1SearchEBSCOHost DatabasesJSTORProjectMUSEGale databases
This is the "What are Persistent Links?" page of the "Persistent Links" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Persistent Links  

How to create a link from Blackboard or a course web site to an article in an online library database.
Last Updated: Dec 10, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.oregonstate.edu/persistent_links Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

What are Persistent Links? Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Overview of Persistent Links

A persistent link, also known as a durable, stable, or permanent link, is a URL that connects directly to a specific full-text article in a library database or electronic journal subscription. Persistent links can be placed within Blackboard, course web sites, syllabi and readings lists. They allow students to access articles by linking to OSU Libraries' electronic subscriptions.

 

Why Should I use Persistent Links?

Why would you want to link to articles owned by OSU Libraries rather than copying them directly into Blackboard?

Copyright is one reason. You can link to an article in a database or e-journal and remain copyright compliant, but you cannot always copy an article and upload it to your Blackboard without permission. Failure to follow copyright law can result in fines for the department and for the University.

You can read more about OSU Copyright Policies on their website.

Another good reason is that if you link to an article, the database keeps track of how often it is being used. The librarians use this information when making decisions about journal or database cuts. Let us know the journal is important to you!

 

How do I Create a Persistent Link?

A persistent link is created by the database vendor that allows you to send the students directly to the article. Many databases have an option for creating a persistent link. In some cases it is just a matter of copying the link and pasting it into Blackboard. In other cases it requires adding the proxy information that authenticates students if they are off-campus to use our databases. The proxy information looks like this:

http://proxy.library.oregonstate.edu/login?url=

If you add this in front of the URL, your off-campus student will be able to log in with their ONID information.

If you just copy the URL at the top of the screen, your off-campus students may not have access because the URL does not always include the proxy information. It depends on the database. Always test your links from off-campus as well as on-campus.

Librarian

Profile Image
Stefanie Buck
Contact Info
Office Hours: By Appointment (Please email or call 541-737-7273)
Office Location: The Valley Library
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip