LibGuides: FW 302: Conservation of Marine Mammals: Finding Articles

Basic Databases

Try these databases and search resources to get started.

Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
A full text database for scholarly publications and peer-reviewed journals. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study.

Web of Science
Excellent for access to peer-reviewed science. DOES NOT index book chapters, conference proceedings or anything out the publishing main stream.
Coverage Dates: 1970 - present
Google Scholar
An easy way to search for scholarly materials from around the world such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports.
Coverage Dates: coverage range - unknown

Fisheries, Wildlife, and Conservation Sciences Databases

Aquatic Sciences & Fisheries Abstracts (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, government reports, books, dissertations and conference papers covering all biology, ecology, technology and management of marine, freshwater, and brackish water environments and organisms.
Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Covers literature on wild mammals, birds, reptiles, and amphibians; covering all aspects of wildlife and wildlife management. Features excellent coverage of African publications. Concurrent Users: 5
Fish, Fisheries & Aquatic Biodiversity Worldwide (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Includes journal articles, books, conference papers, government reports, theses, and other literature covering areas of fish and fisheries research. Features excellent coverage of African publications.
Agricultural & Environmental Science Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive, multi-disciplinary index to research articles from all fields in the environmental sciences. Indexes U.S. government environmental impact statements.Abstracts and index: 1967-present
Birds of the World This link opens in a new window
A powerful ornithology database that brings together scholarly content written by ornithologists from all over the world for over 10,000 avian species. Species descriptions provide: identification, distribution, habitat, migration, diet/foraging, sounds/vocal behavior, behavior, breeding, demography, conservation, IUCN conservation status, and systematics. Also includes maps, images, media, and sounds/vocalizations.
Morphobank This link opens in a new window
A web application with tools and archives for evolutionary research, specifically systematics. Provide tools for the expansion and modernization of phylogenetic work on the phenotype.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Excellent for access to peer-reviewed science.

Social & Political Databases

GreenFILE (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
A freely accessible research database focusing on the relationship between human beings and the environment, with well-researched but accessible information on topics ranging from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources and beyond. Comprised of scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports, GreenFILE offers a unique perspective on the positive and negative ways humans affect the ecology. Drawing on the connection between the environment and disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology, GreenFILE will serve as an informative resource for anyone concerned about the issues facing our planet.
Politics Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
This collection, which includes PAIS Index, Policy File Index, Political Science Database, and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts, provides abstracts, indexing and full text coverage of journal articles, country reports, dissertations, think-tank reports, working papers, government documents and more, including full-text from many leading political science and international relations journals.

Evaluate Your Source

Does the source have a bibliography? This can lead you to other sources.
Is there an author listed as part of the citation? Judging authority can be difficult without an author.
Is the journal refereed (peer reviewed)?
How old is the source? Will this matter for your topic? Currency of information can be important. Some aspects of a topic may need currency more than others.
What other terminology is being used either by the author or by the database? Keep an eye out for other words you can use in your search statements.
Do the OSU Libraries own the journal (either in print or electronically)? If we don't own it, it will take more time to get your hands on the source.

Anatomy of a Scholarly Article

Anatomy of a Scholarly Article (NCSU Libraries)

Reading a scholarly article can seem daunting at first. Scholarly articles are long and have a lot of data. If you break down the article into components, it will make it easier to read and understand.

Libraries

FW 302: Conservation of Marine Mammals

Basic Databases

Fisheries, Wildlife, and Conservation Sciences Databases

Social & Political Databases

Evaluate Your Source

Anatomy of a Scholarly Article

Contact Info

In the Valley Library

Digital Projects

Branches