LibGuides: *Water Resources*: Finding articles & primary sources

Get Started with 1Search!

Link to OSU Libraries collection (the library catalog)

Special Water Collections

Middle East Water Collection
A hybrid digital and print special collection, the Middle East Water Collection includes data, books, journal and newspaper articles, and documents published in the Middle East, Europe, and North America originating from a variety of publishers and national and multinational agencies and organizations.

Oregon State University has created and contributed to valuable collections addressing water resources. Specifically, the Pacific Northwest and the Middle East are covered by these unique resources.

Transboundary Freshwater Dispute Database
This website covers the literature of water conflict prevention and resolution. The Transboundary Freshwater Dispute Database is a project of the Oregon State University Department of Geosciences (CEOAS), in collaboration with the Northwest Alliance for Computational Science and Engineering.
Pacific Northwest Stream Survey (Photos)
This photo includes over 1000 field images taken between 1934 and 1945.
Western Waters Digital Library
Provides access to digital collections of significant primary and secondary resources on water in the western United States. These collections have been made available by research libraries belonging to the Greater Western Library Alliance (GWLA) and other academic library partners. The collection is a valuable resource for anyone interested in contemporary and historic water issues.

Where can I get more help?

Contact the OSU Libraries Information Desk

Call us at 541-737-7293
Text us at 541-526-7655
Email us
In person: The Information Desk is on the main (2nd) floor of the Valley Library.
Chat with a librarian (below):

Librarian

Beth Filar-Williams

Email Me

Recommended Databases

Agricultural & Environmental Science Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Formerly Environmental Sciences & Pollution Management (ESPM)

Comprehensive, multi-disciplinary index to research articles from all fields in the environmental sciences. Indexes U.S. government environmental impact statements. Abstracts and index: 1967-present

Your area of focus will determine which databases will most closely meet your needs. The databases listed below cover topics such as:

agriculture
engineering
environmental sciences
geosciences
policy
and of course, water resources

GeoRef (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Index to U.S. Geological Survey publications, U.S. and Canadian Masters'theses and Ph.D. dissertations, journal articles, books, maps and government reports.Index with some abstracts.
Coverage Dates: 1785 - present
Compendex (Engineering Village) This link opens in a new window
Engineering Village (Compendex) covers all areas of engineering including: acoustical; aerospace; automotive; biological; chemical; civil; computer; electrical; electronic; energy;environmental; geologic; mechanical; metallurgical; mining; and robotics. Abstracts and index.
Coverage Dates: 1970 - present

Sociological Abstracts
Index to articles from journals in sociology, social work and other social sciences.Abstracts and index.
Coverage Dates: 1963 - present

CAB Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Covers journal articles, conference proceedings and other materials in agriculture, forestry, nutrition and veterinary medicine. International scope. Abstracts and index
Coverage Dates: 1973 - present

Web of Science
The Web of Science accesses a multidisciplinary database of bibliographic information gathered from thousands of scholarly journals.
Coverage Dates: 1970 - present

Other Databases to Try

Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete provides full text for nearly 4,600 scholarly publications, including full text for more than 3,500 peer-reviewed journals. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study and offers information dating as far back as 1975.

Google Scholar
Search for scholarly materials from around the world such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports. Google Scholar searches a variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities. Some articles are available in full-text through links to OSU's journal subscriptions.
Coverage Dates: coverage range - unknown
PAIS
The PAIS International database covers a broad array of public policy subjects including international relations, science and technology, and social conditions. The index covers journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more. Newspapers and newsletters are not indexed.
Coverage Dates: 1915 - present

Water -databases free

OSTI.GOV This link opens in a new window
DOE Green Energy is a gateway to green energy results from thousands of DOE-sponsored research and development projects. DOE Green Energy is a portal to information about various forms of green energy, including solar, wind, bioenergy, and others. This free search of green energy DOE technical report literature, green energy patent information, and much more is provided by the U.S. Department of Energy Office of Scientific and Technical Information.
Coverage Dates: 1959 -
Encyclopedia of Earth This link opens in a new window
An electronic reference about the Earth, its natural environments, and their interaction with society. The Encyclopedia is a free, fully searchable collection of articles written by scholars, professionals, educators, and experts who collaborate and review each other's work. The articles are written in non-technical language and will be useful to students, educators, scholars, professionals, as well as to the general public.
Coverage Dates: - present
GreenFILE (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
For the free version visit http://www.greeninfoonline.com which will take you directly to the GreenFILE database. Greenfile focuses on the relationship between human beings and the environment, with well-researched but accessible information on topics ranging from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources and beyond. Comprised of scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports, GreenFILE offers a unique perspective on the positive and negative ways humans affect the ecology. Drawing on the connection between the environment and disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology, GreenFILE will serve as an informative resource for anyone concerned about the issues facing our planet.
Coverage Dates: mid-1960's - present

Google Scholar
Uses the Google search engine to search for scholarly materials from around the world such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports. Google Scholar searches a variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities. Some articles are available in full-text through links to OSU's journal subscriptions.
Coverage Dates: coverage range - unknown
WorldCat (free version)
The free version of the academic database WorldCat. OSU students and faculty should use
http://proxy.library.oregonstate.edu/login?url=http://newfirstsearch.oclc.org/fsip?autho=100146216;dbname=WorldCat;done=referer,

Libraries

Water Resources: Finding articles & primary sources

Get Started with 1Search!

Special Water Collections

Where can I get more help?

Librarian

Recommended Databases

Other Databases to Try

Water -databases free

Contact Info

In the Valley Library

Digital Projects

Branches