- Borrow & Request
- Meet & Study Here
- Tech & Print
This guide is designed to help you find scholarly articles on your recitation topic.
Start by using one of the broad search tools listed on below: 1Search, Google Scholar, or Web of Science.
Next try one of the more subject-specific search tools suggested below your recitation topic.
A simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature.
Find out how to set your preferences in Google Scholar, so you can use OSU Libraries subscriptions to get free access to content that is not free on the web:
Web of Science is one of the most popular databases for scientific researchers. Find scholarly articles from a wide range of science fields.
Explore the connections between articles with quick links to citation information.
Tip: Use the magazine or other science news sites listed below to search for biotechnology keyword ideas first (e.g., CRISPR) and then combine those keywords with specific crops, foods, ingredients, or beverages you have read about to search for research articles in PubMed (or Google Scholar, 1Search, or Web of Science).
Tips: This list includes databases with a scientific or economic focus (the first two options) and databases with a historical focus (the last two options). Academic Search Premier overlaps both areas and includes information that is both scientific and historical. In any of the databases, start with a few broad keywords, but then add in more keywords or use the narrowing options on the sides of the search results pages to clarify your results. You will likely need to use more than one database to find sources.
Tips: This list includes databases with a scientific focus (the first two options), an interdisciplinary focus that includes results from newspapers and government sources (the third option), and a business database (the last option). Start with a broad search like "food safety communication" in these databases to see what some of the techniques and audiences are for this topic.
121 The Valley Library
Corvallis OR 97331–4501