University Property Naming Policy

Below are just a few known articles; with both The Daily Barometer and The Oregon Stater publications available online, be sure to engage in additional research on your own.

Selected Daily Barometer Articles:

• May 15, 1947; 1:2
• Nov. 15, 1949; 1:4
• May 01, 1964; 4:1-6
• Aug. 03, 1966; 3:3-4
• May 02, 1970; 3:3-5
• Oct. 21, 1970; 6:1-3
• Oct. 02, 1975; 5:5-6, 7:1-6

Selected Oregon Stater Articles:

• Apr., 1976; Campus Buildings
• Jun,. 1976; OSU Building Names

Archival Information:
Information regarding the past actions and work of the OSU Naming of Buildings Committee can also be found in a variety of archival collections. The collections below are all designated as an RG, a Record Group, as they are the official records of the university.

• To request to view any of these materials in the archives, please note the name of the collection and the specific information you would like to view.

RG 13 President's Office Records

The President's Office Records reflect the administration of the university and include documentation of policy formulation, publication of statistical information, and review of legal issues.

• Series 7, box 38 - Building Names, 1984-1995
• Microfilm Reel 145, ff 184 - Naming of Buildings Committee, 6/16/67
• Microfilm Reel 151, ff 86 - Name of buildings

RG 220 University Archives Records

The University Archives Records document administrative activities within the department including collection development, maintenance and microfilming of personnel files and outreach.

• Building Names Committee, circa 1967-1971 (4 folders)

RG 131 VP for Finance and Administration Records

The Finance and Administration Records were collected by the Office of the Vice President for Finance and Administration and contain budgetary materials, correspondence, meeting minutes, newspaper clippings and reports. The records also document the work of a number of committees associated with the Office of Finance and Administration.

• Campus planning (building names committee), 1963, 1987-1998

RG 193 Facilities Services Records, 1888-2010

The Facilities Services Records document the physical campus of Oregon State University in Corvallis as well as OSU facilities throughout the state of Oregon beginning with construction of the first building on the current campus in 1888. The records consist predominantly of architectural drawings and files for the design, construction, and modification to structures.

RG 203 News and Communication Services Records

The News and Communication Services Records document the public relations activities of Oregon State University, especially with the news media.

• Series 7, subject files (box 16, ff3) - building names, 1972-1983

OSU Memorabilia Collection

The Memorabilia Collection is an artificial collection containing items of interest about Oregon State University and to a lesser extent, the city of Corvallis, and the state of Oregon.

• Box-Folder 29.6: Buildings - Naming Information, 1972-1984

Collections that may include information regarding building naming

RG 125 Office of Budgets and Planning Records

The Office of Budgets and Planning Records consist of budget exhibits, procedure handbooks, staff reports, administrative policies and inventory information.

• General University policies, 1984-1996

RG 126 Human Resources Records

The Human Resources Records consist of policies, reports, correspondence, memoranda, personnel files, faculty/staff salary lists, and award nomination packets.

• Acc. 2008:004 - various policies and procedures