LibGuides: *Women, Gender and Sexuality Studies: News

Current News

Newspaper Source
Full text to U.S. and international newspaper and magazine articles of over 140 U.S. and international newspapers.
Coverage Dates: 1984 - present
OregonLive
The online version of The Oregonian. Some content may only be accessible to subscribers.
Oregonian (1867-1987)
Research the history of Portland with issues of The Oregonian from 1867-1987. Study trends, issues, events, advertisements, companies and more through historical and current full newspaper pages, full-text articles and content only published online. Available remotely 24/7 on any device.
Oregon Index
The Oregon Index is a selective index to Oregon newspapers, and to Oregon items in selected other publications. The database does not contain full-text information.
Coverage Dates: 1974 - 2004
Wall Street Journal
Full-text of the Wall Street Journal from 1986.

Washington Post Full text coverage from January 1, 2014 - Current; Index coverage from February 16, 1980 - Current

America's News (Newsbank) This link opens in a new window
Research diverse perspectives, topics and trends that align with curricular areas such as Political Science, English, Sociology, Humanities, Business, International Studies and more. Features reliable, credible information from a wide variety of local, regional and national news sources including the Oregonian. Available remotely 24/7 on any device.
America's News Magazines (Newsbank) This link opens in a new window
Explore and stay informed on local and national topics, people and events in areas such as business, health, education, jobs and careers, political and social issues and more. Features a wide variety of credible, vetted news sources spanning the U.S., including Philadelphia Magazine. Also available remotely 24/7 on any device.
New York Times This link opens in a new window
To Register or Renew Your Free Access Head to Our New York Times LibGuide

Oregon State University Libraries and Press’ New York Times online subscription provides access to domestic and international news, educational videos, podcasts, blogs, interactive multimedia, and much more. Unlimited access provided for content newer than 1980 and older than 1923. (Access to content within the date range 1923-1980 is limited to 5 articles per day.)
Oregonian (Newsbank Historical and Current Collection) This link opens in a new window
Keep up to date with what's happening in Oregon. This database collects The Oregonian from 2017. Study trends, issues, events, advertisements, companies and more through historical and current full newspaper pages, full-text articles and content only published online. Available remotely 24/7 on any device. This edition of NewsBank only has images of the newspapers, and may be inaccessible to screen reader.
Oregon News Sources (Newsbank) This link opens in a new window
Access to selected local Oregon newspapers, college newspapers and blogs. Includes Albany Democrat-Herald, Argus Observer, Blue Mountain Eagle, Corvallis Gazette-Times, Curry Coastal Pilot, The Oregonian, Portland Examiner, Register-Guard, and many more.

Newspaper Room

The library receives many newspapers in print, including major national newspapers, some international newspapers, and many local Oregon newspapers. Subscriptions may include, but are not limited to the following. For an alphabetical listing of all newspapers which the library currently receives, search the OSU Online Catalog and change material type to "Journal/Magazine/Newspaper Title."

Oregon
Albany Democrat Herald (Albany, OR)	Appeal Tribune (Silverton, OR)
Argus Observer (Ontario, OR)	Bandon Western World (Bandon, OR)
The Bee (Inner Southeast Portland, OR)	Baker City Herald (Baker City, OR)
Blue Mountain Eagle (Grant County, OR)	Burns Times-Herald (Burns, OR)
Bulletin (Bend, OR)	Catholic Sentinel (Portland Archdiocese)
Clackamas Review (Clackamas, OR)	Curry Coastal Pilot (Brookings, OR)
Cottage Grove Sentinel (Cottage Grove, OR)	The Dalles Chronicle (The Dalles, OR)
East Oregonian (Pendleton, OR)	Grants Pass Daily Courier (Grants Pass, OR)
Heppner Gazette Times (Heppner, OR)	Headlight Herald (Tillamook, OR)
Herald and News (Klamath Falls, OR)	Hermiston Herald (Hermiston, OR)
Hood River News (Hood River, OR)	Lebanon Express (Lebanon, OR)
Lake Co. Examiner (Lakeview, OR)	Malheur Enterprise (Vale, OR)
New Era (Sweet Home, OR)	The Newberg Graphic (Newberg, OR)
News-Times (Newport, OR)	Oregonian (Portland, OR)
Polk Co. Itemizer Observer (Dallas, OR)	Record Courier (Baker, OR)
Portland Observer (Portland, OR)	Redmond Spokesman (Redmond, OR)
The Register Guard (Eugene, OR)	Sherwood Gazette (Sherwood, OR)
Siuslaw News (Florence, OR)	Southwest Community Connection (Portland, OR)
Statesman Journal (Salem, OR)	The Times (Central Linn Area, OR)
The Times (Beaverton area, OR)	The Times Journal (Condon, OR)
The Umpqua Post (Umpqua, OR)	Wallowa County Chieften (Enterprise, OR)
Woodburn Independent (Woodburn, OR)	Yamhill Valley News-Register (Yamhill, OR)

National
New York Times (New York City, NY)
Wall Street Journal (New York City, NY)
International
Korea Daily (So. Korea)
The People's Daily Overseas Edition (China)
Sing Tao Daily (Chinese Newspaper in the Bay Area & N. America)

Current News via the Internet

Many search engines (Google, Yahoo!) provide a "News" section, which may be helpful in locating contemporary news information.

