Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

MB 385: Emerging Infectious Diseases and Epidemics

This is a course page designed to help OSU students in the MB 385 Emerging & Infectious Diseases class.

MB 385 Library Assignment

Due - Jan. 28 at 12:00 p.m. Your library assignment is worth 3 points and consists of the following deliverable, described in more detail below:

  • A Word document with 6 references (hopefully relevant to your chosen disease) formatted in the Emerging Infectious Diseases or the Nature journal citation style, and annotated with the information specified below.

1.  Create a Zotero collection on your topic. (See these Zotero instructions for more help.)

2.  Use at least 2 databases (covered in the library session) to search for articles or other resources that are relevant to your disease topic. Add a total of at least 6 references from these databases (feel free to add more if you find more articles/resources that are interesting or relevant to you) to your Zotero collection.

3.  Use Zotero to create a bibliography in Word (see these directions on how to create a bibliography without adding in-text citations).  Use the Emerging Infectious Diseases or Nature journal citation style to format the references.  (See these directions for how to add a citation style to the basic list of styles). TIP - Use Paste-Special when pasting into Word. 

4. Below each citation, include an annotation with the following information (see examples below the directions):

  • the name of the database in which you found the source,
  • label the source as either a research article, review article, news article, or a case report

5. Put your name, the course name and the date in the upper left-hand corner of the Word document. 

6.  Attach the Word bibliography in an email with the subject line MB 385 Library Assignment to Diana Park at diana.park@oregonstate.edu

If you are unable to finish the assignment during the class period, you may email the Word bibliography to diana.park@oregonstate.edu by Jan. 28 at 12:00 p.m.

Example Annotated Bibliography: