Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

WR 214: Writing in Business (Ecampus)

Library resources for Ecampus students in writing for business.

Getting Started with 1Search

It can be challenging to know where to start your research. 1Search is the library search engine designed to give you that help. It helps you discover online articles, books, documents, videos and more.

Follow this link to the Library guide for 1Search, About 1Search, for more information.

(Note: While very useful for finding books and articles, be aware that a lot of business research data will NOT be found with this tool--check out the Guide for Business to find more library and internet resources available to you.)

WR214 -Articles and Reports

Find Non-Profit Information

Foundation Directory Online - a suite of databases from the Foundation Center, giving access to an unprecedented wealth of information on grant-makers and their grants. Nine databases are available, including: a database of over 108,000 foundations, corporate giving programs, and grant-making public charities in the U.S.; a database of over 3 million recently awarded grants; and a keyword-searchable database of over 1 million recently filed IRS Forms 990 and 990-PF (which provides the public with financial information about a tax-exempt, nonprofit organization).

Check if the non-profit you are interested in has a webpage. Start there and call their office. An annual report can often provide you with helpful information about their organization.

Government & the Economy

United States Bureau of Labor Statistics   The Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) is the principal fact-finding agency for the Federal Government in the broad field of labor economics and statistics. The BLS is an independent national statistical agency that collects, processes, analyzes, and disseminates essential statistical data to the American public, the U.S. Congress, other Federal agencies, State and local governments, business, and labor. The BLS also serves as a statistical resource to the Department of Labor.

U.S. Census Bureau

for more information about government statistics resources, see the Government Information Guide

Finding Books with 1Search

1Search lists the books and other materials owned by OSU Libraries, including the Valley Library in Corvallis, the Guin Library in Newport, and the Cascades collection in Bend.
 

  • Log in to 1Search.
  • Use "quotation marks" around the title for a more precise search.
  • Click the title of the book
  • Click on the Request OSU's Copy link. This option is only available if you're logged in.
  • For Pickup Location, choose Personal Delivery - Home Address
  • Click Request
  • It will take about 5-7 days for the book to arrive. Please use the enclosed shipping label to return the book to the OSU Libraries by the given due date.

Borrowing Books from OSU

Book Delivery Services

Where to Return Books

You can borrow books, videos, government documents and other materials from the OSU Libraries. We send the books to you via FedEx (we cannot ship to a P.O. or A.P.O Box).

We also provide a shipping label for you to return the item. It is your responsibility to mail them back to us in a timely fashion. Please keep in mind that you are responsible for the book once it leaves the building. You may wish to use a form of delivery that provides a receipt since you are responsible for the items until the library receives them.

Please make sure we have your correct address. If you have moved or changed your name, we need to know.

NOTE: You need to be registered for a current Ecampus course to use this service.

 

PLEASE RETAIN YOUR FEDEX TRACKING NUMBER 

OSU Valley Library
Circulation
121 The Valley Library
Oregon State University
Corvallis, OR 97331

You may also return items in person to the circulation desks of the Valley Library, Guin Library, and Cascades-COCC Library.

Guin Library
Hatfield Marine Science Center
2030 SE Marine Science Drive
Newport, OR  97365
hmsc.library@oregonstate.edu  
541-867-0249

Cascades Library Services
Barber Library 
Central Oregon Community College
2600 N.W. College Way
Bend, Oregon 97701