LibGuides: *Political Science: Reference Sources

Dictionaries, Encyclopedias

American Conservatism by Jeremy Beer (Editor); Bruce Frohnen (Editor); Jeffrey O. Nelson (Editor); Jeffery O. Nelson (Editor)
Call Number: JC573.2.U6 A43 2006
ISBN: 1932236430
Publication Date: 2006-02-27
American Conservatism: An Encyclopedia is the first comprehensive reference volume to cover this influential political and intellectual movement. This informative and entertaining encyclopedia contains substantive entries of up to two thousand words on those persons, events, organizations, and concepts of major importance to postwar American conservatism.
Encyclopedia of Politics by Rodney P. Carlisle (Editor)
Call Number: JA61 .E54 2005
ISBN: 1412904099
Publication Date: 2005-03-17
Although the distinction between the politics of the left and the right is commonly assumed in the media and in treatments of political science and history, the terms are used so loosely that the student and the general reader are often confused: What exactly are the terms left and right supposed to imply? This two-volume Encyclopedia of Politics: The Left and the Right contains over 450 articles on individuals, movements, political parties, and ideological principles, with those usually thought of as left in the left-hand volume (Volume 1), and those considered on the right in the right-hand volume (Volume 2).
The Princeton Encyclopedia of American Political History by Michael Kazin (Editor); Rebecca Edwards (Editor); Adam Rothman (Editor)
Call Number: E183 .P85 2010
ISBN: 9780691129716
Publication Date: 2009-11-09
An essential resource for anyone interested in U.S. history and politics, this two-volume encyclopedia covers the major forces that have shaped American politics from the founding to today. Broad in scope, the book addresses both the traditional topics of political history--such as eras, institutions, political parties, presidents, and founding documents--and the wider subjects of current scholarship, including military, electoral, and economic events, as well as social movements, popular culture, religion, education, race, gender, and more. Includes bibliographies, cross-references, appendixes, a comprehensive index, and more than 50 illustrations and maps
International Encyclopedia of Environmental Politics by John Barry (Editor); E. Gene Frankland (Editor)
Call Number: GE170 .I55 2002
ISBN: 041520285X
Publication Date: 2001-12-14
Written by an international team of specialists, this A-Z volume is the first to provide in-depth, worldwide coverage of the politics of environmentalism. With over 500 fully cross-referenced entries and suggestions for further reading, it will prove an essential reference source for the field.
The Encyclopedia of American Political History by Paul Finkelman (Editor); Peter Wallenstein (Editor)
Call Number: E183 .E48 2001
ISBN: 1568025114
Publication Date: 2001-03-02
Particularly helpful to anyone hoping to understand the evolution and intricacies of the modern American political process, The Encyclopedia of American Political History identifies the most significant personalities, trends, campaigns and elections, protests and rebellions, laws, statutes, and policies in American political history.
Encyclopedia of American Public Policy by Byron M. Jackson
Call Number: JK468.P64 J33 1999
ISBN: 1576070239
Publication Date: 1999-06-01
The Encyclopedia of American Public Policy cuts through the complexities of this vast and often ill understood subject by mapping it into major subject areas and presenting concise and readable A-to-Z entries within each of these areas: Key Concepts, Agriculture, Civil Rights, Commerce and Transportation, Communications, Crime, Economics, Education, Energy, Entitlement Programs, Environment, Health, Housing, and Labor.
Encyclopedia of Women in American Politics by Jeffrey D. Schultz (Editor); Laura van Assendelft; Helen Thomas (Foreword)
Call Number: HQ1236.5.U6 E53 1999
ISBN: 1573561312
Publication Date: 1998-11-16
In the 80 years since gaining the right to vote, women have continued to make their political voices heard. This is the first comprehensive work to describe the political struggles and achievements of American women, who were historically underrepresented in a system dominated by men. Containing over 700 entries in an A-to-Z format, this single volume provides balanced coverage of the people, issues, and events that shape any discussion of women in U.S. politics.

