LibGuides: GRAD 514: Introduction to Graduate Writing (Ecampus): Identifying Key Texts

Identifying Key Texts

Library Subject Guides
Start your research using the resources suggested by a library subject guide. Each guide highlights discipline-specific databases (if applicable) and other library resources.

Library subject guides at OSU *have asterisks* around their title.
Subject Databases
Many subjects have specialized databases that contain deeper information or specialized tools than is available through 1Search or Google Scholar.
Graduate Programs at OSU
Your graduate advisor, a professor from one of your discipline-specific courses, or another mentor within your discipline may also have suggestions for additional reading.

Liaison Librarians
Each college at OSU has liaison librarian who specializes in that college's research needs. They're here to help you locate resources, create a research plan, and talk through any challenges.

Librarians are happy to talk about any step of the research process, whether you're unsure where to start or looking for the next step. Each librarian's contact page has more information about getting in touch. If you're not sure which librarian is the best choice, let any of us know and we'll match it to the appropriate liaison.

SAGE Research Methods This link opens in a new window
SAGE Research Methods is a database that explains different elements of the research process. It focuses on methodology rather than disciplines, providing information on quantitative, qualitative, and mixed methods research.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
The Web of Science accesses a multidisciplinary database of bibliographic information gathered from thousands of scholarly journals. The databases are indexed so you can search for specific articles by subject, author, journal, and/or author address. Because the information stored about each article includes the article's cited reference list (often called its bibliography), you can also search the databases for articles that cite a known author or work.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Premier provides full text for nearly 4,600 scholarly publications, including full text for more than 3,500 peer-reviewed journals. It's an excellent all-purpose academic database.