LibGuides: *Political Science: Other Resources

Internet Links

Pew Social & Demographic Trends
The Pew Research Center’s Social & Demographic Trends project studies behaviors and attitudes of Americans in key realms of their lives, including family, community, health, finance, work and leisure. The project explores these topics by combining original public opinion survey research with social, economic and demographic data analysis.
Political Resources on the Net
Listings of political sites available on the Internet sorted by country, with links to Parties, Organizations, Governments, Media and more from all around the world
ISN: International Relations and Security Network
Covers international relations through subject and region indexing.
more...less...
Based in Zurich, the International Relations and Security Network (ISN) is one of the world’s leading open access information services for both professionals and students who focus on international relations (IR) and security studies.
FindLaw
A thorough locator of all kinds of legal resources.
Institute for Policy Research
A nonpartisan and interdisciplinary organization at Northwestern University, their mission is to stimulate and support excellent social science research on significant public policy issues and to disseminate the findings widely.
American Policy Directory
Links to various public policy organizations created and maintained by the University of Oregon Libraries' Document Center.
American President: A Reference Resource
From the Miller Center of Public Affairs, University of Virginia. In-depth information reviewed by prominent scholars on each president and administration.
Policy Agendas Project
Collects and organizes data from various archived sources to trace changes in the national policy agenda and public policy outcomes since the Second World War. From the University of Texas at Austin.
WWW Virtual Library: International Affairs Resources
A frequently-updated, cost-free website directory that is part of the WWW Virtual Library System, with over 2000 carefully selected, annotated links in 35 international affairs categories.

Statistics

RESOURCES IN THE LIBRARY

American Statistics Index (1986-1999) HA154 .A431
Historical Statistics of the United States, Colonial Times to 1970 HA195 .A3 1975
Statistical Abstract of the United States - ONLINE or on the shelf, HA202 [date] (latest ed. at Ref Desk)

ONLINE RESOURCES

USA.gov - Reference Shelf - Data & Statistics The Data & Statistics section includes links to all the major government agencies producing statistics on topics ranging from aging to transportation.
Historical Statistics of the United States, Millennial Edition Online, 1610-2000
Oregon Data at Data.Oregon.gov
University of Michigan Documents Center: Statistical Resources on the Web
GSS: General Social Survey. http://www.norc.org/GSS+Website/
From the National Opinion Research Center (NORC), funded by the National Science Foundation. A standard "core" of demographic, behavioral, and attitudinal questions. Many questions have remained unchanged since 1972 to facilitate time-trend studies. A unique and valuable resource, GSS has tracked the opinions of Americans over the last four decades. (Some facility with data files is recommended, although pre-generated tables are available) (also available through the ICPSR database)

ICPSR Data Archive

ICPSR (Inter-University Consortium for Political & Social Research

An international consortium of about 700 academic institutions and research organizations, ICPSR provides leadership and training in data access, curation, and methods of analysis for the social science research community.

ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences. It hosts 16 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.

ICPSR's educational activities include the Summer Program in Quantitative Methods of Social Research external link , a comprehensive curriculum of intensive courses in research design, statistics, data analysis, and social methodology. ICPSR also leads several initiatives that encourage use of data in teaching, particularly for undergraduate instruction.

As a member of ICPSR, OSU students, faculty, and staff have access to the ICPSR data archive, and to educational activities, classroom-ready data, and web based instruction. OSU researchers also have the opportunity of depositing their own data to take advantage of long-term preservation and worldwide dissemination.

Libraries

*Political Science

Internet Links

Statistics

ICPSR Data Archive

Contact Info

In the Valley Library

Digital Projects

Branches