- Borrow & Request
- Meet & Study Here
- Tech & Print
A persistent link, also known as a durable link, stable link, or permalink, is a URL that connects directly to a specific full-text article in a library database or electronic journal subscription.
Persistent links can be placed within Canvas, course web sites, syllabi and readings lists. They allow students to access articles by linking to OSU Libraries' electronic subscriptions.
When students click on the link to the article or database, they will need to log in with their ONID information.
Why would you want to link to articles owned by OSU Libraries rather than copying them directly into Canvas?
Copyright is one reason. You can link to an article in a database or e-journal and remain copyright compliant, but you cannot always copy an article and upload it to Canvas without permission. Failure to follow copyright law can result in fines for the department and for the University.
You can read more about OSU Copyright Policies on their website.
Another good reason is that if you link to an article, the database keeps track of how often it is being used. The librarians use this information when making decisions about journal or database cuts. Let us know the journal is important to you!
Many databases have an option for creating a persistent link. In most cases it is just a matter of copying the link and pasting it into Canvas. In other cases it requires adding the proxy information that authenticates students if they are off-campus to use our databases.
Generally, you can use 1Search to generate the Permalink (see 1Search on the menu to the left). This is the fastest and easiest way to create a persistent link.
Creating a persistent link to an article in a database will differ, depending on the database. Use the links on the left to determine how to build a persistent link for the database you are referencing. When you create the persistent link, you will need to make sure it has two important parts:
The persistent link looks like this:
In most cases, the proxy information will be included but in some cases the link provided does not include the proxy. You can add the the proxy URL in front of the article URL so your off-campus student will be able to log in with their ONID information.
If you just copy the URL at the top of the screen and the proxy information is not included, your off-campus students may not have access because the URL does not always include the proxy information. It depends on the database.
Always test your links from on-campus and off-campus.
121 The Valley Library
Corvallis OR 97331–4501