- Borrow & Request
- Meet & Study Here
- Tech & Print
If the full-text of the article does not appear in the database, click the Find it at OSU button to determine if OSU has the full text to the article. If we don't, request the article from InterLibrary Loan (Free!).
Step 1: To make Google Scholar talk to the OSU Libraries collection, go to the Settings link, located on the top left corner of the page:
Step 2: On the upper right side of the Settings bar, click the gear icon.
Step 3: On the left-hand side of the Scholar Settings page, choose Library links.
Step 4: Next either search for Oregon State University in the search box or simply use the checkbox next to Oregon State University. Make sure you click Save.
Here are a few highly cited journals to which OSU Libraries subscribe that cover a wide variety of issues in Women Studies. Also listed is the database that indexes the journal. Usually searching the database is the easiest way to find articles.
Sex Roles, SpringerLink Contemporary (from 01/01/1997 - Present)
Psychology of Women Quarterly, Academic Search Premier (from 09/01/1976 - 1 year ago). Use Interlibrary loan to get current articles.
Gender and Society, SAGE Complete A-Z List (from 03/01/1999 - present)
Women & Health, InformaWorld (from 1997 - present)
Journal of Women's Health, Academic Search Premier (from 10/01/2002 - 3 months ago)
Signs: Journal of Women in Culture and Society, University of Chicago Press Journals (from Spring 2002 - present)
Women's Health Issues, Science Direct Journals (from 01/01/1995 - present)
Women's Studies International Forum, Science Direct Journals (from 2006 - 2009)
Gender, Work and Organization, Academic Search Premier (from 01/01/1998 - 1 year ago)
Feminst Studies, Academic Search Premier (from 03/01/1990 - present)
Feminist Economics, Academic Search Premier (from 03/01/1997 - present)
Women and Therapy, Informaworld (from 1997 - present)
Social Politics, Project MUSE (from Spring 2003 - present)
Hypatia, Academic Search Premier (from 03/01/1986 - 1 year ago)
Journal of Gender Studies, Academic Search Premier (from 11/01/1993 - 1 year ago)
Intersections: Gender and Sexuality in Asia and the Pacific, The Australian National University (September 1998 - present)
Transgender Studies Quarterly present
A journal that is peer reviewed is one that has gone through an editorial process where its articles have been evaluated for scholarly, authoritative, current information.
There are several ways to determine if a particular journal is peer reviewed:
1. If you’re searching for articles in certain interfaces (EBSCO, ProQuest, etc.), you can limit your search to peer-reviewed sources simply by selecting a tab or checking a box on the search screen.
2. If you’re looking at the journal itself, look at the editorial statement or instructions to authors (usually in the first few pages of the journal or at the end) for references to the peer-review process.
3. Most scholarly journals have a website and will clearly state if it is peer reviewed. Go directly to the journal's webpage (do a Google search to find it or try a search via JournalSeek) and search through its homepage, manuscript submission page or 'about' page. Information about peer review will likely be found within one of these sections.
Africa Knowledge Project, known as AKP, promotes Critical African Studies. It disseminates Africa-centered, evidence-based knowledge on Africa and African Diaspora. Content includes these and other titles. A subscription is needed to get the full-text.
121 The Valley Library
Corvallis OR 97331–4501