Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

*Human Development and Family Sciences*

Use this guide to find articles, books and other sources for HDFS research topics.

Statistics Resources

ChildTrends DataBank - the latest national trends and research on over 80 key indicators of child and youth well-being, with new indicators added each month. Provided by Child Trends, a national leader in the field for over 20 years. http://childtrendsdatabank.org

Kids Count Data Center - from the Annie E. Casey Foundation. Easy to navigate data on disadvantaged children from a wide variety of sources, public and private. Includes data from international down to local. http://datacenter.kidscount.org/

County and City Databook - Contains statistical information from the U.S. Census Bureau on the following subjects: agriculture, civilian labor force and employment, construction, crime, education, health, housing, land area and population, manufactures, money income and poverty status, social welfare programs and other vital statistics. Data can be scanned on a national, regional, state, county or city basis. All U.S. cities with populations of greater than 25,000 are included.1967, 1972, 1977, 1983, 1988, 1994 in paper: HA203 .A12. Latest online version is dated 2007.

The National Center for Education Statistics has released Youth Indicators, 2005: Trends in the Well-Being of American Youth . This report contains statistics that address important aspects of the lives of youth, including family, schooling, work, community, and health. The report focuses on American youth and young adults 14 to 24 years old, and presents trends in various social contexts that may relate to youth education and learning.

Data on the Net Website where you can search or browse a listing of 363 Internet sites of numeric Social Science statistical data, data catalogs, data libraries, social science gateways, addresses and more.

AgingStats.gov  Federal interagency forum on aging-related statistics.

CDC Data and Statistics - Healthy Aging

OSU Databases:

ICPSR Data Archive

An international consortium of about 700 academic institutions and research organizations, ICPSR provides leadership and training in data access, curation, and methods of analysis for the social science research community.

ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences. It hosts 16 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.

ICPSR's educational activities include the Summer Program in Quantitative Methods of Social Research external link, a comprehensive curriculum of intensive courses in research design, statistics, data analysis, and social methodology. ICPSR also leads several initiatives that encourage use of data in teaching, particularly for undergraduate instruction.

As a member of ICPSR, OSU students, faculty, and staff have access to the ICPSR data archive, and to educational activities, classroom-ready data, and web based instruction. OSU researchers also have the opportunity of depositing their own data to take advantage of long-term preservation and worldwide dissemination.

Government Publications

Much of the research and publication in HDFS fields is done by state and federal government organizations. You can find most of this online. Many of these are cataloged in the OSU Libraries catalog and other catalogs, too.

Selected US Government Agencies

 

Bureau of the Census

Department of Education

Department of Health & Human Services

Administration on Aging

Administration for Children and Families (ACF)

    Department of Justice

    Department of Labor

    State and Local Government

     

    Oregon.gov the official Oregon State website

    Data for Local Communities  statistical, spatial, and descriptive information about the cities, counties and other civil, economic and natural regions of Oregon and Washington.

    More links to a variety of government information can be found in the Government Information Guide.

    Selected Internet Resources

    HDFS Department Home Page  Oregon State University

    Children, Youth and Family Consortium Electronic Clearinghouse  University of Minnesota Extension

    Gerontological Society of America

    Family and Comsuter Sciences, Extension  The Ohio State University Extension

    National Child Care Information Center  a project of the Child Care Bureau, Administration for Children and Families (ACF), U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS)

    National Council on Family Relations  the premier professional association for the multidisciplinary understanding of families

     

    Oregon Explorer

    Oregon Explorer provides a web-based natural resources digital library  by integrating data from state and federal agencies, local governments, university scientists, and citizens. A collaboration between Oregon State University Libraries and the Institute for Natural Resources, Oregon Explorer helps inform decisions and actions affecting Oregon's natural environment.

    Some of the modules can also be very useful for researchers in the social sciences. You can easily access community data in the Rural Communities Explorer. It contains the Oregon Communities Reporter, a unique resource for community practitioners linking the 723 places and 36 counties in Oregon to data gathered at the place, census tract, and county levels by various agencies and institutions. Using the Oregon Communities Reporter you can get a sense of the makeup of the communities in Oregon with statistics compiled by faculty from Oregon State University's Rural Studies Program.