Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

FST 385: Communicating Food and Fermentation Science

Library guide to help with the literature review and managing sources for Food Science & Technology 385.

Recitation Topics - Suggested Search Tools

This guide is designed to help you find scholarly articles on your recitation topic.

Start by using one of the broad search tools listed on below: 1Search, Google Scholar, or Web of Science.

Learn more about 1Search and Web of Science on the next two tabs.

Next try one of the more subject-specific search tools suggested below your recitation topic.

Start Broadly - 1Search

Find books, online scholarly articles or newspaper articles that OSU subscribes to.  If you need to find specific items, such as books by a particular author, use the advanced search option for more precise searching. Access 1Search from the library's home page.

1Search search bar showing two links: Databases A through Z and eJournals A through Z

 

Google Scholar

Google Scholar

You do allow embedded content.

A simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature.

Find out how to set your preferences in Google Scholar, so you can use OSU Libraries subscriptions to get free access to content that is not free on the web:

How to use Google Scholar (without Paying for the Articles)

Web of Science

Web of Science is one of the most popular databases for scientific researchers. Find scholarly articles from a wide range of science fields.

Explore the connections between articles with quick links to citation information.

Chemistry of Flavor and Fragrances

Tips: FSTA has a scientific or technical focus and will include information on food chemistry; both SciFinder Scholar and PubChem are more focused on chemistry, so you will need to add in any flavor or food information to narrow your search. In either of the databases, start with a few broad keywords, but then add in more keywords or use the narrowing options on the sides of the search results pages to clarify your results. You will likely need to use more than one database to find sources.

Note - SciFinder Scholar is free for you to use as an OSU student, but you have to set up an account.

Impact of COVID-19 on the Food Supply

Tips: Business issues and research related to food supply issues can be found in Business Source Premier and Academic Search Premier; Nexis Uni has access to news articles from all over the world and will reflect both US and international reports on COVID-19 food supply issues. In either of the databases, start with a few broad keywords, but then add in more keywords or use the narrowing options on the sides of the search results pages to clarify your results. Especially consider narrowing by geographic location or subject area. You will likely need to use more than one database to find sources.

Terroir of Alcoholic Beverages - Hope or Hype

Tips: Both Agricultural & Environmental Science Database and CAB have a grower and producer focus - articles will tend to be scholarly; Academic Search Premier includes both scientific articles as well as popular sources and may contain more chemistry sources. In either of the databases, start with a few broad keywords, but then add in more keywords or use the narrowing options on the sides of the search results pages to clarify your results. Terroir is such a specific term that it is likely you won't need too many other terms to find relevant sources.