LibGuides: *History of Science*: Find Articles and Secondary Sources

Start Broadly - 1Search

Search 1Search to find books, online scholarly articles or newspaper articles that OSU subscribes to or that we can borrow for you for free.

Advanced search - If you need to find specific items, such as books by a particular author, use the advanced search option for more precise searching.
Use the drop-down menu to access the journal title search to find specific journal titles like the Journal of Ecology.
Click Databases A-Z to find specialized subject search tools like Web of Science or Academic Search Complete.

Summit Borrowing

You can borrow books from Summit libraries and have them sent to one of the OSU Libraries.

To search Summit, choose the OSU Libraries + Summit scope from the drop-down menu.

To request an item from Summit, click on the Availability and Request Options tab.

To see which libraries own the item, click on the Summit Libraries(n) link. The (n) indicates the number of libraries that own the item.

To request the item, click on the Place Summit request link and fill in the form. Click on Request.

You will be notified via email when you item has arrived and is available for pick-up.

Find Scholarly Journal Articles

In general, start your searching with just one or two keywords. Add more as needed.
Be sure to try your topic in more than one database.
Read citations and abstracts to get ideas of different keywords to represent your topic.
If the full text of the article, is not available, click to check if OSU subscribes to the journal or to place an interlibrary loan request (ILL).

America: History and Life with Full Text (EBSCOhost)
The definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Full text and abstracts to over 1400 peer reviewed journals. Use filters to filter in full text, filter out book reviews, and use the advanced search to set your historical time period.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text (EBSCOhost)
Historical Abstracts with Full Text is an exceptional resource that covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more - essential for libraries supporting upper-division and graduate research. This authoritative database provides indexing of more than 2,500 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1863, 380 full-text journals, and 140 full-text ebooks. For Canadian and United States history, use the America: History and Life database.
JSTOR
An archival collection of journal articles that includes titles in the humanities, social sciences and sciences. In most cases the archives end 2 to 5 years before the current issue of the journal. OSU Libraries subscribes to all JSTOR Archive Collections, JSTOR Primary Sources Collections, and JSTOR Global Plants.
Project Muse
An interdisciplinary collection of high quality, peer reviewed journals.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost)
A full text database for scholarly publications and peer-reviewed journals. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study.