Skip to main content

*Public Policy*

Find Articles Using these Search Engines

Other Databases to Search

Newspapers

Stats and More

Recommended Databases

Databases useful for research into general public policy, as well as some specific databases for social policy issues and environmental policy.

Important Policy Journals

CQ Researcher Online is available from 05/10/1991 to present. It contains original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news. CQ Researcher is noted for its in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Reports are published online 44 times a year by CQ Press. Each single-themed, 12,000-word report is researched and written by a seasoned journalist. The consistent, reader-friendly organization provides researchers with an introductory overview; background and chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources.

CQ Weekly  The premier Congressional news source. It covers virtually every act of Congress, delivering nonpartisan news and analysis written in plain-English prose on important issues, plus a complete wrap up the previous week's news, including the status of bills in play, behind-the-scenes maneuvering, committee and floor activity, debates and all roll-call votes. Search by topic, page number, committee, "exact phrases or words," bill number, byline or reporter and by Boolean full-text and date searches.The list of further reading at the end of articles can be very useful.

Congressional Digest Debates Online is a group of journals that includes Congressional Digest, Supreme Court Debates, and International Debates. These are all accessible full-text through the Academic Search Premier database.

Online Resources