LibGuides: *Human Development and Family Sciences*: Reference Works

Reference Overview

Reference works are generally referred to for particular pieces of information, rather than read cover to cover. The style used is informative and emphasize facts.They are useful for quick lookups, general overview, and may lead you to authors, concepts, and materials useful in your research.

Reference works are found in the general book stacks, and more and more frequently you can find them online as well. Online references listed here include a link to the item.

Reference Books

Encyclopedia of Early Childhood Education by Leslie R. Williams (Editor); Doris P. Fromberg (Editor)
Call Number: LB1139.25 .E53 1992
ISBN: 0824046269
Publication Date: 1992-03-01
Encyclopedia of Marriage and the Family by David Levinson (Editor)
Call Number: HQ9 .E52 1995
ISBN: 002897235X
Publication Date: 1995-09-01
Includes 160 articles and 500,000 words forming a state-of-the-art compendium of knowledge about marriage, family and human relationships. The articles are interdisciplinary, with contributors from many different fields.
Handbook of Marriage and the Family by Marvin B. Sussman (Editor); Suzanne K. Steinmetz (Editor); Gary W. Peterson (Editor)
Call Number: HQ518 .H154 1999
ISBN: 0306457547
Publication Date: 1999-01-31
In a thoroughgoing revision of the first edition of this classic text and reference, published by Plenum in 1987, the editors have assembled a distinguished roster of contributors to address such topics as past, present, and future perspectives on family diversity; theory and methods of the family; changing family patterns and roles; the family and other institutions; and family dynamics and processes.
Statistical Handbook on the American Family by Bruce A. Chadwick; Tim B. Heaton
Call Number: HQ536 .S727 1999
ISBN: 157356169X
Publication Date: 1998-12-17
2nd edition. Data collected from federal and state government agencies, Gallup polls, professional journals, and research are presented in a single, easily accessible format. Nearly 350 graphs, charts, and figures are provided.
Encyclopedia of Family Life by Carl L. Bankston (Editor); R. Kent Rasmussen (Editorial Coordinator)
Call Number: HQ534 .E53 1999
ISBN: 0893569402
Publication Date: 1999-01-01
The Dictionary of Family Psychology and Family Therapy by S. Richard Sauber; Luciano L'Abate; Gerald R. Weeks; William L. Buchanan
Call Number: RC488.5 .D525 1993
ISBN: 0803953321
Publication Date: 1993-08-09
Second edition. Each entry includes a definition of the term, an example relevant to its usage, the origin of the term, an early source using the term, and if pertinent, a recent source. "Borrowed" terms from other such fields as family law, sex therapy, clinical child psychology, and group psychology are also included.
Key Words in Aging, Law, and Ethics by Marshall B. Kapp
Call Number: HQ1061 .K3525 1995
ISBN: 0826190405
Publication Date: 1995-10-01
The Encyclopedia of Aging by George L. Maddox (Editor)
Call Number: HQ1061 .E53 1987
ISBN: 0826148409
Publication Date: 1987-01-01
The Graying of America by Donald H. Kausler; Barry C. Kausler
Call Number: HQ1064 .U5 K39 2001
ISBN: 0252026357
Publication Date: 2001-03-20
An alphabetical listing of sources and issues of particular interest to older people. Intended for general readers, this volume clearly explains various aspects of aging in nontechnical language. Topical coverage is very broad, and the selection of subjects appears to reflect both currently popular areas and the authors' own interests.

Online Encyclopedias and Reference

Family in Society: Social Issues Primary Sources Collection
Provides readings into two centuries of changes in concepts, representations, and roles of the family in society.
Coverage Dates: - 2007
Gender Issues and Sexuality: Social Issues Primary Sources Collection
Provides insight into the personal, social, and political issues of gender and sexuality--issues that range from intimate matters of personal belief to matters that profoundly shape modern society.
Coverage Dates: - 2006

Statistical Abstract This link opens in a new window
A collection of statistics on social and economic conditions in the United States. Selected international data are also included. The Abstract is also a guide to sources of other data from the Census Bureau, other Federal agencies, and private organizations.
Full-text and data: 2006
Coverage Dates: - 2006

Statistical Abstract of the United States (ProQuest)
Published annually by the Federal Government since 1878, The Statistical Abstract of the United States is the best-known statistical reference publication in the world. When the Census Bureau announced in 2011 that due to budget constraints they would cease to produce this resource, ProQuest took on responsibility for updating and releasing it. Both an answer book and a guide to statistical sources , Statistical Abstract is a comprehensive collection of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.
Encyclopedia of Aging
Covering a variety of disciplines -- biology, medicine, economics, law psychology, sociology and history -- the Encyclopedia of Aging also explores related issues such as religion, spirituality, and ethics. Also includes a topical outline, primary source documents, addresses, Web sites and an index.
Coverage Dates: - 2002
Encyclopedia of Child Behavior and Development
The Encyclopedia of Child Behavior and Development breaks new ground as a continuously updated and timely reference work for students, educators, researchers and professionals. This three volume work is divided into major conceptual areas of child development: Learning, Behavior, and Emotions; offers extensive internal cross referencing and includes references and suggested works in most entries.
Coverage Dates: - present
Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgendered History in America
Provides a comprehensive survey of lesbian and gay history and culture in the United States. Includes articles ranging from short biographical entries to longer essays surveying topics such as the Stonewall riots, federal law and policy, same sex institutions, and AIDS.
Coverage Dates: - 2004
Encyclopedia of School Psychology
Comprehensive guide to the field of school psychology featuring the latest research on school learning, motivation, and educational assessment. Entries on psychology, education and counseling, child development, and special education address student success, behavior disorders, intelligence testing, learning disabilities, strategies to improve academic skills, and more.
Coverage Dates: - 2005
Encyclopedia of the Life Course and Human Development
The Encyclopedia of the Life Course and Human Development examines three key life stages from a sociological perspective, exploring how enduring experiences, as well as transitions and events such as childcare, education, stress, marriage, career, addiction, friendship, parenthood, disease, spirituality, and retirement influence the individual's life course. The life stages examined are: Childhood and Adolescence; Adulthood; and Later Life
Coverage Dates: -

Libraries

Human Development and Family Sciences

Reference Overview

Reference Books

Online Encyclopedias and Reference

Contact Info

In the Valley Library

Digital Projects

Branches