AJR NewsLink links to online newspapers from the American Journalism Review.
All the World's Newspapers links to world newspapers from Australia's WebWombat.
College News Online links to full-text online college newspapers from campuses around the U.S.
Hawaiian Newspapers Project - A collection of historical Hawaiian newspapers provided by ALU LIKE, Inc., Hale Kuamo'o, and the Bishop Museum.

On Microfilm: Oregon Newspapers

Oregon:

Benton Bulletin	AN.U5 B37	1976 - 1998
Benton County Courier	AN .U5 B4	Mar 18, 1915 - May 26, 1924
Benton County Herald	AN .U5 B42	Aug 4, 1932 - May 18, 1978
Benton County Republican	AN .U5 B4	Oct 11, 1906 - Mar. 11, 1915
Benton Democrat	AN .U5 B414	May 4, 1871 - Mar 21, 1874
Benton Independent	AN .U5 B45	Apr 18, 1924 - Mar 24, 1932
Corvallis Gazette (weekly)	AN .U5 C6	Feb 7, 1899 - Jun 25, 1909
Corvallis Times	AN .U5 C59	Aug 2, 1893 - Jun 25, 1909
Newport Mercury	AN .U5 N761	1758 - 1775
Occidental Messenger (Corvallis)	AN .U5 W4	Sep 26, 1857 - Jun 5, 1858
Oregon Free Press	AN .U5 O59	Apr 8 - Dec 16, 1848
Oregon Journal	AN .U5 O6	Mar 11, 1902 - Sep 4, 1982
Oregon Labor Press	HD6500 .O726	1940 - 1986
Oregon Spectator	F880 .O711	v.1; 1846 - v.8; 1855
Oregon Union	AN .U5 O65	Jul 1897 - Feb 10, 1899
Portland Reporter	AN .U5 P8	Feb 11, 1960 - Oct 1964
Willamette Bridge (Portland)	AN .U5 W48	Jun 7, 1968 - Jun 24, 1971
Willamette Valley Observer	AN .U5 W5	Jan 1975 - Jul 21, 1982
Willamette Week	AN .U5 W52	1974 - March 2009

On Microfilm: National Newspapers

American Weekly Mercury	AP2 .A2 A838	Dec 22, 1719 - May 22, 1746
Boston Post Boy	AN .U5 B642	Nov 12, 1744 - Nov 16, 1775
Chicago Defender	AN .U5 C4	Apr 2, 1921 - 1980
Daily Journal of Commerce	HF5001 .D27	1953 - Apr 16, 1974
Daily Republican	AN .U5 B39	Jan 2 - Feb 19, 1915
Daily Worker	AN .U5 W6	1923 - July 14, 1968
Daily World	AN .U5 D3	Jul 1968 - Jun 1974
Gales Independent Gazeteer	AN .U5 G3	Aug 1784 - 1792
Hemingford Ledger (Lincoln, NE)	AN .U5 H461	Oct 7, 1915 - Mar 3, 1938
Independent Gazetteer	AN .U5 G3	Apr 1782 - May 1799
Maryland Gazette	AN .U5 M371	1745 - 1789
National Observer (Wash., D.C.)	AN .U5 N35	Feb 1962 - Jul 11, 1977
Newbern (NC) Gazette	AN .U5 N741	1798 - 1804 (scattered issues)
North Carolina Gazette	AN .U5 N871	Nov 1751 - Oct 1759 (lacks many issues) Jun 1768 - Nov 1778 (lacks many issues)
North Carolina Mercury	AN .U5 N741	1799 - 1801 (scattered issues)
Pennsylvania Evening Herald & General Advertiser	AN .U5 P4	1785 - Feb 14, 1788
Pennsylvania Evening Post	AN .U5 P42	1775 - 1779
Pennsylvania Ledger or Philadelphia Market Day Advertiser	AN .U5 P44	1775 - 1778
Pennsylvania Mercury & Philadelphia Price current	AN .U5 P45	Aug 1784 - Mar 1792
Philadelphische Zeitung	AN .U5 P481	1755 - 1757
Pittsburgh Courier	AN .U5 P5	1911 - 1912; 1923 - 1950
Triweekly Republican	AN .U5 B38	1909 - 1910
Vietnam Courier	DS557 .A1 V45	Jun 10, 1964 - Apr 24, 1972
Virginia Gazette	AN .U5 V5	Sep 10, 1736 - Dec 9, 1780
Virginia Journal & Alexandria Advertiser	AN .U5 V52	Feb 5, 1784 - Nov 24,1795
(Woodburn) Opportunity News	HD1527 .O7 O6	v.1; 1965 - v.4; 1968
The Worker	AN .U5 W6	1919 -Jul 14, 1968

On Microfilm: International News

International:

Der Hoch-Deutsche	AN .U5 H581	1739 - 1762
Japan (Nippon) Times	AN .J3 J29	1943 - 1945
Manchester Guardian Weekly	AN .G7 M3	1952 - 1996
Pravda	AN .R8 P7	1961 - 2009

Libraries

*Women, Gender and Sexuality Studies

Current News

Newspaper Room

Current News via the Internet

On Microfilm: Oregon Newspapers

Oregon:

On Microfilm: National Newspapers

On Microfilm: International News

Contact Info

In the Valley Library

Digital Projects

Branches