Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

*Women and Religion: Global Lives in Focus

Resources to support research for this encyclopedia

Sites for Girls and Teens Section

Education

American Association of University Women:
Their research link provides access to reports about women in education. From their site: “AAUW conducts groundbreaking research that draws national attention to issues of gender equity in education and the workplace…Recent reports address topics such as the pay gap between men and women, economic security of older women, sexual harassment on college campuses, and gender equity in science and engineering education.”

Health

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention – Women’s Health Page
http://www.cdc.gov/women/index.htm

Comprehensive site covering Women’s health issues.

Sites for Employment Section

Sites for Family Life Section

Sites for Politics Section

Sites for Religious and Cultural Roles Section

Sites for Issues Section

Sexuality

Encyclopedia of Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender and Queer Culture
http://www.glbtq.com/

Free online encyclopedia devoted to gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgender and queer education and culture.

American Civil Liberties Union – LGBT Rights
http://www.aclu.org/lgbt-rights

This is the website for the ACLU’s LGBT Project. From the site: “The LGBT Project fights discrimination and moves public opinion through the courts, legislatures and public education across five issue areas: Relationships, Youth & Schools, Parenting, Gender Identity and Expression and Discrimination in Employment, Housing and other areas.” Check out the tabs – cases, news, legal documents, multimedia and more…

Lambda Legal
http://www.lambdalegal.org/

“Lambda Legal publishes an assortment of booklets; tool kits; brochures; short material on cases, issues and campaigns and more.“

ACTUP Oral History Project
http://www.actuporalhistory.org/

From the site: “The ACT UP Oral History Project is a collection of interviews with surviving members of the AIDS Coalition to Unleash Power, New York.” Great resource for primary sources.

Transgender Archives-University of Victoria
http://transgenderarchives.uvic.ca/

The University of Victoria has committed itself to the preservation of the history of pioneering activists, community leaders, and researchers who have contributed to the betterment of transgender people. The UVic Archives have been actively acquiring documents, rare publications, and memorabilia of persons and organizations associated with transgender activism since 2007.

OutRight Action International
https://www.outrightinternational.org/documentation/shadow-reports

OutRight and other organizations write "shadow reports" which literally "shadow" official government reports. Over the years, the International Gay and Lesbian Human Rights Commission (IGLHRC) and partners have submitted dozens of reports creating an invaluable record of human rights violations from the perspective of LGBT communities themselves.

Violence

MINCAVA Electronic Clearinghouse
http://www.mincava.umn.edu/

Comprehensive website to electronic resources regarding violence and abuse.

International

AFROBAROMETER
"The Afrobarometer is an independent, nonpartisan research project that measures the social, political, and economic atmosphere in Africa."

UNIFEM Progress of the World’s Women 2008-2009:
United Nations Development Fund for Women -- From the site: “Progress 2008/2009 focuses on five key areas where the need to strengthen accountability to women is urgent: politics and governance, access to public services, economic opportunities, justice, and finally the distribution of international assistance for development and security.”

United Nations Office of Drugs and Crime
Includes a section on human trafficking.

United Nations Global Issues: Women:
Includes links to International Women’s issues.

World Bank – Gender and Development:
Gender equality is a core element of the World Bank in an effort to reduce poverty. Links include information to data on gender, regional and thematic gender web sites, news and events, resources for mainstreaming gender and reports and publications.

 

General

Women’s Studies Resources from the University of Maryland Baltimore Campus:
From the site: “Women's Studies Online Resources will help you find information-rich, high-quality web sites focusing on Women's studies or Women's issues; women- or gender-related e-mail lists; Women's studies files from the WMST-L File Collection; links to Women's studies programs around the world and to the Center for Women and Information Technology; financial aid for women; updates to Internet Resources on Women; and more.”

WSSLinks: Women and Gender Studies Web Sites:
From the Association of College & Research Libraries from the ALA, WSSLinks is a collection of links to resources in support of Women’s Studies.

Eserver Feminism and Women’s Studies:

Includes links to Academic Programs, Activism, Gender and Sexuality, Health, History, Theory and Workplace information.

National Archives Library and Information Center – Women:
This website contains links to bibliographies, information on African-American women, biographies, politics and women, Women’s Suffrage, women in the military and other resources.

National Organization of Women:
NOW is the largest feminist advocacy group in the United States.