Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding Articles in Journals & Magazines
Most of our periodical indexes and electronic databases will also provide sources of biographical information. Using the person's last name with the keyword "biography" will reveal articles about that specific person living or dead. Subject list of databases: http://osulibrary.oregonstate.edu/research.php/db.php?arg=A
Finding Books in Online Catalogs
Use OSU Libraries Online Catalog (or Summit (Orbis) and Worldcat) to find books (biographies) about specific persons. The person's last name with the subdivision or keyword "biography" should provide biographical works about prominent persons living or dead.
General Indexes & Sources (all subjects)
The following works, themselves, may not contain actual biographical information, but indicate where such information may be found.
- Biographical and Genealogy Master Index - Ref: CT 213 .B51
A consolidated index to more than 3,200,000 biographical sketches in over 350 current and retrospective biographical dictionaries.
- Biographical Index - Ref: CT 100 .B5 - (1984-present))
An index to biographical articles in books and magazines.
- New York Times Obituaries Index - Ref: CT 213 .N47
Index To the obituaries appearing in the New York Times between 1858 and 1968.
- Dictionary of National Biography (DNB) - Ref DA28 D5
Standard "retrospective" biography for British subjects.
- Dictionary of American Biography (DAB)- Ref E176 D5 1964
Standard "retrospective" biography for Americans
- American National Biography - CT 213 A68 1999
Important new source of "retrospective" biography for Americans
- Current Biography - Ref CT120 C8
Standard "current" biography for people who are in the news - all subject areas
Encyclopedias remain a good source of biographic information. Some standard ones are:
- Encyclopedia Americana (Ref AE5 E31)
- World Book Encyclopedia (Ref AE5 W6)
- Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences (Ref H41 E56)
- International Encyclopedia of the Social Science (Ref H40 A2 I5)
- Encyclopedia of Education (Ref LB15 E56)
- Encylopedia of Philosophy (Ref B51 E5)
- New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians (Ref ML100 N48)
- Women in World History (Ref HQ1115 W6 1999)
- Encyclopedia of World Art (Ref N31 E52)
Ask at the Reference Desk for additional information