Online Reference Books

Encyclopedia of political science [electronic resource] / [edited by] James E. Alt... [et al.].
The Encyclopedia of Political Science (TEPS) is an ambitious survey of the world of politics at the beginning of the twenty-first century. TEPS, developed by the Encyclopedia Society and CQ Press with the assistance of the American Political Science Association (APSA), is an authoritative resource for political scientists and students of politics throughout the world. It assembles more than 1,500 signed articles by contributors from nearly forty countries, making it one of the largest encyclopedias on political science published to date.
The Oxford companion to the politics of the world [electronic resource] / editor in chief, Joel Krieger.
This major new edition of The Oxford Companion to Politics of the World reflects the changing world with a reassessment of many of the core themes of the previous edition, and new articles on the people, concepts, and events that have shaped the world since 1993. The second edition includes biographies of Kofi Annan, Tony Blair, Bill Clinton, and Gerhard Schroder; articles on events such as the Rwandan Genocide and the war in Kosovo; and coverage of international trade developments such as NAFTA and the World Trade Organization. Eighty-seven of the 672 articles in the Second Edition are completely new; most others are thoroughly revised.

E-Books

The Blackwell Dictionary of Political Science by Frank Bealey; Allan G. Johnson
Call Number: JA61 .B43 1999eb
ISBN: 0631223746
Publication Date: 1999-01-01
"Companion volume to the Blackwell dictionary of sociology by Allan Johnson"--Pref. Includes bibliographical references and index.
The Illustrated Dictionary of Constitutional Concepts by Robert L. Maddex
Call Number: JA61 .M28 1996eb
ISBN: 0585333157
Publication Date: 1996-01-01
Strong representative democracies are essential to world peace and economic growth. Governments based on constitutions and a participatory citizenry promote domestic prosperity and foster international cooperation and development. The Illustrated Dictionary of Constitutional Concepts was undertaken as a tool for learning about the language of constitutions—the supreme laws of nationstates—and thus for making us all better citizens of our own countries and the world.
International Conflict by Jacob Bercovitch; Richard Jackson
Call Number: D842 .B46 1997eb
ISBN: 0585351295
Publication Date: 1997-01-01
This unique study of 50 years of conflict and resolution allows readers to understand every important conflict from 1945 to 1995, and to trace recurring or related conflicts throughout this period. Concise, insightful summaries reveal the context, management, and aftermath of nearly 300 international conflicts. Introductory chapters synthesize common elements and issues across the decades and around the globe. Arranged chronologically, summaries of nearly 300 conflicts describe the history, circumstances, players, management, and outcome of each incident. Illustrated with diagrams and detailed maps of many of the most conflictridden areas of the world, the book contains an extensive list of references, organized by region, that directs the reader to additional information.

Handbooks and Yearbooks

International Year Book and Statesmen's Who's Who by Burkes' Peerage Ltd.
Call Number: JA51 .I5
Publication Date: 1953-1997
Oregon Blue Book by Oregon Secretary of State
Call Number: JK9031
Publication Date: 1933-
Also issued online (linked). Cataloged in both LC and OrDoc classifications: JK9031 and OR S.8B62

Handbooks are compact reference books, organized for easy access, that provide factual information on specific topics. Yearbooks are annual publications of facts and information about the preceding year, limited to a specific subject, country, or organization.

Online Resources

World Factbook (Central Intelligence Agency)

The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities. Reference tab includes: maps of the major world regions, Flags of the World, a Physical Map of the World, a Political Map of the World, a World Oceans map, and a Standard Time Zones of the World map.

Country Studies (Federal Research Division, Library of Congress)

The Country Studies Series presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world.

Print Resources

Political Handbook of the World by Council on Foreign Relations
Call Number: JF37 .P6
Publication Date: 1975-
Yearbook of the United Nations
Call Number: JX1977 .A37 Y4
Publication Date: 1946-2006

Libraries

*Political Science

Dictionaries, Encyclopedias

Online Reference Books

E-Books

Handbooks and Yearbooks

Online Resources

Print Resources

Contact Info

In the Valley Library

Digital Projects

Branches