Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Women's Lives around the World: A Global Encyclopedia

Listing some resources that supported the writing of the 2018 edition.

Find Scholarly Journal Articles

Start with one of the databases below. If the full-text of the article does not appear in the database, click the 360 Link to Full Text buttonto determine if OSU has a paper copy or an electronic copy of the journal. If we don't, request the article from InterLibrary Loan (Free!).

Women Studies E-Journals

Here are a few highly cited journals to which OSU Libraries subscribe that cover a wide variety of issues in Women Studies. Also listed is the database that indexes the journal. Usually searching the database is the easiest way to find articles.

Sex Roles, SpringerLink Contemporary (from 01/01/1997 - Present)

Psychology of Women Quarterly, Academic Search Premier (from 09/01/1976 - 1 year ago).  Use Interlibrary loan to get current articles.

Gender and Society, SAGE Complete A-Z List (from 03/01/1999 - present)

Women & Health, InformaWorld (from 1997 - present)

Journal of Women's Health, Academic Search Premier (from 10/01/2002 - 3 months ago)

Signs: Journal of Women in Culture and Society, University of Chicago Press Journals (from Spring 2002 - present)

Women's Health Issues, Science Direct Journals (from 01/01/1995 - present)

Gender, Place and Culture, Academic Search Premier (from 03/01/1994 - 1 year ago)

Women's Studies International Forum, Science Direct Journals (from 2006 - 2009)

Gender, Work and Organization, Academic Search Premier (from 01/01/1998 - 1 year ago)

Feminst Studies, Academic Search Premier (from 03/01/1990 - present)

Feminist Economics, Academic Search Premier (from 03/01/1997 - present)

Women and Therapy, Informaworld (from 1997 - present)

Social Politics, Project MUSE (from Spring 2003 - present)

Hypatia, Academic Search Premier (from 03/01/1986 - 1 year ago)

Journal of Gender Studies, Academic Search Premier (from 11/01/1993 - 1 year ago)

Intersections: Gender and Sexuality in Asia and the Pacific, The Australian National University (September 1998 - present)

Use 1Search to Find Books & Journal Articles

Find books at OSU & elsewhere with OSU Libraries 1Search:

  • search for books and more located at Valley library and OSU's other libraries
  • determine if OSU subscribes to a journal in print or electronically
  • search libraries in Oregon, Washington and throughout the world
  • if OSU does not, request the item to be delivered to OSU in 3-5 business days from a regional library (may take longer if the library gets a copy from outside the region)

Questions about 1Search? Go here!

 

Use Google Scholar

Google Scholar
You do allow embedded content.

Set Google Scholar Preferences to show library links for OSU. ( "Get This Item at OSU")

Searching Google Scholar

What is Google Scholar?

Google Scholar Library Links Find an interesting abstract or citation that you wish you could read? In many cases you may have access to the complete document through OSU Libraries -- and Google Scholar can show you when you do. Google works with libraries to determine which journals and papers they've subscribed to electronically, and then links to articles from those sources when they're available. Once you tell us what library you're a member of, we'll keep an eye out for that library's subscription materials and provide special links to them in your search results.

Setting up Google Scholar to include Find It @ OSU library links is easy.  Simply go to the Scholar Preferences and enter Oregon State University in the Library Links field.  If you are on your home computer, make sure you are logged into your Google account to save your preferences.

Setting Google Scholar Preferences

View this tutorial to change your Google Scholar preferences. This will show which of your results are available from the OSU Libraries.

Africa Knowledge Project

Africa Knowledge Project, known as AKP, promotes Critical African Studies. It disseminates Africa-centered, evidence-based knowledge on Africa and African Diaspora. Content includes these and other titles. A subscription is needed to get the full-text.