to determine if OSU subscribes to the journal and if we have the full-text of the article. If we don't, request the article from InterLibrary Loan (Free!).

Use an asterik * at then end of a word to search for all variations at the same time: transfeminism* finds transfeminism and transfeminisms, etc. Use quotes around a phrase to refine and focus your results: "gender affirming".

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Uses the Google search engine to search for scholarly materials from around the world such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports. Google Scholar searches a variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities. Some articles are available in full-text through links to OSU's journal subscriptions.
LGBTQ+ Source (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
LGBTQ+ Source contains abstracts and full text for hundreds of the important and historically significant LGBT journals, magazines and regional newspapers including The Advocate, Gay Parent Magazine, Girlfriends, GLQ: A Journal of Lesbian & Gay Studies, James White Review, ISNA News, Ladder, Lesbian Tide, New York Blade, ONE, Tangents, and many more. You can also find many full-text monographs and books. Additionally, all relevant bibliographic data from NISC's Sexual Diversity Studies is included and this database provides an LGBT thesaurus containing thousands of terms.
Medline (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE allows users to search abstracts from over 4,600 current biomedical journals back to 1950.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Launched in 1995 by the Johns Hopkins University Press in collaboration with the Milton S. Eisenhower Library at John Hopkins University, Project MUSE is an interdisciplinary collection of high quality, peer reviewed journals.
Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Index to articles from journals in sociology, social work and other social sciences.
Abstracts and index: 1963-present
Women's Studies International (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Women’s Studies International, produced by NISC, covers the core disciplines in Women’s Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research. This database supports research and curriculum development in the areas of women studies, sociology, history, political science & economy, public policy, international relations, arts & humanities, business and education. Over 2,000 periodical sources are represented.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
The web version of Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI), Emerging Sources Citation Index (ESCI), Science Citation Index (SCI), and Social Science Citation Index (SSCI). The Web of Science accesses a multidisciplinary database of bibliographic information gathered from thousands of scholarly journals. The databases are indexed so you can search for specific articles by subject, author, journal, and/or author address. Because the information stored about each article includes the article's cited reference list (often called its bibliography), you can also search the databases for articles that cite a known author or work.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index 2003-present
Emerging Sources Citation Index 2005-present
Science Citation Index 1965-present
Social Science Citation Index 1965-present

Use 1Search to Find Books & Journal Articles

Find books at OSU & elsewhere with OSU Libraries 1Search:

search for books and more located at Valley library and OSU's other libraries
determine if OSU subscribes to a journal in print or electronically
search libraries in Oregon, Washington and throughout the world
if OSU does not, request the item to be delivered to OSU in 3-5 business days from a regional library (may take longer if the library gets a copy from outside the region)

Questions about 1Search? Go here!

Libraries

WGSS 482/582 Global Perspectives on Women's Health

Librarian

Find Scholarly Journal Articles

Use 1Search to Find Books & Journal Articles

Contact Info

In the Valley Library

Digital Projects

Branches