*Forestry*

This is a great resource for overview articles on forest practices and issues in the US through the mid-1980. There is no digital version available but the book can be found in the stacks under at SD143 .E53 1983 in the Valley Library.

A combination of broad disciplinary coverage and scientific excellence, the Encyclopedia of Forest Sciences will be an indispensable addition to the library of anyone interested in forests, forestry and forest sciences. Packed with valuable insights from experts all over the world, this remarkable set not only summarizes recent advances in forest science techniques, but also thoroughly covers the basic information vital to comprehensive understanding of the important elements of forestry. The Encyclopedia of Forest Sciences also covers relevant biology and ecology, different types of forestry (e.g. tropical forestry and dryland forestry), scientific names of trees and shrubs, and the applied, economic, and social aspects of forest management. Valuable key features further enhance the utility of this Encyclopedia as an exceptional reference tool. Also available online via ScienceDirect - featuring extensive browsing, searching, and internal cross-referencing between articles in the work, plus dynamic linking to journal articles and abstract databases, making navigation flexible and easy. For more information, pricing options and availability visit www.info.sciencedirect.com. * Edited and written by a distinguished group of editors and contributors * Well-organized encyclopedic format provides concise, readable entries, easy searches, and thorough cross-references * Illustrative tables, figures, and photographs in every entry, produced in full color * Comprehensive glossary defines new and important terms * Complete, up-to-date coverage of over 60 areas of forest sciences -- sure to be of interest to scientists, students, and professionals alike! * Editor-in-Chief is the past president of the International Union of Forestry Research Organizations, the oldest international collaborative forestry research organization with over 15,000 scientists from 100 countries

The Encyclopedia of Soil Science provides a comprehensive, alphabetical treatment of basic soil science in a single volume. It constitutes a wide ranging and authorative collection of some 160 academic articles covering the salient aspects of soil physics, chemistry, biology, fertility, technology, genesis, morphology, classification and geomorphology. With increased usage of soil for world food production, building materials, and waste repositories, demand has grown for a better global understanding of soil and its processes. longer articles by leading authorities from around the world are supplemented by some 430 definitions of common terms in soil sciences.

A revised and reorganized practical reference for the working field forester, incorporating the latest information and new, improved methods in such critical areas as U.S. forest law and policy, forest taxation, cost accounting and accomplishment reporting, pesticide and environmental aspects, safety, and public involvement procedures.

Revised edition of the author's "Vegetation of Oregon and Washington", originally published by the U.S. Forest Service in 1973. Reprinted with new bibliographic supplement by the OSU Press in 1988.

Now a classic, the Wood Engineering Handbook was updated significantly in 2010 and is the "go to" place for wood properties, uses, etc. All previous editions also available in print and electronically via libraruy catalog.